We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service - Good Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Laroch Restaurant & Bar

The Laroch Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Ballachulish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: European, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Service - Good Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

On our recent visit to Glencoe, we visited the Laroch Bar and Bistro and would certainly say it won’t be our last as it’s good to know that any time we’re in the area it’s well worth a return visit..

A friendly welcome is given to you by all staff and the choice on the menu is good with plenty to choose from, all food is freshly prepared and piping hot and very reasonably priced,

I will certainly return and will pass this on to others...
If your in the area looking for somewhere to eat, Don’t hesitate - You won’t be disappointed...

Excellent Value for Money...

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RobSco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLarochBar, Manager at The Laroch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thanks for your kind review and uploading the photos. We're glad you enjoyed your meal as we pride ourselves on our quality and freshness. Hope you visit again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    139
    28
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb ! Best in the West !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Our first visit, it certainly will not be our last.
We stopped here when visiting the beautiful West coast, and we were not disapointed.
A friendly welcome, spotless, good quality home made food served with a smile from the friendly and attentive staff, and excellent value for money.
What more could we ask for ?
We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Adv051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLarochBar, Manager at The Laroch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
It's great to hear good feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and will hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-humber
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Honest Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Well, we visited this restaurant twice during our holiday and I have to say the food and service is very good indeed. The menu has a good choice, with several pub food favourites, all very well cooked and presented. wouldn't hesitate goin again when we're back in the area.

Cheers

Gary & Fiona, Lincolnshire.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLarochBar, Manager at The Laroch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for your kind review. Its great hearing that our customers are enjoying good food and service. We will look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

My friend and I ate at the Laroch every night of our recent trip to the Highlands. We'd normally choose the Crachaig Inn, but it's become very busy and slightly lacklustre in its efforts. The new owners at the Laroch are pulling out all the stops. There's a new chef, a great menu with just enough choice (curry, fish and chips, stews, steaks etc) and all the food appeared freshly made and cooked. There's enough of a beer choice, plenty of good Scotch and wine, and a very warm welcome with great service. We were also lucky enough to stumble into a late-opening music night on a Saturday. It was great fun and very welcoming. Can't recommend this place highly enough if you're in Glencoe or Ballachulish.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLarochBar, Manager at The Laroch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
We would like to thank you for your repeated custom and very good review. We love hearing about our customers enjoyable visits and it would be great to see you again when you're back in the Highlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A friendly, family run restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

I'm very glad we found this place; we ended up eating here every night during our visit to Glencoe. Everything I tried was fresh, tasty and reasonably priced; a delicious vension stew was a particular highlight.

I must mention the staff because even when the restaurant was busy the service was always polite, friendly and fast.

If you're looking for somewhere to go on a Saturday night then try the adjoining pub which seemed very popular when we dropped in for a few pints of Deuchars!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_Benson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLarochBar, Manager at The Laroch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
We would like to thank you for this kind review and your repeated custom. It's great to hear when our customers enjoy their experience at The Laroch, whether it's for a quiet drink or a meal. And I must agree, our chefs venison dishes are to die for! Hope to see you again if you're back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Laroch Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Ballachulish, Glencoe
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
 

Been to The Laroch Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing