We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to see”
Review of Lacock Abbey

Lacock Abbey
Book In Advance
More Info
US$125.69*
and up
Salisbury, Stonehenge and Bath Day Trip from London
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We popped in to see Laycock Abbey, planning to spend an hour there before heading off to meet family. We had no idea the site was so large. We had no time to visit the quaint looking village and no time in the abbey for anything other than a brisk walk through each room and on to the next. We were really disappointed we didn't have more time, as it is a beautiful building with interesting displays and knowledgable attendants. We did have a chance to see where the Harry Potter movies were filmed at the site, that was fun. We hope to get a chance to come back and explore this site in more detail.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Calgarytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    309
    55
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea , Wales
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“You could spend all day”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

As members of NT we were looking for somewhere not too far away from The Cotswolds that would allow our Newfi. What a fabulous find. A beautiful little village where time has stood still, a fantastic museum dedicated to Talbot and photography and an amazing Abbey with an interesting past. A wonderful day out on a sunny late January day (with dog). The George Inn in the village has a very good lunch menu and is dog friendly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyHSwansea_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Visit. Also it's Open in January”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Visited on a dull day in January after the snow had melted.
Nice to be greated by very helpfull and knowledgable NT volunteer stewerds.
Open fire and settings was excellent.
All rooms with information cards lovelly.
Cloisters were lit with LED spots of different colours is interesting but needs a twilight visit to do it justice.
Toilets were clean but temporary builders plastic huts. Main toilets being refurbished??

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could not wait to leave”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The cloisters were noteworthy and it was of some interest to see the Harry Potter 'film sets', but once I went upstairs, the atmosphere sent a chill down my spine and I could not find my way out fast enough. I just had a feeling that something awful had happened (maybe the nuns during the Dissolution were ill-treated) and that was that. Quickest exit from a National Trust building ever!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapta
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A unique visit to a National Trust House with a whole village thrown in!”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

It was a clear cold January Saturday, bathed in sunlight after rain had cleared the snow the previous day. Our son and daughter in law wanted to visit a National Trust House; not the easiest wish to grant when so many are closed for the Winter!
We parked the car on the road just as we entered the village of Lacock, owned by the National Trust, the Landlord of almost all of the characterful village properties after the village and Abbey Country House was gifted to the Trust by the Talbot Family in the 1940s. Beautiful - not an aerial, satellite dish, telegraph post or wire in sight and a clear view of the rooftops and sky!
We popped into the Woollen Centre which sells a great and varied range of items from coats and sheepskin rugs through to a version of the feather duster made from sheep wool. Then a leisurely walk through the village before stopping at The Red Lion pub for coffee. Onto the Bakery to buy bread after visiting 'Watling Jewellers' where we fell in love with some beautiful pieces designed and made by Jane and John Watling. A visit to the Church (Diocese of Bristol) and the Pottery before retracing our steps and visiting The Fox Talbot Museum, The Cloisters and Lacock Abbey Country House.
We were impressed with everything we saw, with the friendliness of people who live or work in the village and with the enthusiasm of the volunteers at the country house they share with visitors, where you can feel both the sanctity of the Abbey In the Cloisters and the happy family home which replaced the monastic purpose of the Abbey after it was turned into a family home at the time of the reformation.
After leaving Lacock it felt as if we had left a tranquil working world and re-entered a chaotic and less than perfect environment.
We would recommend a visit out of season, or on a weekday, if you want to avoid crowds of visitors and tourists as we were able to explore the village and house in relative seclusion and truly benefit from the knowledge of the volunteers working in the house.
Oh, by the way, there is a car park for visitors and tourists close to the Country House!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lacock Abbey also viewed

 
Lacock, Wiltshire
Amesbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Lacock Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing