We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very brief stay, would need longer to assess the charms of the building”
Review of The Rectory Lacock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rectory Lacock
Ranked #7 of 7 Lacock B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very brief stay, would need longer to assess the charms of the building”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I arrived late for a business stay and this seemed to fluster the staff slightly. The room was large, comfortable, clean and accessible so that was great. I place a great deal of importance on a quiet night's sleep and did not get this completely as the house is old and quite creaky, so people moving about above my room kept me awake until past midnight. Didn't have the breakfast or attempt to use the wi fi so cannot comment on them.
I did not realise until I was in the insipid shower that the only barrier between myself and guests arriving at the front door was the thin net curtain over the window - so keep curtains closed if you want guaranteed privacy!
I would probably have scored more highly if I had been staying on holiday, had looked around the beautiful building and hadn't been so desperate for a quiet night's sleep

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaci10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    32
    25
    27
    12
See reviews for
22
80
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goudhurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Myself, my wife and our 3 year old stayed at the Old Rectory for two nights. Its the first time we have used a B&B with our son so were interested to see how it would work. The family room was great, it was certainly large enough for the three of us and the breakfast was excellent! I'm sure we will be back as Laycock is stunning and we hope to do some more exploring in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Lovely weekend visit, stunning big Gothic style house and grounds and great location. Very welcoming and loved the dogs, ruby and missy. Great breakfasts and one of the best scrambled eggs I've ever had!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxford1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very nice location in the beautiful town of Lacock, Wiltshire.
Building is not as old as the village, but has it's own charm.
Rooms are large and well-equipped.
Breakfast proposal is limited and not always well supplied. Breakfast preparation can take quite long.
Wifi available, but not working.
Street indications can be improved, especially coming from the South.
Owner recommends to book directly, " to save on the price", but price is quite high and owner requires credit card warranty but cash payment on departure. It's better to book it via regular booking webpages.

Room Tip: Look for rooms with bathroom included. Some do have the bathroom on the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amp66_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Elaine Sexton and husband, Paul, have run The Old Rectory as a B&B for ten years, but it is Elaine's childhood home because her parents bought the rectory from the outgoing clergyman 50 years ago. Consequently, the Old Rectory has a comfortable, lived-in atmosphere of a family home where you feel more like a welcome visitor than a paying guest. The Old Rectory is a five-minute stroll from the historic National Trust village of Lacock, where the television series, Cranford, starring Dames Judi Dench and Eileen Atkins, was filmed. Lacock Abbey is nearby - and was where Henry Fox-Talbot, who inherited the house and land, made his pioneering discoveries in photography. If you enjoy good, honest country fare, the Old Rectory is clean, welcoming and friendly. There are holiday cottages to let and a sloppy black Labrador called Missy to make a fuss of.

Room Tip: Ask for the Bishop's Room - bright, sunny and lovely garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our stay at The Old Rectory was wonderful! The B&B is located a short walk up a path from the small, charming town of Lacock.

I had an English breakfast of tea, toast, beans, mushrooms and egg (I think I had a sausage too? I don't recall, but I remember there were options that you could pick from. It was all very good and served in a charming blue-wall papered dining room.

I know I keep using the work charming, but it is the ideal word to describe the house, it's rooms, the grounds and the owner!

As there were not many guests we were upgraded to a bedroom with a connected bathroom. The bathroom was very large with the shower was in a claw-footed tub.

The town is very cute. It is small, with just a few pubs. I recognized a few spots in town from the Harry Potter movies as well as the TV series Cranford. The Abbey is definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cerajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We went away following a recommendation from friends .. Great B & B it was a quirky place with loads of history. It was located near to the village. The owner was polite and very helpful.. The room was great with nice views.. Would recommend it for a night or weekend away....

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wattsvilleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacock
0.3 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 1 in Lacock
290 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
697 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Damson Cottage
Damson Cottage
#5 of 7 in Lacock
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little Notton Farmhouse
0.2 mi away
Sign of the Angel
Sign of the Angel
#2 of 7 in Lacock
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rectory Lacock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rectory Lacock

Property: The Rectory Lacock
Address: Cantax Hill, Lacock SN15 2JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Lacock
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lacock
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rectory Lacock 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rectory Lacock is a Grade II listed Victorian building built in 1866. Sitting in 6 acres of private Wiltshire Countryside, the Rectory is just a 2 minute leisurely walk from the heart of the village Lacock. Our guests benefit from the beauty and convenience of Lacock, whilst being able to retreat to the privacy of the Rectory and its extensive private grounds. The Rectory comprises six large bed and Breakfast en-suite rooms and two cottages, each with two bedrooms and all of the facilities our guests would expect to find in good quality self-catering accommodation. The Rectory Lacock Bed and Breakfast is currently closed, undergoing extensive refurbishment. The Bed and Breakfast will not be opening until Easter 2018. The cottages are open for business ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rectory Lacock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Lacock
The Rectory Lacock Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing