We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lacock
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed here a couple of times in January on business, and love it here! The rooms are lovely, warm, comfy, cosy and nicely decorated.

The staff couldn't be more helpful, and made me feel quite at home.

I always feel quite happy sat in the bar of the pub for a drink or dinner, which is important when you're a female on your own away on business.

The food in the pub is fantastic, as is the breakfast, which is heavenly sat by the fire, cosy and candlelit even in the mornings, a great start to the day.

Last time it was fully booked, gutted, but I will be back!

Thank you to you all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HampshireGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    96
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
60
155
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Power cuts & poor weather couldn't dampen spirits here. Genuine friendliness without the official hospitality nonsense. Really friendly staff in a fantastic location. Couldn't ask for more, would make this a regular haunt. Also it's small but you don't feel uncomfortable. Brilliant!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddysteadygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were visiting Lacock with an American friend who was over here for Christmas. We had booked into the Sign of the Angel, only to arrive and, to our shock and dismay, found it all in dankness, with a sign on the door saying “Closed for Business”. As we had not been informed of the closure, despite booking three months in advance, this left us with a bit of a problem.

Fortunately I had the Red Lion’s number in my phone so I called them and said “I hope you can help. We have a problem” The voice at the other end, which I later learned belonged to Sarah, the manager, replied “You’re booked in at the Angel, aren’t you?” It seems that we were not the first and definitely will not be the last to fall foul of the sudden, unannounced closure of the Sign of the Angel. She told us to come along and she would see what she could do to help. We duly arrived and walked into a warm, cosy inn, buzzing with post-Christmas visitors. Although the place was busy, Sarah spotted our entry and greeted us like welcome, old friends. Unlike an earlier occasion at this time of the year, there was room at the inn. Actually we had a choice of two excellent rooms, at the front of the Red Lion, with views out into the village. They were spacious, clean, well equipped, with comfortable beds and full of character. A short while later we were sitting by a lovely log fire (especially reserved for the weary travellers) in the bar/restaurant, with a glass of mulled wine, mulling over our good fortune and the turn of events, from what could have been a disaster to falling on our feet and ending up somewhere, which demonstrated the very best of English hospitality to our American friend.

The meal that followed was just perfect. A proper Sunday roast with all the trimmings. The only downside was that the quantities left no room for dessert. Breakfast was equally impressive. As with all the food here, it was made from locally sourced ingredients. (Try the sausages), but once again, beware of the ‘Full English’ it is not for the faint hearted or anyone even thinking of dieting.

We have nothing but praise for the Red Lion. The staff were all outstanding, and looked after us in a friendly, affable manner which was born out of a genuine desire to ensure that all was well, and not something from a pre-rehearsed, head office script. Special mention should go to Sarah, who runs the place with a smooth professional skill, which disguises that fact that she is actually working really hard to make certain that the high standards are maintained.

I stay in many places during the course of a year’s travelling, from simple B&B’s to luxury hotels, and can honestly say that The Red Lion is up there with the best and proof that good hospitality is alive and well and to be found in Lacock, Wilshire. All the staff here should be proud of their efforts and should know that tales of their outstanding rescue are being told back home by our American friend as part of her ‘when I was in England’ stories.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAHHx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here as an overnight stop-over on our way to an anniversary weekend in Bath. I have to say the Red Lion far exceeded expectations. We were warmly welcomed, shown a choice of rooms and chose one looking out of the over the street - which is very very quiet. The food, and beer are both superb, as was the breakfast.
They did recommend we visited their sister pub in the village. While it was nice to have walk around the sister pub was dire and not worth the visit.

Room Tip: Take a room at the front overlooking the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Going to a funeral this was our half way stop overnight in February, knew we just had to come back,
Got back tonight after a 3 day stop staying in Mitres Room 1, in Chamberlains previously, both are lovely, clean and well presented. The breakfasts are more than good and hearty. We ate all three nights in the bar, having plenty of choice, it is a busy place even in October .... going to show how getting things right means trade will always be brisk.
Eileen a font of knowledge and proud of the village and it's history while having a brilliant sense of humour, and Joan the other lady local gave us so much history that cannot be found by just walking around the village, hence we will be coming back yet again to finish what we missed this time.

Room Tip: All the rooms will be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fattybumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

My friend and I were invited to a wedding in Lacock and needed accommodation for one night, we chose the Red Lion as it was a walk across the road to the house with a marquee in the grounds. Our room overlooked the high street with wonderful views if the stunning cottages and houses.
We had a warm and friendly welcome and were shown to our room which I thought was very nice as normally you get a key shoved into your hand and told directions! The room itself was spacious clean and we'll appointed, lovely white cotton linens and a very nice modern, clean bathroom.
Our breakfast was absolutely delicious served by a very friendly lady.
A great stay go on book!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sloper2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of July, and what a location! Lacock is even more picturesque that I imagined, and from the Red Lion there's a birds-eye view of it - wonderful!

We stayed in Chamberlain's View, a good-sized room looking out over the High Street, with a nice big bathroom containing a walk-in shower. There was plenty of cupboard space (lots of hangers!), a tea-tray, an iron and ironing board and, a boon in the humid weather, an electric fan. It was a bit pricey but we had decided that for a once-in-a-lifetime stay, it was worth it.

The breakfasts were enormous, we both had trouble getting through our 'WIltshire Platters' and the granary bread was delicious. We ate in the pub on both evenings and the portions were generous, to say the least. I can highly recommend the sticky toffee pudding - one of the best I've ever tasted - and the cheese plate would happily have fed two, if not three, people.

We found all the staff to be very friendly, and enjoyed the ambience of the pub itself, especially in the evening with the candlelight.

I must pay a huge compliment to Sarah, who came to my rescue over a medical emergency, and went over and beyond the call of duty to help me, despite being on duty on a very busy evening. She was so calming and efficient and I can't thank her enough for all she did.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Northbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacock
1.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
704 reviews
3.2 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
600 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
48 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: 1 High Street, Lacock SN15 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Lacock
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lacock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Lacock
Red Lion Lacock
Lacock Red Lion
The Red Lion Lacock, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing