We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a great location”
Review of Ballachulish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ballachulish Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel with a great location”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very enjoyable stay in a charming room in the older part of the Hotel which was first opened in 1836! You can read the wages records for the first staff displayed on an old piano in the lounge and there are amazing photos of the first ferry crossings at Ballachulish. The road noise was not a problem and the scenery is spectacular. The dinner was really good but buffet breakfast the usual disappointing stuff. The staff were very friendly and helpful too - would definitely recommend this Hotel as a stop off when touring Scotland.

Room Tip: Older part is best - very good jacuzzi bath in the ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beehopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Behopeful
Thank you for your lovely comments which makes it all worth while for myself and staff at the hotel, great things are coming soon for the hotel with a major investment from our new owners who have in the last 6 months spent a lot of time effort to get our product right. i do look forward to welcoming you back to our grand old lady in the near future
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    446
    239
    102
    70
See reviews for
128
736
41
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is over rated. The setting is romantic if you have a street facing room but then the noise from the busy highway is offensive. Rooms need a major upgrade. We found mold in the shower, thin walls, poor mattresses and windows that either did not open or opened with extreme difficulty. There was no AC but in the highlands that is not required. But with lack of ventilation in the small bathroom an open window would have helped tremendously with the humidity. The downstairs rooms were quaint with a view of the river and beautiful scenery. They had some outdoor seating that was nice once we cleaned off the bird droppings and spider webs. The hostess for tea/coffee in the sitting room after dinner was a positive, though. A good cleaning of the rooms and some new mattresses would greatly help this hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor facing street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Jan
Sorry that we did not come up to your expectations of a highland hotel, due to a lack of investment in the hotel over the last 7 or more years we are about to put things right with our new management team at Crieff Hydro with a major investment in our property to get the tiredness away and give her a breath of fresh air which she deserves. i do hope if you are ever back in Scotland that you do give us another try as we feel a change of life coming back to this grand old lady
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ballachulish hotels

Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a great stay; the room we got was fantastic; greatly appointed and tastefully decorated with a superb view over Loch Leven/Loch Linnhe. Lovely having a beer after a great hill walk outside in the front of the hotel overlooking the loch. The dinner was great too, with fresh seafood.
Sadly, the canteen style breakfast was rather disappointing, hence not five stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear JAn K
Thank you for your lovely comments and that yopu enjoyed your stay very much at the Ballachulish, a bit disappointing for you for the breakfast set up but going forward it is something we are looking at in the near future
I hope the next time you are in the area you come and visit us again and awra best as we say in Scotland
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greetham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A hotel that has character, but needs some investment. Don't let that put you off as its a nice place to stay. The food was good, but the service was very slow at times. They seem to run on a minimal staffing basis, so patience is needed. The location, view and setting is wonderful, but you are next to a metal road bridge. Would I go back? Yes as the positives outweigh the negatives by a long way

Room Tip: Rooms are OK, but need updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Martin F
Thank you for your review and i feel that you got it spot on and regarding service we feel its not to be rushed although i have spoke to my team about it. At the beginning of the year we were taken over and a big investment plan is on the way were we keep to the same character but just give us a bit of a facelift and we do hope to keep that quaintessand too make the place more comfterable.I do look forward to welcoming youback to the Ballachulish in the very near furure
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Have stayed here before a few years ago so was looking forward to staying here again. The Receptionist was friendly and chatty when we arrived and give us our room key with directions. We opened the door to the room and immediately thought we were in a cell! It was dark, drab and depressing with no view as advertised. On further inspection the seats where stained and the bed did not look clean. The en-suite bathroom was big but had several cracked floor tiles. We decided we couldnt stay in this room so asked for another room. This time we were given a room with a view. Unfortunately this was the only positive thing we could say about the room. The en-suite bathroom was very small and it smelt. There were several things wrong with the room, which in itself would not have been a problem but when there are several things wrong it all mounts up. Torn cushions on the bed, torn and very badly stained curtains which look like it had come from the windows. Cob webs around the dust filled lamps. The bedroom furniture was very cheap and worn. The en-suite again smelt. No vanity light working, plug had come off the lead, stains around the sink and underneath the taps were black. We had already booked dinner and as it was late by this point we felt we couldn't leave. We had dinner which was very nice and the food was good. The staff however lack enthusiasm and lack produce knowledge ie: didn't really know what was on the dessert menu and couldn't be bothered get one! We had a very sleepless night due to the mattress being uncomfortable and in the morning discovered the state of the mattress (as you can see from the photo!) Not only was the mattress BLACK but it was also ripped! I am very disappointed to put such a terrible review for this Hotel but as I said, we had been a few years ago and it was nothing like it is now! Maybe they need to cut down on the number of rooms they offer and concentrate on offering less rooms of better quality and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LochNessBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
DearLochnessbabe
Thank you for taking the time to place your views and disappointment and i do wish you had spoken to myself when you were at the hotel. Sometimes we dont get it right and is a learning curb for myself and my staff. Regarding the matteress i have spoken to our housekeeper and was dealt with in the first instance as this should not be the case.We are about toconcentrate on making the hotel more comfterable but keeping to our Baronial image that goes in line with our building. I do hope in the future you do give us another try as i feel we do try to get it right
Kind regards

Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed as part of a group of eight work colleagues in May. Had a great time and enjoyed our stay. Staff were all very welcoming and the hotel is lovely. Rooms were well equipped with hair dryer, toiletries, kettle and tea n coffee. Would defiantly like to go back

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Alison B
Thank you for your lovely comments and myself and staff do appreciate your views espicially when we get it right, my staff are very passionate about thir place of work and that others enjoy it to. I do look forward to welcoming you back inthe near future

Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We paid a bit less, as a last minute booking, and I would not have liked to pay more. Some aspects good, but there is a great variation in the rooms. I'm not that keen on dogs using hotels, and this is dog friendly. Squeaky floors above disturbed my sleep, as did the snoring from all sides. There is an issue with sound proofing in the newer part where we were.
The windows were seriously ill fitting, and that would be a concern in cold weather. The bar was less than wonderful, really due to the lack of interest from the barman.
Breakfast was good, and the food was hot. The dining table was sticky though, and looking round, that was general. I just felt that this hotel is not as nice as it should be. A bit of management regarding staff performance could sort that out quickly.We were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a loch view, in main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sheila 951
Thank you for taking the time to place you views and i am sad to learn you were disappointed in the facilities of the hotel although you mentioned the breakfast was good and was hot. We are about to go through a major investment plan that should sort out the comfort side of the hotel and are looking at retraining staff members that goes along with investment. I do hope if you are ever back in the area that you may give us another try as i feel that bigger and brighter things are coming which should solve any issues that we have
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
0.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
131 reviews
2.1 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
675 reviews
1.6 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
631 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballachulish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Property: Ballachulish Hotel
Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Superbreak UK, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballachulish Hotel Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing