We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my first trial of faggots in UK”

The Carpenters Arms
Ranked #12 of 12 Restaurants in Lacock
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
hk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“my first trial of faggots in UK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

it was a wet and cold day in early June, we were on a day tour around Stonehenge, Avebury and lunch stop at Lacok. the ribs and faggots are delicious, with reasonable prices.
they are nice and the atmosphere is warm with their customers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KI-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Many thanks for your kind words and your review.

I am glad that you liked my recommendation to have the faggots (after i explained they are not what you thought they were).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    110
    26
    33
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pub or Restaurant?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Arriving at the village at lunchtime we decided to have a quick "pub" lunch before visiting the Abbey. From the outside Carpenters Arms appeared quiet compared with other eating establishments - the menu seemed reasonable so we decided to "give it a go". On entry we were surprised to be in what could be described more as a restaurant with a formal seating arrangement. We were pleasantly greeted by a young lady who immediately showed us to a table. Our order was taken at the table and drinks and food arrived soon after. The quality of the food was very good and well presented, although there was a chip out of the edge of one plate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DraigGoch51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us today. I am happy to hear that the team did us proud.

Its just a shame that you found one negative, the small china chip out of a plate. It will be past on the the kitchen staff who will remove offending plate from service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great lunch stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We all (six of us) thoroughly enjoyed our lunch stop at this pub. The landlord was jovial and friendly and the food was very good and reasonably priced, especially for Lacock. I was tempted to have a dessert when I found out it was rhubarb crumble that day and it was very good. It is not on the main road, so go further into the village towards the church to find it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
204 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very accommodating & refreshingly friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lovely village pub, we had a Sunday dinner which was very good, decided to have deserts & we were blown away how good the deserts were.
Staff (owners son who is now managing the place) was so friendly & attentive & even though we were the last ones having dinner & he was ready to close but he insisted we take our time.
We will be back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taypet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Good variety on the menu, thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal there, reasonably priced. Very few people occupying the Pub could do with more clientele.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carpenters Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Carpenters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing