We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“40th Birthday Party”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loch Goil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lodge on Loch Goil
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loch Goil
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“40th Birthday Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We returned to The Lodge following our wedding here three years ago to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday. Fom start to finish we the most wonderful weeken. An informal BBQ on the Friday evening and a five course dinner in the beautiful dining room on the Saturday evening with champagne and canapes in the treehouse before hand. I can thoroughly recommend the Hendricks afternoon tea - very popular and the food and service all weekend was excellent. It really feels like a home from home, relaxing yet luxurious - Alice and the team are fantastic. Can't wait for another excuse to retun!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piglet187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    3
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
72
37
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Just wanted to thank Alice, Iain and Luke for a wonderful day on Sunday 2nd of June. Everything was so perfect...the food was fabulous and the service was excellent and the sun was shinning all day. Our family had the most memorable day running freely around the grounds in the fresh air, throwing stones into the loch, swinging on the tree swing swing and playing hide and seek for hours. The lodge is a spectacular venue the scenery is beautiful and the history of the house tells a thousand stories. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massimo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

As guests at a recent wedding we were really shocked by the poor quality of the staff. There were just 16 guests but the three staff members on show (one was the wedding planner) seemed completely out of their depth. At one point during a 45 minute gap between courses several of us decided to look for a staff member to explain the delay - none could be found!
For a venue that describes itself a 5 star the service was more like fawlty towers.
Most other reviews have been very positive so I felt it was important to add this note of caution to any future guests - bring sandwiches!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I hosted a party of 3 colleagues and 4 supply partners at The Lodge for 2 days earlier this week and felt compelled to write to say what a fantastic venue it is. The scenery, location, service, food and warm hospitality was memorable.........nothing was too much trouble for owners Alice and Iain. The trip which included a fishing on the loch, a speed boat ride, quad biking and clay pidgeon shooting was brilliant and was arranged as a prize incentive for the winners of a sales competition.........what a treat it turned out to be for them!
I really do hope I will return to this unique and beautiful spot.

Steve Montgomery

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We recently spent the weekend at the Lodge to celebrate our mother’s 80th birthday. Our family took over the whole house for the weekend - and it very soon felt like we were in fact at home (as an example; it just felt that there is no need to lock your bedroom door).

Throughout the weekend, Alice, Iain and Hazel made us all, but especially our mother feel very special and it was a weekend we will never forget. As for the facilities, the Lodge, its rooms, its grounds and its location are spectacular - so it is no wonder that as well as being at terrific celebration wedding venue it is also used for many commercial photo shoots.

The food that was prepared for us was stunning. From the canapés served with the pre-dinner champagne to the crème brûlée for dessert it was superb. And, I have to highlight the fillet of beef as being probably the best I have ever enjoyed, it was simply divine. Indeed, all the food we had; afternoon tea, breakfast and dinner was gorgeous and beautifully presented.

Yes, you may encounter the quirks of the plumbing - the Lodge has its own water supply and if everyone tries to be shower at the same time you may have to be patient. This however is a small price to pay for the overall experience you will enjoy at the Lodge.

For any significant celebration, whether it’s a wedding, a birthday - or just because, I cannot recommend the Lodge more highly. The location, the rooms, the food - but above all the people - will provide you with a superb experience you will remember fondly for a long, long time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milliedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

My daughter got married here in March. Despite the cold, but bright, weather the whole day was a dream. Attentive, but not intrusive service, excellent food, great choice of whisky! The venue is fantastic, with terrific views, and a great tree house. If you have daughters who like fairy tales.....start saving!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinbuck, Perthshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

My husband took me away for a night to celebrate my 40th birthday. I saw The Lodge in a magazine many years ago, and have wanted to go there ever since. I am thrilled to say it didn't disappoint! The Indulgence Break has now made The Lodge an accessible place for couples out of season (normally you would have to pay for a min of 8 people). The surprise hit for me was a carrot soup we had as part of our delicious dinner in the Treehouse (who knew a carrot soup could be so tasty); this sums up the Lodge for me - attention to the smallest of detail and even the simplest of things elevated to a whole new level in this magical place. Made for an amazing celebration.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loch Goil
8.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,337 reviews
14.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
9.6 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.1 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
17.4 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Loch Goil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Loch Goil

Property: The Lodge on Loch Goil
Address: The Lodge Loch Goil, Loch Goil PA24 8AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Loch Goil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loch Goil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge on Loch Goil 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Loch Goil is one of the finest 5-star exclusive-use venues in Scotland, our ethos is pure relaxation and total privacy in picturesque and luxurious surroundings. A bespoke experience offering excellence in cuisine, accommodation and service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel Loch Goil
The Lodge Loch Goil
The Lodge On Loch Goil Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing