We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory
Ranked #7 of 7 Lacock B&B and Inns
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Beautiful old house; the room was clean and comfortable with character, overlooking the garden. The breakfast was great. The ancient village of Lacock was a short walk away with a few pubs to choose from. Parking on the property. An excellent base for exploration of a wide range of historical sites in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k0bau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    32
    25
    27
    12
See reviews for
22
79
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We arrived when it was dark and there was no light outside the Old Rectory, so it was quite difficult to find the entrance to the building. We approached the first door that we could see. The welcome from the owner was to be told that we had used the wrong door.

The owner then told us that breakfast is only served after 8:30, which is inconvenient / impossible for a business trip. The ability to make one's own toast before 8:30 is not quite the same thing as having the full English breakfast that you might hope for in a B&B.

The four poster bed had an extremely uncomfortable soft and lumpy mattress. In an expensive B&B you would not expect to have a washbasin in the bedroom or a second bed in the room.

After 8:00 a.m. the following morning we left a cheque on the table before going, as requested by a note left in our room while we were out. Overall, with entrance via a keypad and no person to say goodbye, the experience of staying at the Old Rectory ended up feeling as personal as a leaving a chain hotel where there is no receptionist.

There are several other B&B's in the area where the overnight rate is substantially cheaper, the hospitality much warmer, the rooms more comfortable and better appointed and you can get breakfast before the working day starts. We recommend that you use one of them.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UK_US_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lacock hotels

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at The Old Rectory for 3 nights at the end of October 2013. the Dean's room was beautiful - clean, welcoming and a very comfortable 4 poster - certainly not too small as another reviewer suggested!

The breakfasts were delicious and the grounds stunning. The village of Lacock is beautiful too.

We will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: the 4 posters are very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigswill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Point, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed one night at this B & B in the Dean's room which had an onsuite. It had a four poster bed and a single in the room. The four poster was however very soft and not comfortable for 2 people and small so one of us slept in the single. The room was spacious and it was quiet overnight. The breakfast was cooked to order and there were some cereals and stewed fruit but no fresh fruit such as berries or bananas. The room was reasonably clean but dusty on the four poster and the drain in the shower was slow. Nice sheets but towels a little rough. Overall a nice setting and pleasant stay but I think a little overpriced compared to other B & Bs we stayed at.
There was no wifi in the rooms that we could find or a password or reference to one in the printed informational material in the room.
We had a nice meal at the Red Lion down in the village.

Room Tip: Four poster in the Dean's room is very soft and not comfortable for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaP983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I used The Old Rectory as a stopover travelling down to South Wales: Swansea and the Gower Peninsula. It was the night of the recent storm but we had a good nights sleep. Lacock is a strange village 95% owned by the National Trust and has three pubs but only two served food on a Sunday night - we chose the George Inn. We were upgraded by the owner as we were the only guests that evening after a hectic weekend. The place is quite tired and in need of some care and attention. The shower was excellent but having a wash basin in the room was not ideal. There are excellent gardens and views. The breakfast was very good indeed but overall felt our welcome was tempered. Its a place to stay one night and then move on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timetachyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had been given a gift voucher for "Unusual places to stay" and chose to stay here. The voucher gets you a very nice double room with a private bathroom across the landing. The room and the bathroom were spotlessly clean. There was a good selection of teas, coffees etc in the room which had a view over the lovely garden. The building is beautiful, with the original entrance hall being particularly memorable! The breakfast (you are asked to fill in a breakfast request form when you arrive) was cooked to perfection! There is also an excellent choice of cereals, fruit and yogurts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this wonderful B&B. It retains the quiet and calm atmosphere that I imagine it has always had. Get away from the rat-race and unwind here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartElai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Old Rectory in what is one of England’s best villages, Lacock.

It is a first class village guest house / B&B. We usually stay at the Sign of the Angel but it was fully booked as it was a Bank Holiday so we checked in at the Old Rectory. It is a family run business and we found the room to be charming and very clean. It was situated within easy walking distance of the village center and was set in lovely grounds.

We were made to feel very welcome and we would recommend the place to anyone looking for this type of accommodation in the area.

Room Tip: Have dinner at the Sign of the Angel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApplemanWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacock
0.3 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 1 in Lacock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: The Old Rectory Cantax Hill, Lacock SN15 2JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Lacock
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lacock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Victorian Rectory, just a stroll from the beautiful village of Lacock, famous for its film location. Excellent pubs nearby. Large elegant rooms with all facilities. Beautiful views over garden. Recommended in the Independent on Sunday and Wiltshire Breakfast Award. 12 miles from Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Lacock
The Old Rectory Lacock, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing