We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
223
4
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
223
4
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house wedding venue fairy tale exclusive use ran so smoothly bridal suite summer house amazing wedding magical weekend daughter's wedding stunning venue border collie small family wedding spectacular scenery every step of the way hair and makeup roaring fire
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2019

A truly unique place in beautiful part of the world. Alice was able to arrange a proposal for me at short notice at the back end of December. Everything was set up perfectly and the treehouse (where the proposal took place) was magical. We stayed in the summerhouse by the lake which was very romantic and there was an abundance of food and drink for us. Alice took care of all my worries beforehand about how to organise it, what the set up would be like, the order of events. It really took the weight off my shoulders. All I had to worry about was getting there on time and the weather! The peace and quiet of the treehouse, proposing on the balcony overlooking the lake was such an intimate and private moment that was unique and special. The people running the Lodge and working there really understand what service is all about. All the worries were taken care of, they were warm and welcoming and we were taken care of every step of the way (and afterwards with handy directions given for our next trip to Edinburgh - you were right Iain, Stirling castle is beautiful), In terms of logistics, I downloaded google maps for the area so I could use them offline (this was a very good idea because some areas do not have a signal but my GPS worked because I had the maps downloaded). I would also recommend using google street view on your computer for the last part of the route which is on single track road. I was able to visualise the entire road and know which gate and driveway to turn into (google maps has you turning in slightly too early). I'm glad I thought of that because the road was very familiar to me when I actually drove it having used google street view beforehand. Alice does provide helpful directions beforehand and I used them in conjunction. On the weather, I got lucky. It was pretty mild so the roads were fine in a small car. As for the Lodge, the place is stunning in all weather!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank barrysS8350CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochgoilhead, Manager at The Lodge on Loch Goil, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2019

Hello Barry

Thank you for your lovely review, it was such a romantic thing proposing to your beautiful girlfriend on Sunday 30th December, and I have to say what a lovely couple you are and the ring was stunning.
It was a complete pleasure helping you Barry to make your wedding proposal so magical.
( well thats what we do here at The Lodge ) make dreams come true…

Wishing you both a magical exciting year ahead

From Alice and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

I got married in the iconic treehouse at The Lodge last month. To say it was a dream weekend would be an understatement. The Lodge is beautiful, filled with hidden treasures, and the rooms are thoughtfully designed, comfortable and totally magnifent. The setting is out of this world but it is no doubt thanks to the work of Alice and her team that elevates the experience. From planning every detail, always being on call, to ensuring there was the right food on hand for our little boy, nothing was too much trouble. It’s a strange mix of feeling totally at home in an extraordinary setting. It exceeded my hopes for the day, out guests were blown away and myself and my husband will forever hold The Lodge (and Alice) close to our hearts and will return often.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jaimestrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochgoilhead, Manager at The Lodge on Loch Goil, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2019

Thank you so much Jaime and Robert for your amazing review on your Christmas themed wedding here at The Lodge. It was a complete pleasure working with you both to make your dream wedding come true.

I know it must have been difficult to book a wedding venue without seeing it before the actual day, but due to the other brides reviews, this makes much easier to tell people what service we provide here and of course what an amazing house the Lodge is full of great class and style.....

I cant wait to see you later this year for your wedding anniversary

Warmest Regards

Alice and my Team xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018

We have just had a really special short break here. The lodge is in a beautiful setting. Our room was spacious, so comfortable, had an amazing bathroom and we enjoyed fabulous views from our balcony. From the minute we arrived we were so well looked after and attended to by Alice and Ian. They are passionate about what they do and they do it so well. Nothing is too much bother! They take a pride in pleasing you and go above and beyond their duty. One of the highlights has to be our dinner in the tree house! The food was top quality, service was excellent and, despite strong winds outside,
it was cosy, intimate and atmospheric. A very memorable experience!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodgelochgoil, Manager at The Lodge on Loch Goil, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

A Massive "Thank You"

Ruth and Alex for your very kind words, it was a complete pleasure hosting your stay here with us last weekend.
I am delighted that you had a magical time, we like to offer a service thats very personal to all of our guests, but its so nice for us when people appreciate it.

Have a magical day

Warmest Regards

Alice, Iain and Luke x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

I attended a wedding here last week and it's one of the most amazing places I've ever visited. Alice and her team leave you wanting for nothing and treat you like totals. The other lady who was working on the day, I didn't catch her name, is one of the most well mannered, pleasant people I could ever meet. Really welcoming feel about the staff and the house itself and the views from it and the treehouse are superb. I hope to visit again one day. Anyone considering a wedding here should just go for it!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochgoilhead, Manager at The Lodge on Loch Goil, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018


Good Afternoon Bert

Thank you so much for your lovely review on the wedding you attended last week of Sharon and Jay

I am delighted that you had such a magical time here with us at The Lodge, it is such a wonderful venue even for the staff…

The lady you are referring to is called Isobel, yes I do agree she has that little something special about her and people just love her warm personality

I will pass on your thanks.

Warmest Regards

Alice and my team here at the wonderful Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Words cannot describe this venue, it is perfect in every way, it was exclusive, intimate, remote and was exactly what jay and I wanted. I feel any words we say would never convey how magical it is. Just woah ❤️❤️

Then there are the staff....Alice and her team are exceptional, taking care of every last detail but it is so much more than that .....they go above and beyond and then some....they make you feel like part of the family and nothing is too much bother. Our day would not have gone as well as it did if had not been for Alice and the team.

I would urge anyone considering this venue to do it. It is as close to perfection as you could imagine. You won’t be disappointed and like us you will fall in love with it and the staff.

We had the most magical day and we will never forget it, we will never forget how welcome we were made to feel and we truly can’t wait to come back for our anniversary next year.

thank you again Sharon and Jay xx

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Getaway28742288565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodgelochgoil, Manager at The Lodge on Loch Goil, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018


Good Evening Sharon and Jay

Thank you so much for wonderful review earlier today.

You girls looked totally amazing on your wedding day last week, everything about the day was so perfect especially your wedding vows to each other.

It was an honer to be asked to video the wedding, I will remember it always.

Thank you again for your kind words on my staff, we do strive to make sure that every box is ticked and the day runs very smoothly.

I hope that you are enjoying your honeymoon, sipping cocktails on the beach, as you so deserve it……

Looking forward to seeing you again next year for your 1st wedding anniversary

Love Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews