We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great getaway.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 2 Stone Cottage

18th century stone cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
18th century stone cottage
Relax in front of the log burning stove.  Views acroos the loch Newly installed kitchen December 2013  Views across the loch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
18th century stone cottage
Relax in front of the log burning stove.  Views acroos the loch
Newly installed kitchen December 2013  Views across the loch
Electric oven, hob and microwave
Fully equipped.  Plenty of crockery and cooking utensils.
Utility area with dishwasher, washing machine and clothes drying area
New carpet and curtains October 2013
A wide selection of dvds, games, fiction books and walking books for you to enjoy
Main bedroom with kingsize bed and woodland views
Twin bedroom with woodland views to rear
Bathroom with electric shower,  New floor December 2013. the cottage also has a downstairs toilet
Grassed area at rear of the cottage leads to woodland
Deer in the rear garden.  Great to spot in the morning or early evening
Large gravel area at rear used for off road parking
Loch Linnhe
A wide variety of watersports area available within a 5 minute walk of the cottage
Pap mountain Glencoe
Evening view across the loch
Ice walking near Kinlochleven
Glencoe village
Seil Island near Oban is an excellent day trip
View across the loch from the front of the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballachulish, Glencoe, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Teresa N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The cottage drastically needs an update!”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Unfortunately we were very disappointed! Everything was quite old and dirty! Shards of glas in the backyard, dirty dishes in the cupboards, rubbish under the beds, mold in the shower and a nasty basement smell in every room! It was advertised, that you can use the log burner, but there was just one basket of wood, so you had to buy new wood, when you wanted to have a fire more than once. There is no real dinning table, there is just one to fold-out and then it uses all the space in the living room! We needed to keep the heaters on all day, because there always was a cold draft coming from the windows.
The washing machine and dryer were so dirty we needed to clean them bevor we wanted to use them!
The kitchen is poorly equipped, cooking a real meal for four people was a challenge!
The cottage is directly on a major road with a lot of traffic, and this was very noisy!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Thank -you for your review. It's a shame you never contacted me during your stay to explain your concerns about the cottage. Approximately 2 years ago we installed a new kitchen and purchased new crockery, cooking utensils etc. When we did this and have naturally replaced items as required since then . We personally feel
It's well equipped, but would really value guests feedback so
Please do let me know what items are missing and we will look into purchasing them for future guests.
Like everyone who runs a business, it is appreciated that when customers/ guests speak directly to whoever is in charge about their concerns at the time so things can be sorted out as best as possible. Please do remember this in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billbrend...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great getaway.”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Just as good as last time.Prefer 1 Stone as it has a great bath to heat you up. But hey ho just had to take more Whiskey instead .We had a great chill out by the log fire .thanks again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
A bath is always useful after a day on the mountains, but I'm sure you enjoyed the whiskey too! Glad you like the fire. Hopefully cottage 1 will be available next time you visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely cottage for a weekend in Glencoe”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a great weekend climbing hills and checking out local food from Stone Cottage. Of an evening we very much enjoyed sitting in front of the wood burning stove relaxing. Great cottage in a great location with good facilities.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank-you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the log burner - Personally I love to sit in front of the log burner and watch the highland mist over the loch opposite.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan D
1 review
“Perfect base for exploring Glencoe”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The cottage was clean, plenty spacious enough for the 3 adults in the party and cosy. We did not have to use any of the storage heaters or other heating - we just lit the fire in the evening.
The location is absolutely perfect for hillwalking or exploring the area and is just a short walk from local shops and pubs.

Liked best - the location and the fire.
Liked least - a very minor point... the logs were a bit big (or damp?) and didn't burn very efficiently.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairnord
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint and cute cottage, Brilliant views from cottages Windows”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage is lovely and had everything we needed, well situated with brilliant views from the cottage windows, we enjoyed our time and would go again, nice walks to Glenco village and ballachulish only annoying thing was the wood burning stove was in need of repair which we didn't find out till we lit it and set of the fire alarm and smoked out the cottage for two days, and the wifi only worked intermittently ten minutes at a time which annoyed our daughter.
We had a terrific thunder and lightning storm which we sat and watched in the early hours of the morning from the cottage window very atmospheric.
A gem of a place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of Internet access / very intermittent
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
Thank-you for your feedback.
I arranged for our maintenance man to have a look at the log burner after you left, as you said that you were fine not using it again during your stay. It is now mended.
Its strange about the internet, I will have a look into it. Normally it is fine, but will check it out next time we are staying in the cottage.
Glad you enjoyed the views....and the thunder storm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Sharo...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A nice and cosy cottage, with all that you would need to have a great stay. Amazing views and a fantastic location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will return at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria9...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The house itself was lovely, it is well equipped with everything you need. There is a large selection of dvd's and games. The information file in the house has a selection of local walks and recommendations of places to go and eat.
The location of the house for us was great. The house is very close to the main road, some may consider this a negative but we didn't notice the traffic and thought it was a positive as you could get to places quickly.
The village was good, a few shops, pub ect all in walking distance.
I would recommend this cottage, and will probably book it again in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Thank-you for your kind review. We agree that the house is close to the main road, but traffic tends to be during 9-6, so usually not when people are staying in the cottage. So in the evening, it doesn't distract from the amazing loch views.
Glad you had an enjoyable stay, and hopefully you will return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing