We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,393)
Filter reviews
1,393 results
Traveller rating
360
515
283
141
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
515
283
141
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath creaky stairs public rooms traditional hotel old building lots of character loch view dining room mussels large lounge feature room open fire before dinner an upgrade tour group itison deal both nights
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,393 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were only here for one night and that was enough!
The place is very tired, the staff are ok but not as attentive as you expect. The food is poor and not good value. The rooms are basic and clean but tired in décor etc.
We would not stay here again. We found better places at a lower cost.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cliff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydroHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us Cliff T. We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to the Ballachulish Hotel. We are carrying out a refurbishment of the hotel building so further improvements are planned and your feedback will be shared with the Management Team so that they can take this on board going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service was resigned but good. The ambience and decor of the public areas and the rooms were worn and shabby. It comes across as a tired roadhouse only frequented by coach tours. I would hope not to have to return before the refurb!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydroHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review Anne H. As you mention, refurbishment is taking place throughout the hotel and this will continue until all of the rooms and public areas are complete. We do hope that you will consider returning once further refurbishment has taken place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed while travelling around Scotland for the one night. A more traditional hotel. Not everyone’s cup of tea but clean, tidy and presentable with a cracking view of the loch. The rooms were nice. Enjoyable stay.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank stuart_haynes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydroHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your comments with us stuart_haynes11. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope that you will return and visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

My partner and I stayed here for two nights recently and wished we had booked somewhere else. The hotel website proudly boasts "over 100 years of traditional hospitality"- well it is a great shame that it has not been recognised that we are now in the 21st century. The website also proudly boasts of a "well stocked hospitality tray in the room", well in my opinion 3 typhoo tea bags and 2 x Earl grey tea bags does not constitute a well stocked tray. We asked for some biscuits and were told they were not on offer, but 2 packets and some bottle water arrived within minutes. These were not replenished the next day.
Our " feature room" ( more expensive than a double) had a sleigh bed, a loch view and a jacuzzi bath!! The jacuzzi bath was broken and a management notice above the bath apologised for this inconvenience BUT the breathtaking views of the loch more than made up for the broken jacuzzi!! Our room was very tired and needed some TLC, the bathroom had been updated ( if you call having an electric Mire shower modern). yes it had underfloor heating but this had caused at least 8 floor tiles to crack badly. Wi fi was very slow and erratic. The staff tried their best and the food only ok. (hence we ate elsewhere the next night). As very seasoned travellers we would not recommend this place to anyone, and it was noticeable that the receptionist did not ask departing guests whether they had enjoyed their stay - perhaps she already knew the response!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydroHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us david c. We were so sorry to hear that many areas of your recent visit fell short and will ensure that the Management Team are aware of your feedback so that they can take this on board going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

What a great find this hotel was. The view is amazing and we got to see a fantastic sunset from the dining room. The lounge and library are like stepping back in time. Such ambience. The bar is a great place to meet fellow travellers to swap yarns with and the restaurant served great food. The rooms are comfortable, parking on site a plus too. We had a very pleasant overnight stay here. Recommend highly as an alternative to Fort William. We drove after breakfast to catch Jacobite steam train to Maillag.

Room Tip: Room facing Loch Linhie , I assume most do but check
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lennster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydroHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review lennster2014. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews