We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic English pub with excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Compasses Inn

The Compasses Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Compasses Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Tisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Classic English pub with excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hidden away but more than worth the effort to find. Tranquil setting in a lovely little village, this pub is cosy is winter with beautiful outdoor space in summer. Beer is very good with a decent wine list and well-presented, good quality food. Friendly staff too. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    42
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Manager”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My family and i came out for a meal on advice from local competitor (as full) whilst on holiday in the NF and had a very bad meal such a shame presentation was lovely but food not cooked properly very tough steak, potatoes with duck was very hard to cut into. Drinks where added on that where not ours! Good job we checked receipt four times! My advice if you have a lot of time and no taste buds do come if not stay clear!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlaPla81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hidden away, this pub is very popular with locals and visitors. The food is great and the staff are very friendly. It is worth booking at weekends and maybe worth doing so on other days but even an on spec visit would be ok

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peterj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fab food in an unexpected destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and catered for our 10 plus group of visitors. The menu was delicious - enough local things in there plus also some more culinary adventurous offers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I came here twice last week. Once with 12 other work colleagues late at night, and again on the weekend.
Alan and his staff were very accomodating, and the food was utterly superb!
I was here on a work trip, and if I am back next year, will be coming for another visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kassi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Compasses Inn also viewed

Tisbury, Wiltshire
Tisbury, Wiltshire
 
Donhead Saint Andrew, Shaftesbury
 
Dinton, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Compasses Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing