We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break, beautiful setting.”
Review of Ballachulish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballachulish Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on a great deal which included dinner on first night and a bottle of wine in our room. Our room was lovely, in the modern wing, overlooking the loch. Nicely furnished with contemporary twists, we loved the window shutters.

Staff were welcoming on arrival and throughout. We had an issue with our shower not draining and mentioned this at reception, problem was sorted by the next time we used it.

Our meal was a bit mixed and ultimately disappointing. We had excellent starters of vegetarian haggis stack and local mussels, nice and hot and nicely cooked. BUT for mains we both ordered fish and chips and to describe as mediocre is being kind. The portions were large but the batter on the fish was soggy and pretty tasteless. I had to leave half of mine as it was poorly filleted and full of bones. The chips were not cooked fully enough and the salad had no dressing to give it any flavour.

Still a bit hungry I ordered a dessert of Raspberry Cranachan which was nice so it was 2 out of 3 for me. Would have preferred to have just had the starter and dessert with hindsight.

This meant that we would be going elsewhere to dine on our second night when we would have preferred to stay at the hotel and not have to drive anywhere.

Breakfast both days was fine and there was plenty to eat, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, porridge plus any variation of a cooked breakfast. No complaints here and the service was good.

I don't want this to sound like a negative review because it was an ALMOST perfect stay and we would love to return to this hotel. The staff were without exception a pleasure to deal with, a small tweak in the kitchen and it would be perfect.

Room Tip: Walls are thin but rooms in new block overlooking the Loch are lovely with a view to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernHeatseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Oled Victorian inn. Food excellent, rooms comfy. View from our room was over the loch so stunnig, especially with the snow on the mountains. Location is good, next to the old railway line so you can take a long walk away from the traffic. Would go again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chickenkievukabuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here in October - the hotel is in a great location for walking and exploring, it was just a shame that the weather was rubbish. The room was nice and comfortable and had a big jacuzzi bath. The food at the hotel wasn't great unfortunately, very greasy. The staff were nice. The fire alarm went off twice at 05:45 which kind of ruined our day but it wasn't anyone's fault. It was nice that guests are able to use the swimming pool at the sister hotel 'The isles of Glencoe' but we should really have been made aware that the swimming pool would be more like a creche between 15:00 and 17:00. Wasn't much fun - loads of unsupervised kids. If we were to go back to Glencoe we would probably stay somewhere else but it really wasn't that bad at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oskar642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Hotel is in a stunning location, just a pity it doesn't match it, allocated a room in an area of the hotel currently being re-decorated....I don't think the hotel is full so can't really understand why this happened, although the room was clean, the bathroom looked as if the walls had been recently re-tiled without replacing the seal which is covered in black goo (years of body fat...yuk!!) and many broken tiles on bathroom floor. Had dinner last night which was poor at best......huge portions but very poor quality and not cheap, I had fish and chips with salad garnish - chips barely cooked and greasy, although a nice piece of fish again it was very greasy and salad looked as if it was an afterthought. Breakfast this morning was no better, toast was cold and cooked breakfast options were Luke-warm. Left hotel at 10am to go site seeing, returned at 2.30pm and room was just starting to be served, again very disappointing, hotel advertises that it has leisure facilities, that is not the case....they are 3 miles down the road at their sister hotel, this hotel could be fab if the hotel chain invested some money in relation to refurbishment and the quality of the food, was reflective of the price.....city prices but far from city quality

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My partner & I have just returned from a 2 night break at the hotel & I can honestly say we had an amazing time.
The Hotel its self was beautiful, Our room was warm, comfortable and Clean, With a bed and shower to die for.
We ate in The hotel & the food was wonderful, Fresh & Tasty.
We also had Breakfast both morning again which was just as lovely.
The Views from the hotel are amazing.
The Staff were very warm, welcoming and attentive. We were looked after very well.
The open fire in the lounge last night was amazing, so warm & cosy.
I would highly recommend this beautiful hotel, we shall definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Ballachulish Hotel 8th-10th November, it was fantastic from check in to check out, the staff are very friendly and helpful, we had breakfast in our room which was really enjoyable, we ate in the restaurant at might food was amazing, the room we had was lovely with a view over the loch which is pretty breath taking,

we went to a fireworks display in the village which was recommended by Richard in reception it was fantastic and everyone was very friendly, it is such a beautiful place quiet and scenic exactly what we wanted for a weekend break, we will definitely be returning next year

a big thank you to everyone at the hotel for a great stay

Room Tip: we asked for a loch view and were not disappointed it's breath taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

My partner, friends and myself stayed at the Ballachulish hotel for 2 nights on an itison deal. Right from the start the welcome was genuine and were made to feel completely at home and relaxed. The staff were just superb, nothing was a bother and you could tell they enjoyed what they did, nothing was forced, had time for a chat and made the whole experience a joy! The Loch view was well worth the extra payment. Stayed for dinner 1st night, food lovely. We stayed in room 123 and it was clean, warm, shower brilliant and view from window second to none!! Ate at the Loch Leven seafood cafe 2nd night, recommend highly!! We will certainly be back, to hotel and cafe!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cushion18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
2.1 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
720 reviews
1.6 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
683 reviews
11.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballachulish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range: £56 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballachulish Hotel Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing