We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Groom and Bestman the night before wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Damson Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Damson Cottage
Ranked #5 of 7 Lacock B&B and Inns
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location for Groom and Bestman the night before wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed at this delightful cottage with my best man the night before the wedding.

I'd complicated matters by arranging for the five other groomsmen to meet at the cottage the morning of the wedding and to get ready and have a spot of breakfast too.

This wasn't a problem and Dilly provided breakfast for all of us at no extra cost.

The professional photographer who met us at the cottage loved the location for photos! It really is like staying miles away from civilisation even though Melksham, Chippenham and picturesque Lacock is very close by.

WiFi is provided and was excellent for keeping in touch with wedding guests.

Thanks, Dilly, you made the morning go so smoothly and this was a foundation for the rest of the day.

Room Tip: Don't worry about lack of en-suite in rooms, this really isn't an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ma_g_allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
21
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

In a very nice and cosy cottage Dilly manages her beautiful B&B. We experienced a warm welcome in her lovely home. Just a few steps from Lacock. You walk through a meadow to the (Harry Potter) village. Nice room and good breakfast. If it's not full you don't have to share your bathroom. The owner does everything to make your stay comfortable. If we come again we will book the same cottage again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SikiNelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

A lovely B&B in a lovely location. Me and the parents needed somewhere to stay on short notice, and Dilly at Damson Cottage was happy to oblige. A well-presented, pretty and authentic place, a stone's throw from Lacock, surrounded by unspoilt countryside. A full-English breakfast provided in the morning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huw R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Damson cottage was everything we expected,the bedroom was sizeable,clean and tidy, the shared bathrooms were modern and spotlessly clean and the power showers were great and the breakfasts were delicious.
The cottage is situated approximately a ten minute walk away from the absolutely enchanting village of Lacock, which has been the location of many a film and tv production over the years, most notably the Harry Potter film series, Pride and prejudice and Cranford.
The cottage itself is absolutely beautiful, a picture postcard delight ran by Dilly and James who are both positively charming and looked after our every need.
We have been coming to Lacock for many a year and this was our first stay at Damson cottage
but it will definately not be the last! Gareth,Sara and Megan.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank megben07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Damson Cottage - a gorgeous quiet relaxing place and wonderful and helpful hosts Dilly and James. Their breakfast was also great and last but not least -it is a wonderful area around Reybridge and Lacock.
Carolin + Kjartan (Danmark)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were absolutely bowled over by this wonderful B&B. Dilly and her husband are the most delightful hosts you could imagine, the breakfasts are delicious, the cottage is gorgeous, and the setting is most beautiful and very, very quiet. There are many special features, including the tree that sings at night. We originally booked two bedrooms online for a wedding. About three weeks later some extra guests needed a room. By that point, Dilly's other room had been booked, so she kindly arranged for another B&B to take them. However, her award for the exceptional landlady of the century must go for the fact that, as mother of the bride, I had a last-minute wardrobe malfunction (burnt dress at 7am on the day of the wedding), and Dilly saved the day by pulling out a dress of her own for me to wear. It not only fitted me and matched all my accessories, it was actually nicer than the one I had brought myself and attracted compliments all day. If that is not going beyond the call of duty, I don't know what is.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Having walked the short walk from lacock we found ourselves sat under an apple tree is dillys garden, drinking tea and listening to test match special - within ten minutes of arriving. Three hours later we were still there. We would still be there now if the necessary return to real life hadn't interrupted the peace and idyllic tranquility that is Damson cottage. The rooms are lovely, please don't let the lack of ensuite put you off. Breakfast was an absolute treat. My wife described the scrambled egg as the best ever. We only stayed one night but it really felt like home from home. Do yourself favour and book now.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arche1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacock
0.5 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 1 in Lacock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
2.3 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Little Notton Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Cottage

Property: Damson Cottage
Address: Reybridge, Lacock SN15 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Lacock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lacock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Damson Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Damson Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damson Cottage Lacock, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing