We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating House & Beautiful Gardens”
Review of Lacock Abbey

Lacock Abbey
Book In Advance
More Info
US$125.66*
and up
Salisbury, Stonehenge and Bath Day Trip from London
More Info
US$727.50*
and up
Private Full Day Tour of Real Harry Potter Sites
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fascinating House & Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lacock Abbey is a fascinating house with many layers of history to discover. From snippets of medieval decoration that remain in the Abbey itself, to the more modern parts (especially things llike the shopping list in the kitchen cupboard!) The grounds are equally lovely, with shaded walks & rose arbours to the more formal walled kitchen garden which is now divied into allotments for the village. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank smileypumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    335
    55
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pakenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
651 reviews
581 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“As good as advertised”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Abbey has now become a country house with some superb rooms on the first floor, whilst the ground floor has basically been left untouched. It looks and feel strange to the first time visitor.

Some small gardens to explore and parkland to walk around but not too exciting. There's a camera exhibition/museum dedicated to Fox Talbot in the visitor centre, which is very informative.

The village of Lacock is clean, with a number of small shops, and pubs.

Parking is slightly limited and non National trust members are charged £11.20 for the abbey, museum and house

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent place to visit”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Really interesting place to visit, excellent gardens & house, you can spent a whole day here & enjoy it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank taypet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAST SUSSEX
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely Abbey”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I visited this attraction on the recommendation of the staff at the local Premier Inn at Chippenham. It was a lovely sunny Sunday and we found the parking really quickly with a five minute walk to the Abbey. We purchased our tickets and then strolled about the lovely grounds and House enjoying all the history on the way. It is definately worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KJTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A very pleasant afternoon”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

There was so much to see at Lacock. We began by visiting the Abbey which became a country house. What lot we saw of the old Abbey where the cloisters are in good repair. The first floor was made into rooms and that was also fascinating. In each room there was a guide or a leaflet explaining what could be seen.

All I can say is, go and check out that heating system,. The radiators were something else! I think the nuns had it rather colder as a sacrifice to God. They lives simply and had no extras.

We went from there to see the allotments and the garden. That was peaceful and private people are keeping the allotments full of vegetables and flowers.

Then onto the village which meant we did not have time for the museum. The village was like walking through history. It is good cars are kept out of the village as much as possible. There were quite a few gifts shops and tea shops. We felt the gift shops were expensive.

I noticed there were lots of things for children.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gwen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lacock Abbey also viewed

 
Amesbury, Wiltshire
Lacock, Wiltshire
 

Been to Lacock Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing