We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, but a little tired” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballachulish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballachulish Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Greetham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quaint, but a little tired”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

A hotel that has character, but needs some investment. Don't let that put you off as its a nice place to stay. The food was good, but the service was very slow at times. They seem to run on a minimal staffing basis, so patience is needed. The location, view and setting is wonderful, but you are next to a metal road bridge. Would I go back? Yes as the positives outweigh the negatives by a long way

Room Tip: Rooms are OK, but need updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Martin F
Thank you for your review and i feel that you got it spot on and regarding service we feel its not to be rushed although i have spoke to my team about it. At the beginning of the year we were taken over and a big investment plan is on the way were we keep to the same character but just give us a bit of a facelift and we do hope to keep that quaintessand too make the place more comfterable.I do look forward to welcoming youback to the Ballachulish in the very near furure
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    428
    227
    96
    67
See reviews for
117
704
39
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Have stayed here before a few years ago so was looking forward to staying here again. The Receptionist was friendly and chatty when we arrived and give us our room key with directions. We opened the door to the room and immediately thought we were in a cell! It was dark, drab and depressing with no view as advertised. On further inspection the seats where stained and the bed did not look clean. The en-suite bathroom was big but had several cracked floor tiles. We decided we couldnt stay in this room so asked for another room. This time we were given a room with a view. Unfortunately this was the only positive thing we could say about the room. The en-suite bathroom was very small and it smelt. There were several things wrong with the room, which in itself would not have been a problem but when there are several things wrong it all mounts up. Torn cushions on the bed, torn and very badly stained curtains which look like it had come from the windows. Cob webs around the dust filled lamps. The bedroom furniture was very cheap and worn. The en-suite again smelt. No vanity light working, plug had come off the lead, stains around the sink and underneath the taps were black. We had already booked dinner and as it was late by this point we felt we couldn't leave. We had dinner which was very nice and the food was good. The staff however lack enthusiasm and lack produce knowledge ie: didn't really know what was on the dessert menu and couldn't be bothered get one! We had a very sleepless night due to the mattress being uncomfortable and in the morning discovered the state of the mattress (as you can see from the photo!) Not only was the mattress BLACK but it was also ripped! I am very disappointed to put such a terrible review for this Hotel but as I said, we had been a few years ago and it was nothing like it is now! Maybe they need to cut down on the number of rooms they offer and concentrate on offering less rooms of better quality and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LochNessBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
DearLochnessbabe
Thank you for taking the time to place your views and disappointment and i do wish you had spoken to myself when you were at the hotel. Sometimes we dont get it right and is a learning curb for myself and my staff. Regarding the matteress i have spoken to our housekeeper and was dealt with in the first instance as this should not be the case.We are about toconcentrate on making the hotel more comfterable but keeping to our Baronial image that goes in line with our building. I do hope in the future you do give us another try as i feel we do try to get it right
Kind regards

Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ballachulish hotels

Methil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed as part of a group of eight work colleagues in May. Had a great time and enjoyed our stay. Staff were all very welcoming and the hotel is lovely. Rooms were well equipped with hair dryer, toiletries, kettle and tea n coffee. Would defiantly like to go back

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Alison B
Thank you for your lovely comments and myself and staff do appreciate your views espicially when we get it right, my staff are very passionate about thir place of work and that others enjoy it to. I do look forward to welcoming you back inthe near future

Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We paid a bit less, as a last minute booking, and I would not have liked to pay more. Some aspects good, but there is a great variation in the rooms. I'm not that keen on dogs using hotels, and this is dog friendly. Squeaky floors above disturbed my sleep, as did the snoring from all sides. There is an issue with sound proofing in the newer part where we were.
The windows were seriously ill fitting, and that would be a concern in cold weather. The bar was less than wonderful, really due to the lack of interest from the barman.
Breakfast was good, and the food was hot. The dining table was sticky though, and looking round, that was general. I just felt that this hotel is not as nice as it should be. A bit of management regarding staff performance could sort that out quickly.We were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a loch view, in main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sheila 951
Thank you for taking the time to place you views and i am sad to learn you were disappointed in the facilities of the hotel although you mentioned the breakfast was good and was hot. We are about to go through a major investment plan that should sort out the comfort side of the hotel and are looking at retraining staff members that goes along with investment. I do hope if you are ever back in the area that you may give us another try as i feel that bigger and brighter things are coming which should solve any issues that we have
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

What an idyllic location and beautiful gardens to sit in and drink in the view.Staff were very professional and very helpful.The food was of a very high standard.The room was just perfect with a Loch view.To be recommended.To add to our very positive review,we had a special deal with 5pm which added to the value.

Room Tip: Loch view room will add to the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaz4caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Gaz4Caz
Thank you for these grest comments and with a stunning location you felt it was spot on what you had expected, this does give us gratitude to feel we got it right and your expecttions were met. I dol ook forward to seeing you back in Ballachulish in the near future
kind regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel. It was bit like stepping back into the 70’s - the creaking staircase reminded me of a hammer horror movie. Admittedly the hotel did look a bit tired but it grew on us. Our room had a lovely view of Loch Linnhe, the room was dated but very clean. The manager and his staff were welcoming though the dining room staff were not really that well trained but they tried.

We were invited to a really enjoyable Highland evening, Scottish dancers and an excellent piper. The location is excellent and there is a lovely small golf course, Dragons Tooth, nearby. The views are great. It is a great touring base and we will go back there.

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking Loch Linnhe - the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandmartin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear sandMartin2
Thank you for your review and that we take these on board and speak to our staff about them. I am glad we grew on you as we do get the occasional customer who dont know what they are getting but in the end do go away happy and return. I do look forward to welcoming you back and remember to bring those golf clubs fot the dragons tooth
Kind regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed with a party from Great Rail Journeys and had expected much better. There is shabby chic and then there is downright shabby! E.g. Rip on stair carpet which is an accident waiting to happen. The wardrobe door made enough noise when opened to waken the dead !
The serving staff, mostly foreign, evidently do not understand the principles of hospitality and were abrupt and surly to the point of rudeness (when I asked for toast I was told to make it myself!) .Breakfast was not nice , greasy and congealed , and not the choice I would expect in the buffet. If the food ran out it was not replaced. Dinners were at best mediocre, please don't have the ice cream which is 98% water and most unpleasant.
The manager is always apologetic but gives the impression of being out of control as complaints don't appear to be acted upon.
Finally, and most appallingly, one of our party found their bed to be infested with bedbugs !! Need I say more ?
A 3 star hotel? I think not !

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We read your review with a heavy heart ,Frank B. We're working hard to improve the fabric of the building and the team and immediately act on all feedback. We were also shocked by the pest control, which was an absolute on-off and has been eradicated.Your colleague was very understanding and graciously accepted our apology. We can only hope you will give us another chance someday, when we promise you'll find positive changes all round

Kind regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
2.1 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.6 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballachulish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Property: Ballachulish Hotel
Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballachulish Hotel Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing