We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea at Pyt House”

Pythouse Kitchen Garden
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Tisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Tisbury, Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tea at Pyt House”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A delightful cosy setting on a bleak wet afternoon. We had excellent tea and home made scones with jam and cream, very indulgent and well made. Lovely mismatched bone china and pretty decor.
Our visit was slightly riotous due to a bunch of unruly children whose mothers seemed unaware of our presence and allowed their children to run riot around both rooms, the staff tried valiantly to calm the atmosphere without any help from the parents! Note to self avoid half term!!
Notwithstanding the venue is beautiful and well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    47
    11
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Decor, prices and staff make the visit very worthwhile. A lot of thought has obviously gone into making the place relaxing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank a n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
149 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Freshest food possible”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is a restaurant in a rebuilt greenhouse (insulated) in the walled garden of Pythouse. The garden has been restored and is a working kitchen garden so all the vegetables are picked and used fresh. The results are fantastic. Lovely atmosphere as well. Some local produce on sale.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MS31Dec2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Some friends who live in the area took us here for dinner one evening. Well actually the wife drove & I paid but you know what I mean. As it was November I have no idea what the surroundings are like, it was dark. The welcome was very warm, the setting was interesting, the atmosphere was relaxed, the service was brilliant, the food was exceptional, the wine was fine & the bill was about right.
And if you don't like any of that you can buy the furniture.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
649 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere on a cold Autumn afternoon.”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

So glad I had saved time to visit this place, having done a circular walk early morning from my accommodation and discovered it halfway round, with the plan to come back later in the day. The Walled Garden sits at the perimeter of the grounds of the impressive Pythouse, which you can see in all its glory from various points along the road.
The Walled Garden is the old kitchen garden for the house and Im sure in the growing season is fascinating to walk around. Just now it holds the autumn colours, dew and sense of a going to sleep garden. The tea room sits in a restful corner and is housed in the old lean-to greenhouse. Charmingly and stylishly done, welcoming, interesting produce for sale and a gorgeous log burner in the outer conservatory room.
I discovered that at weekends they do evening meals too and only found this out as I was leaving after an hour in front of the fire, in a comfy sofa reading the Telegraph supplements, a luxury I havent enjoyed for a good while. The menu though looks great and Walled Garden Tea Room is somewhere to which I would love to return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pythouse Kitchen Garden also viewed

Tisbury, Wiltshire
Donhead Saint Andrew, Shaftesbury
 
Shaftesbury, Dorset
Swallowcliffe, Wiltshire
 

Been to Pythouse Kitchen Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing