We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Damson Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Damson Cottage
Ranked #6 of 8 Lacock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I made this booking for a specific trip rather than a general visit, and have come away feeling that I definitely want to visit again.
I was given the warmest welcome and shown a delightful airy room, with all the comforts you could want. Dilly provides a friendly atmosphere, and an old fashioned helpful approach to here guests.
Breakfast was wonderful, and the overall experience has assured that I will visit again.

Thanks Dilly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tashilamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed with Dilly for two nights with our two young children whilst visiting family nearby. From the start Dilly was a lovely hostess and has a fabulous cottage with a county style with modern twists. The room we had was large and both children slept well on 1 bed from DIlly and one provided by myself. The bathroom though not ensuite was very close and large with a great big bath. The cottage was cozy with lovely views, Breakfast was fantastic and plenty to eat. Children were also well catered for. Dilly was particularly helpfula and accomodating which was fantastic when travelling with two small children. We would definatley revisit! Thanks Dilly!

Room Tip: Just ask what your looking for and Dilly say!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Dilly made me feel very welcome and very comfortable. Damson Cottage is a lovely place to stay. The room was beautifully appointed, warm and bright. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well.
I thoroughly enjoyed my breakfast and I'm looking forward to staying again...I have already booked!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoakley29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

This is my second stay at Damson Cottage the first time as a solo traveller and the second time with my husband. Dilly accidentally put us in a twin bedded room but that was fine! Bed's comfy, tea and coffee facilities. The only quip I had was not enough milk cartons. We are big coffee and tea drinkers! The breakfast was superb! We borrowed a torch for the first night into Lacock but didn't need it as you can almost see the path across the field into the village. We would definately be staying again! Well done Dilly!! Also, the pets she has are really cute too!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happysnapper101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

This was an anniversary weekend away for my parents. The rooms were well presented, breakfast delicious! Location is within walking distance of Lacock. We were a little dubious of the shared bathroom situation but there are two bathrooms between three rooms so no problem at all. Will definately stay again, thank you Dilly!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perrysophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We spent two nights in this lovely B&B. The location was perfect with a warm and friendly welcome from Dilly, the owner, on arrival. Rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable. For breakfast there was a variety of cereals, yoghurt and a choice of a perfectly cooked full hot breakfast (I would recommend the Poached Eggs) or a Continental Breakfast. I would highly recommend this B&B if you want to escape for a quiet weekend or visit the interesting and beautiful surrounding areas. If I was in the area again I would certainly return to Damson Cottage and thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 116Moira9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

I very seldom write reviews for places we stay (hence the delay in writing up this one!) but in planning some trips for 2011 I am reminded of our lovely stay at Damson Cottage last year. We were warmly welcomed by Dilly and nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom we stayed in was quintessentially English as other reviewers have said. Everywhere was clean and spotless and the shower was great (something I often find lacking in B&Bs)!

If you are looking for a relaxing break away in a beautiful part of the world with family, friends or just for a romantic weekend then this is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFenlons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacock
0.5 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 1 in Lacock
325 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
739 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,045 reviews
3.4 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little Notton Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Cottage

Address: Reybridge, Lacock SN15 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Lacock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lacock
Price Range: £78 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Damson Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Damson Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damson Cottage Lacock, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing