We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub”
Review of The Rising Sun

The Rising Sun
Ranked #7 of 12 Restaurants in Lacock
Price range: US$7 - US$27
Cuisines: European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Set on top of Bowden Hill with magnificent views across the South Wiltshire countryside and just outside the picturesque National Trust Village of Lacock this Traditional Oak Beamed Pub is the 'quaint essential' English Country inn. Fast building it's reputation for excellent home cooked food using fantastic Local Produce whilst still providing 'Good Traditional Pub Fayre' This is a Must try place. Offering Great choice of Real Ales from the Popular and Local 'Moles' Brewery in Melksham and with those magnificent views you really must give us a go! Roger & Kay look forward to Looking after you!
Reviewed 7 April 2014

If this EVER becomes available I want TO run it I have so many ideas for the place.
It could have lots of functions to pull people in with such a great space outside the draw for people is endless.
Where was I when this pub became available oh I remember I was running my own pub.

Thank Ditto7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_haslett, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

thank you for your review. We already hold several functions and have Weddings Booked in for this year, as well as other events. We are a team here and collectively we make running this pub look easy but I can assure you it is not, and very unlike any other pub that we have run. We can cater for 140 covers in the summer with outside seating, yet this must be done from a tiny kitchen with very little food storage space. It takes an incredible amount of organising and running around. the Management work 12 hour days, 7 days a week. This Pub has had a change of Management every year for the past 10 years or so, which has had a detrimental effect on the business. However, we have been very well received by Regular customers who are growing in Numbers with each passing week. We hope we shall have to opportunity to continue building on this and be here for some time yet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 221 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

Quaint old style pub which is well worth a visit for a meal or drinks.
It has great views to take in while sat in the garden especially in the summer enjoying a drink with family and friends.

Thank Justarider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_haslett, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very fortunate to be in a fantastic location with amazing views so to hear that you enjoyed the food as well tells us your whole experience was as we would like. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Called in for a Sunday lunch on a very sunny afternoon. The pub was very busy with others making the most of the weather. Staff were very efficient in taking orders and even though busy had a warm welcome for all. There was a wait for food due to the demand but that just goes to show how popular a place this is. Sat in garden with a great view over the area with a cool pint of Moles Best. There was a constant flow of people but due to the layout of tables you were not on top of each other. The roast pork and beef that we ordered were delivered to our table along with sauces. The food was fresh and there was plenty of it with a good selection of vegetables, the roast potatoes were nice and crispy on the outside with a fluffy inner, just right. We both cleared our plates but could not have eaten any more. Will be back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Welshwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_haslett, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We have consistently received great feedback
from our Sunday Lunch customers, mainly whilst on the premises, so it was lovely to find your
review about your experience on a Sunday. We do hope we shall be able to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have just returned from a Saturday birthday lunch, from the Rising Sun, thanks to my son. Again the food was exceptional. I have been going to this establishment on and off for the past twenty years. Not once in that time have we had any cause for complaint, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Nothing seems too much effort for them. First class service. Thank you all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ched Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_haslett, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and we sincerely hope we shall have the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a very cosy pub in winter, traditional interior with open fires. The food is good, two dinners and a pudding with drinks came to £32.00. Service is very friendly and quick. In summer it has a big garden area with excellent views over the surrounding countryside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_haslett, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

thank you very much for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. We sincerely hope we shall have the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rising Sun also viewed

 
Lacock, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing