We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belated birthday break”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lacock
Certificate of Excellence
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Belated birthday break”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have just come back from a weekend at the Red Lion, using a Secret Escapes promotion. Our room had everything you could possibly want, and subsequently we were very comfortable, with the only draw back being the plasticised mattress protector. Such a shame, as it made our sleep less than perfect and was very uncomfortable (especially as I tend to get very warm at night). I suppose I could have removed it, but I chose not to! I can understand why some hotels chose to use these horrible things, but there more comfortable ways of protecting the mattress! Without that discomfort I would definitely have rated this stay as excellent. The staff, without exception, were great and very helpful, and the food was delicious, and reasonably priced. There was a slight hiccup on the first night as there were problems with the extractor fan (probably because of the very high winds) which meant that nothing could be fried. Ham and mash sounds less appealing than ham, egg and chips! The staff, however, dealt with it all with good humour and were as helpful as they could be in, what must have been, very trying circumstances. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (except for the mattress protector) and would happily recommend this hotel. Lacock itself is a treasure.

Room Tip: Our room was No 5 - Cloisters. Facing the main road, but we were not disturbed by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slimlinelizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to leave a very detailed review on Trip advisor. We appreciate the comment regarding the mattress protectors. This has been brought to our attention a couple of times now and we are investigating other means to ensure hygiene whilst remaining comfortable.

Due to the fan in our extraction being broken we were faced with a few technical difficulties to say the least. Half of our kitchen equipment was out of use but we managed to get through it and we appreciate everyone being so understanding.

Hopefully you will be back for another stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    98
    31
    16
    11
See reviews for
64
164
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a secret escapes break so got a very good price. The hotel was great, the room had everything we needed. The food in the hotel is excellent, the steak I had was one of the best I have had. A real bonus is they offer gluten free food even toast for breakfast and as a coeliac it was a real treat. We had two nights, on the first night there was a lot of noise from the bar area but the second night was fine, I suppose you would expect some noise from a very old building and it being a pub. Have already recommended it to friends and family.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shazza27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip advisor. We are glad you had a lovely anniversary break. We all enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here on a Secret Escapes break - first class friendly pub with super helpful staff. Wonderful accommodation - we had the Tithe Room which was enormous and very comfortable. Great traditional pub food all freshly prepared. Secret Escapes had made a mistake with our booking which meant we could only stay at Red Lion one night but Matt the very helpful manager sorted us out a great second night at The Old Clubhouse in the village. Highly recommend the Red Lion to anyone looking for a relaxing break in the heart of a brilliant traditional village.

Room Tip: The Tithe Side Room very comfortable although you do get a bit of noise from bar beneath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katzcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank-you for leaving us a review on Trip Advisor we are glad that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed your stay in the alternative accommodation. We really appreciate how understanding you were and glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend us. Hopefully we will see you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in the Red Lion for a couple of nights recently and wanted to thank the staff for making it such a wonderful time. They were friendly and helpful and made you feel that they really wanted you to have a good stay. The room was comfy and we slept like logs. We eat in both nights as the food was really tasty. In fact I'm still drooling over the chocolate brownie pudding with fruit compote and ice-cream - melt in your mouth. The only problem I had was keeping my husband from 'sharing'. Breakfast was delicious and deserving of the reputation and awards given for it, but the real treat was such wonderful staff thoughtfully lighting a fire to start the day on a cosy note and offering chat and advice about places to visit. A real treat and I'm sure we'll stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croydonflightpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank-you for writing a review on trip advisor. We always enjoy reading all of the reviews on trip advisor especially when they are lovely like yours and we know that you have had a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband booked this hotel last minute for the easter weekend having never been to lacock before and not knowing what to expect. The village was beautiful and our room at The Red Lion (Talbot room) was lovely and looked out over the front. The room was clean as was the bathroom. Food was enjoyable but it could get a bit busy in the bar at times. Excellent value for money overall and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We are glad to hear that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the food. We do have odd weekends when people come for a stroll around the pubs in Lacock. Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review and hopefully you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a two night stay at this pub and it was truly a memorable experience. From start to finish the staff ensured that our stay was as pleasant as it could be and the food was excellent, much the best pub food we've had. Handcut chips are very rare these days, and everything was freshly cooked. Great to have a choice of local beer too. Nothing on the menu was expensive and the whitebait was a very welcome surprise. The room was well decorated, exceptionally clean and very well appointed from a hairdryer to an ironing board and iron! All in all it was a great place and we would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting Lacock.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel, but because of shutters were not aware of any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FJHH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank-you for the lovely review it is wonderful to hear you had a truly wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

What a lovely weekend! Beautiful village, lovely bed & breakfast, very pleasant evening meal and really friendly and helpful staff. They even provided us with a toothbrush each and toothpaste when I very stupidly forgot to pack our wash bag. I would highly recommend a stay to anyone.
Take cash with you though. This village had no cashpoint and we were forced to but a bottle of wine so we could get cash back. It was a real hardship ;-)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Cerys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
It was lovely to have you all staying with us it was a pleasure to meet you. We always have handy things like tooth paste, tooth brushes and razors available just in case. Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacock
1.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
716 reviews
3.2 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,030 reviews
3.4 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
602 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: 1 High Street, Lacock SN15 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Lacock
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lacock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Lacock
Red Lion Lacock
Lacock Red Lion
The Red Lion Lacock, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing