We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent standard of accommodation, friendly owners, great location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Clubhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lacock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Clubhouse
Ranked #1 of 7 Lacock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent standard of accommodation, friendly owners, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

This new, beautifully furnished, clean and comfortable bed and breakfast was a pleasure to stay at. We spent one night here after taking the photography for beginner's course offered by the owners at Lacock Photography, which is in the same location. Wish we had stayed the night before too. Room was spotless, bed very comfortable, shower was lovely and had an excellent cooked veggie breakfast. Recommend that you stay here if visiting Lacock or surrounding areas.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
55
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salzhemmendorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Andy and Fiona leads there a first class B & B which leaves nothing to be desired. If you drive to the location with the GPS it does not immediately place, but a quick call and Fiona leads even a confused poor Germans to the generous parking space directly in front of the house. Every desire is both a command and if it is just an umbrella to go to the beautiful Abbey. Special requests are fulfilled immediately at breakfast. Thank you again for that. Highly recommended.
Greetings Uwe

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UweRoselieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is the twelfth review for The Old Clubhouse and the previous eleven reviewers have said it all. The guest accommodation is purpose-built and brand new. Andy and Fiona prove that B&B can be done well in England. The only trouble is that they make everywhere else look either too fussy, edge-frayed or simply inadequate.

Private parking on site. Off the main road so quiet. Three-minute walk into the centre of the village. Stay here and enjoy Laycock.

Room Tip: The Old Clubhouse is at the top of a short (50 metres) hill just to the north of the village centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmloclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Owner at The Old Clubhouse, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We really appreciate feedback, particularly from experienced TripAdvisor reviewers.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your weekend and it was a pleasure to have you to stay. Thank you for coming on the photography course too. Happy snapping!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Harbour, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

If you are looking for accommodation in a typical B&B with the building dating back to who knows when, then this is not the place for you. HOWEVER, if you want to sleep in an ultra-modern, state of the art B&B with 5-start amenities and amiable and caring hosts then The Old Clubhouse is the place for you. Andy and Fiona, have done everything right and you could not ask for better accommodations at half the hotel prices. We stayed for one night, but would have loved to have stayed longer. The breakfast was sustaining and adequate. As B&B Owners ourselves, we have a discerning palate, yet there was nothing but good to say about this establishment.

Most Highly recommended for one and all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuckedinntheharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

What a treat an amazing new bed and breakfast right in the heart of the very special village of Lacock. Tasteful decor, quiet surroundings and spacious warm, comfortable rooms. The hosts are more than helpful, but equally leave guests to enjoy the tranquil area and the luxury of your own entrance. Ample free parking gives this accommodation more of a feel of being in a smart county hotel, but for half the price you can't go wrong. Breakfast was hearty, freshly cooked and locally sourced - all again what you'd expect from an expensive hotel. We can't wait to return to our favourite village, but now having found this fabulous accommodation that is newly built - so no draughts like all the older traditional properties - and stay right in middle of it with all the best pub in walking distance !! Give this one a try ...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My partner came along for the Photography Workshop, which he thoroughly enjoyed, arranged by Andy and Fiona who also run Lacock Photography. We decided to stay here as it was the perfect location for the workshop. We stayed two nights and found the accommodation extremely comfortable, warm and clean. This is the first b & b we've been to which has the luxury of under floor heating and it kept us cosy and warm on damp dreicht days and nights.
Andy and Fiona made us very welcome from the start. We enjoyed our cooked breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. Even popping out to get me veggie sausages.
Many thanks for an enjoyable weekend and we would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Old Clubhouse as more like a high quality hotel than a B&B; everything is of the highest standard, with fantastic attention to detail. Andy and Fiona are welcoming and friendly and always happy to help with anything. Very highly recommended to anyone visiting Lacock and the area and will be back on my next visit to Lacock.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacock
0.2 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 1 in Lacock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
3.2 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
2.8 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Clubhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Clubhouse

Property: The Old Clubhouse
Address: The Old Clubhouse Chapel Hill, Lacock SN15 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Lacock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lacock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Clubhouse is a superb family-owned and run bed & breakfast in the National Trust village of Lacock. We are in a quiet, easily accessible location in the historic village of Lacock; the home of Lacock Abbey and the Fox Talbot Museum of Photography. Many will recognise Lacock Village from the Harry Potter series of films. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Clubhouse Lacock, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing