We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It grew on us”
Review of Ballachulish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballachulish Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel. It was bit like stepping back into the 70’s - the creaking staircase reminded me of a hammer horror movie. Admittedly the hotel did look a bit tired but it grew on us. Our room had a lovely view of Loch Linnhe, the room was dated but very clean. The manager and his staff were welcoming though the dining room staff were not really that well trained but they tried.

We were invited to a really enjoyable Highland evening, Scottish dancers and an excellent piper. The location is excellent and there is a lovely small golf course, Dragons Tooth, nearby. The views are great. It is a great touring base and we will go back there.

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking Loch Linnhe - the view is lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandmartin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear sandMartin2
Thank you for your review and that we take these on board and speak to our staff about them. I am glad we grew on you as we do get the occasional customer who dont know what they are getting but in the end do go away happy and return. I do look forward to welcoming you back and remember to bring those golf clubs fot the dragons tooth
Kind regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
There are newer reviews for Ballachulish Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed with a party from Great Rail Journeys and had expected much better. There is shabby chic and then there is downright shabby! E.g. Rip on stair carpet which is an accident waiting to happen. The wardrobe door made enough noise when opened to waken the dead !
The serving staff, mostly foreign, evidently do not understand the principles of hospitality and were abrupt and surly to the point of rudeness (when I asked for toast I was told to make it myself!) .Breakfast was not nice , greasy and congealed , and not the choice I would expect in the buffet. If the food ran out it was not replaced. Dinners were at best mediocre, please don't have the ice cream which is 98% water and most unpleasant.
The manager is always apologetic but gives the impression of being out of control as complaints don't appear to be acted upon.
Finally, and most appallingly, one of our party found their bed to be infested with bedbugs !! Need I say more ?
A 3 star hotel? I think not !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We read your review with a heavy heart ,Frank B. We're working hard to improve the fabric of the building and the team and immediately act on all feedback. We were also shocked by the pest control, which was an absolute on-off and has been eradicated.Your colleague was very understanding and graciously accepted our apology. We can only hope you will give us another chance someday, when we promise you'll find positive changes all round

Kind regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I had three nights here. Beautifully located but quite run down. Can hear snoring through the walls.
Main gripe is breakfast organisation - we were edged out by tour groups, staff are poorly trained & there was absolutely no supervision, resulting in messy tables and food shortages.

Room Tip: Expect a budget experience.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomad0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

DearNormaD
Thank you for taking the time to put on your views and the hotel expierance was not up to your ususal standards whichj i apologise for. we are just about to have some investment in the hotel to keep it in character but work on the comfort and soundproofing in some of our rooms
I do hope in the future you do give us another go as we are working to try and get the hotel back to its former self
Kind regards
Frank chambers
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

5pm deal at this hotel was good value for money.The hotel is a little tired and could do with some TLC,staff are vey helpful rooms are well kitted out and very clean,lovely views over the loch,breakfast was also very good will return.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have a lovely view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear StuartM
Well thanks fot the cosiness and you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, we are working at the moment to get rid of that little tiredness and bring a spring back into the 39 steps to the top floor of the hotel to the very bottom. i look forwardto seeing you on your next visit back to Ballachuilish
Kind regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Located right on the lochs edge, our room had a lovely view. Room was spacious and comfy. Great bath! The old character of the building added to the charm. Not 5 star but very homely . Only downside the wait staff seemed disinterested in serving at restaurant both at dinner and breakfast. Overly lovely stay

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Yvonnne0963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

G'day Yvonne and a lovely welcome from Sunny Ballachulish today,. i am so glad your stay was very enjoyable and you had a spacious and comfy stay with us, i have had a word with our waiting staff and told them that the smile goes along way and people are watching all the time. I look forward to welcoming you back when yopu are back in Scotland
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our second visit to this friendly hotel. It has a wonderful location on the shores of Loch Linnhe and a great place to stay if you want to climb some Munros in Glencoe, or even Ben Nevis which is only a short drive away. Breakfast is amazing and available early for those keen to make an early start for the wide variety of outdoor activities available in the locality.
The restaurant offered a good choice and the chef is very. very good. Wont hesitate to go back, summer or winter and

Room Tip: pay the little extra for the wonderful views across the sea loch
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrkookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi MrKookie
Thank you for taking the time to give us back some great feedback on your stay with us at the Ballachulish, i know my chef and his team will be extremly happy with your comments and this makes it all worth while i do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
kind regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We only spent one night in this hotel but would have happily stayed longer. Our room was extremely spacious and comfortable. It was tastefully decorated and equipped with Edwardian style furniture. All members of staff we encountered were very friendly and attentive and the food was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hamish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi Hamish
Thank your for your lovely comments and your short stay was enjoyed by yourselves. It is great to get feedback from our customers and makes it all worth while My staff and i look forward to welcoming you back hopefully for a longer stay next time
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
0.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
155 reviews
2.1 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
699 reviews
1.6 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
659 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballachulish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range: £53 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballachulish Hotel Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing