We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballachulish Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$398
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre(Ballachulish)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glencoe House(Glencoe Village)
US$900
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$641
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Leven Hotel(North Ballachulish)
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Holly Tree Hotel(Kentallen)
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Caledonian Hotel(Fort William)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Clan Macduff Hotel(Fort William)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Croit Anna Hotel(Fort William)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,304)
Filter reviews
1,304 results
Traveller rating
344
496
263
122
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
496
263
122
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathcreaky stairsold buildingpublic roomssister hoteltraditional hotellots of characterloch viewdining roommusselslarge loungeopen firefeature roombefore dinnertour groupitison dealbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
998 - 1,003 of 1,304 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Just returned from an overnight stay.reception quick and efficient,room clean and warm.bathroom,shower fine.mattress a bit too hard and gave my wife sore back by the morning.bar small but comfortable,residents lounges comfortable.dinner was very good,choice and quality good and well presented.staff were all good and we were well looked after.Breakfast was good ,plenty of choice.great view from the restaurant if you get a window table.check out,no problem.if you are looking for a good 3 star hotel look no further

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACCIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballagm, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Its always good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Ballachulish Hotel. Your kind comments will be passed on to my team at our regular meetings. Thankyou for taking the time and trouble to let us know your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We got such a kick out of staying at this place. We just don't have too many old hotels like this in the States. The decor was all red and green plaid and it just screamed Scottish. We stayed in the old section. Our room had the rounded balcony although we couldn't walk out onto it. The floor in the room was uneven and creaked. However, our beds were comfortable.
The furnishings are old and showing wear. The carpeting in the halls is also worn. And I suppose the worn look made it not seem really clean.
But because it had been such a grand place, we still just loved it. Call me sentimental. I'd stay here again.
The new addition, I'm not sure how new, really doesn't fit with the character of the old building.
The breakfast buffet was very lovely. They had a lot offered.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmazingRacerWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballagm, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us here at the Ballachulish Hotel. Your kind comments following your stay has been passed on to all the relevant members of my team.

We have ongoing plans and a rolling programe of maintenance to upgrade various parts of the hotel. Your constructive comments have been noted and will be discussed at our regular review meetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We previously stayed at this hotel a few years ago and had a great time, we were keen to go back for our First wedding anniversary.

The view from the hotel is excellent we stayed in a loch view room at the front of the building. The hotel is a little tired and dated in areas however for the price , star rating it wasnt a major issue for us. We ate in the restaurant all three nights of our stay, the food was good ,maybe a little overpriced starters around £6/£7 and mains ranging from £11/£22 however it was of a good quality. The breakfast was good helf your self to cereal,yoghurts,fruit and a hot breakfast was cooked to order. The staff overall were good , easy check in and check out , there was a couple of times when the bar was not attended,maybe a bell or buzzer would be good rather than waiting or hunting them down. The one downside during our stay was we woke to noisey repairs been carried out at around 8.00am in the morning , the repairs didnt appear to be essential or urgent, it looked like a reapir to a door hinge which we felt could have waited until after 9.30 which was the latest you could go for breakfast so all guests would have been up at out of their rooms.

Overall we had another good stay at this hotel and is a ideal base for the scottish highlands, we will no doubt be going back in another few years time.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front of the building as this overlooks the loch
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dowsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballagm, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be returning to visit us again when you are in the area. Glad to read that your enjoyed your Dinner and Breakfast and we are always reviewing our menus and prices so thank you for your constructive comments. We are also exploring your bell or buzzer idea for the bar. Sometimes the Food & Beverage staff are waiting for food in the kitchen to bring to the Bar or are doing some prep for the next service. We will speak to our Maintenance team to avoid the noise early in the morning. We are continually upgrading areas all over the hotel but I am confident we can keep this noise to a minimum around this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My partner and I stayed for four nights in November 2011 and we will definitely return. After a long day's drive from Lincolnshire, our welcome at reception could not be faulted. We had a lovely room, with a massive bed. The bathroom didn't have a bath, but it wasn't a problem for us, and yes the grouting was in need of little attention, but overall we were really pleased with our room (122), which although was by the road (again, this didn't bother us), had amazing views over the loch.

We used the hotel as a base to travel up to the Isle of Skye and Fortwilliam, Oban etc., but we had dinner every night at the hotel, and we just could not fault the food. We sampled everything from Mussels, chicken stuffed with haggis, venison, salmon, scallops - all excellent! Breakfast was also very good - it was a buffet breakfast on the last morning, but every other morning, it was cooked to order and brought to our table (not something I have seen so much of recently).

The lounge was comfy for our wee dram after dinner and the bar was cosy (and the fires were lit, even though it was unseasonably warm!). In fact, a Hollywood actress and the film crew stayed there on one of the nights we were there and as far as I'm concerened, if it's good enough for her, it's good enough for us!

I loved the fact that we felt relaxed and comfortable staying at the Ballachulish, it wasn't pretentious, the staff were lovely, and I liked the fact that it has a certain character and charm.

We also played a round of golf at the Dragon's Tooth Golf Course, next door to the hotel - again very friendly staff and a lovely wee clubhouse!

We can't wait to return to this amazing spot in the highlands!

Room Tip: Most of the loch view rooms are in the newer part of the hotel, but the rooms in the older part, looked very cosy!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tally25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed here for 1 night. From check in to check out the staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. Our room was slightly faded but very clean and comfortable. The food was tasty, large portions, and very reasonably priced. We enjoyed our breakfast in the morning.
One thing to improve? Better coffee in the room.
Definitely will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view on booking
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busiestmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews