We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Lacock Abbey
from US$877.05
More Info
from US$120.09
More Info
Reviews (1,353)
Filter reviews
1,353 results
Traveller rating
787
460
78
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
787
460
78
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harry potter fox talbot national trust rose garden country house beautiful village photography exhibition henry viii fascinating history worth a visit car park lovely grounds non members nt members step back in time lovely place to visit interesting place
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,353 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2019

The house was closed for it's deep clean so we only wandered around the cloisters and grounds. Had a good coffee in the barn. The highlight for me was the photo exhibition showing influential women - not just for the women but the photography as well! The Fox Talbot exhibition is also well worth the look.

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank MazP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019

Despite it being a cold and gloomy day, we had a lovely stroll around the grounds and were lucky enough to see the Christmas tree display throughout the cloisters and chambers adjacent to them. The large tree and reindeer display in the courtyard was charming. We also visited the photographic museum, which had an exhibition of photographs of "First UK Women" by Anita Corbin. It's well worth a visit just to catch that.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Su O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019

We visited in December and the house was closed but wandering around the open part of the abbey was interesting with its different architecture and rooms adjoining the mani courtyard. There was a Xmas tree show from all local groups which added colour to the building. The gardens and surrounds would be nice on a warm day, but unfortunately it was cold and wet on our visit. The adjoining village is also quaint to wander around looking at period buildings and shops that belong to another era.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank raymondb944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2019 via mobile

We visited Lacock Abbey in December, so we were able to enjoy this beautiful abbey when it was tastefully decorated for Christmas. There was a community Christmas tree display in the abbey cloisters and a huge roaring fire in another part of the abbey. The photography museum is interesting, giving you an insight in to the history of Lacock’s former residents, but also featuring a series of different exhibitions (at this time it was First Women UK). Another highlight as with most National Trust properties is the Courtyard Cafe. Delicious cakes and light lunches are available with tea, coffee and other light refreshments. Don’t forget to take a stroll through the gardens and the rest of the beautifully kept Lacock Village - it’s picture perfect on a dry day and full of quirky shops.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank ourwhimsicalworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2019 via mobile

Another beautiful building with immaculate grounds. Their gardeners do an amazing job. Cafe was cute too with rustic decor.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank 144cg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews