We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good stay but nothing special”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights to explore the area and for this the hotel was superbly located on Loch Leven, just off the A82.
We had a nice welcome and swift check in to our room on the first floor at the far end of the hotel overlooking the mountains. The room was average size and equipped with everything we needed but with quite a corporate style decor, no homely touches and a small very old CRT TV.
We'd found some restaurants on TA as the hotel menu was limited and quite pricey - see my other reviews. However the breakfast buffet was plentiful with everything well cooked and for once a toasting machine that worked well! Our table both mornings in the conservatory area was well situated for the stunning loch views and we walked round here one morning, taking photos.
The hotel was full, with quite a few families and dogs staying but we slept very well, but didn't use the pool because of the children constantly in it. There is adult only time but at 8-10pm at night, who wants to swim after dinner?!
Overall a nice stay and would recommend for exploring the area, walking or skiing.

Room Tip: Worth paying more for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parrotfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    550
    275
    132
    58
See reviews for
347
805
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Having read some of the reviews, we were a little apprehensive, we had stayed before many years ago. Yes the hotel is a little tired, however well stocked bar & food was nice ( agree menu could have been better). We were made to feel most welcome & so was our dog, which is a big plus for me. Most of the guests we spoke with were returning ones, so my view..... Go try it !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Having been at this hotel before on many occasions, since opening, and now returning after a number of years, I was shocked to see this hotel going down hill in such a dramatic way! The lounge furnishings are very tired and appear dirty ( black staining on arm rests ). The room we stayed in (deck room) had stained carpets in numerous places, the grout missing/lifted from bathroom floor tiles. The restaurant, if you can call it that, appeared acceptable with white table cloths and cloth napkins but the menu was awful. For a start the menu came as a piece of laminated A4 paper and was very limited in choice. Eg. Fish and chips and steak and Ale pie is not restaurant food.

We could go on and on about how disappointing our experience has been this time. We can only suggest that you avoid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobbershf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We spent 2 nights here and had a great time. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Room was comfortable, clean and warm. We booked 2 night DBB and could not fault anything, food was great well presented and to a high standard. After reading some reviews you could be put off the hotel but form our point of view it's not all about the cosmetic look of some place it's about how your treated and how you treat them. We would recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again sometime in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a loch view when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kb1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillicoultry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the Isles and we had a great time. The room was clean, tidy and had been newly painted and decorated. The views are fantastic and as a family room, there was plenty of room for all of us (2 adults 2 kids). The staff were brilliant! Della was so good with the boys and the rest of the team were also just as attentive. They really did go out their way to ensure our stay was a good one! Having read the other reviews, yes, I agree perhaps the lounge needs a bit of tlc, but to be honest, the seats were comfy, the lounge was spacious and the bar nearby! The swimming pool is a must for us and again, it did not disappoint. The boys loved it! The changing areas are clean and tidy, the sauna was great too. Dinner was really good and the breakfasts were as always hearty and tasty!! An overall winner! Will definitely be back again :)

Room Tip: The family rooms on the south side are really spacious and have terrific views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Location is lovely - great views. However, accommodation is poor. Stained carpet in Room. Toilet needs updating. Dining Room - menu choice was poor; chairs were stained and dirty. Swimming pool - odd arrangement in changing room(no privacy). Not worth the money we paid at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy186574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here recently with a coach party. Had lovely room with view of loch, spacious room, nice bathroom (with room for more than a miniscule toilet bag), lots of space to "park" luggage, enough coat hangers, large desk, two armchairs, and the restaurant had lovely view of the loch. Only real complaint was the food - or rather the delivery of the food. The breakfast food was good, but the (self-service) hot food was often not ready in time, or was put out in bits and pieces so that the food first out was cooling down rapidly whilst the rest of it was somewhere in the kitchen. The evening meal was also rather late one night, taking 45 minutes from giving order to delivery of the starter. There was another coach party in one night but not all the time, and a few more staff on the delivery side would have made all the difference. The same remarks apply to getting drinks at the bar - just not enough staff. The hotel staff in all departments were very good, couldn't have been more helpful, and it would have been an almost perfect review were it not for the shortage of staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LizaDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
2.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
133 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,168 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
866 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
678 reviews
3.6 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre

Property: Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Address: Near Fort William, Ballachulish PH49 4HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isles Of Glencoe Hotel And Leisure Centre
Isles Of Glencoe Ballachulish
Isle Of Glencoe
Isles Of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre Ballachulish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing