We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, comfortable and cosy”
Review of Wheatsheaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Cuckfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We arrived at The Wheatsheaf after a very cold night under canvas and it was a warm and comfortable haven. The rooms are small but the beds are comfortable and the room clean, cosy and - most importantly - warm. Breakfast was good and the staff were welcoming and accommodating. The pub below is classy and recommended for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel was clean and tidy, however a little dated, i.e. old furniture and a bathroom that could do with a refresh, and a better shower sadly. Also the tv was quite small, approx the size of a laptop screen, if these changed it would be a much better hotel room, then again for the time I was there it did the job.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have sloping ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faceyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I have reviewed The Wheatsheaf on several previous occasions, but have just stayed again, and see no evidence of the previous reviewers complaints. Spotless room as always, great breakfast. Lively local community, but I have never experienced any problems with any of them! Looking forward to my next visit in a month or so.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a place to avoid at all costs, unless you are desperate. The rooms are cramped and in our case not very clean with hair being found in the bath and sink. The toilet failed to flush on several occasions. The door lock would not lock from the outside and I would be unsure if the lock would hold if forced. The noise from the road outside prevents a good nights sleep.
The welcome was nice and pleasant from the member of staff. However the locals to the pub resent having to move aside when guests with bags have to pass by. Their language leaves a lot to be desired as well, with the staff not caring on this matter at all.
Definitely not good value for money.

Room Tip: This location should only be used if a substantial discount is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halesmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I love this pub!
Food is outstanding with an atmosphere to match.

I always enjoy my visits here and my only problem is what to have to eat as everything looks, sounds and always tastes delicious.

Cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We went for Sunday Lunch with our
Daughter quite by accident whilst looking for somewhere to eat in Hayward's Heath not knowing the area at all. What a lovely surprise we had to find The Wheatsheaf. Wonderful meal charming staff we look forward to going again in the very near future! Highly recommend.


Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have stayed at this B & B twice, each time for a week. Only once did I hear noise from the pub and that was on Christmas Eve. Noise was a concern before my first visit but I was not disturbed at all which is surprising because the pub is very busy. I found my rooms very comfortable and clean although the first single room upstairs had a shower that was useless as a stand under. This was because of the roof eave making it impossible to locate the shower at a suitable height. There are several chefs and I think this is why another reviewer found quality varies, however, nothing is too much trouble and the staff are very friendly with a special mention of Sheila. I think I know who the grumpy staff member mentioned in another review is, maybe grumpy is the wrong word but he doesn't have the personality suited to be front of house. Overall the atmosphere is very good. I have taken a point off because I found the wifi non existent in my first room and very hit and miss in the second one. Wifi elsewhere in the pub is excellent. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If wifi is important in the room choose carefully, likewise do not choose room 8 if you like to show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolepj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuckfield
2.2 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatsheaf Inn

Address: Broad Street, Cuckfield RH17 5DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Cuckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cuckfield
Price Range: £56 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheatsheaf Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatsheaf Hotel Cuckfield
Wheatsheaf Inn Cuckfield, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing