We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family & Dog Friendly Spectacular views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had spent 2 nights in sister hotel (Ballachulish) reluctant to return home we stopped to check out leisure facilities for family and friends. The hotel is modern with open spacious relaxing area, we decided to book in for a night as this hotel was also dog friendly (big plus for us). We had a terrific stay room was very spacious with spectacular views feeling almost afloat in room 25 V LUX windows compliment the view of the loch & mountains. Breakfast was good as was evening meal. Staff are very friendly. Terrific stay will return very soon. Both hotels have been recently taken over by new owners Crieff Hydro so would imagine they will want to put their own stamp on it would be interesting as this is another fab hotel.

Room Tip: loch facing rooms views spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Initially we thought...oh oh this place looks a bit neglected. Stains stains and more stains, chairs in lounge and every dining chair had signs of drips and dribbles, like an old folks home. However we had heard favourable reports so we shrugged it off. Thankfully. The room (334) is superb. The bed is huge and the view is outstanding. There are a few niggles such as why the tea-bag stains on the carpet haven't been cleaned up. The bathroom is good, very good and the shower pressure could blow your socks off.
We had a couple of drinks prior to dinner and I was impressed by the draught Belhaven Best which tastes according to the cleanliness of the beer pipes.
Dinner was more than satisfactory and again the views are fab from the conservatory.
The staff were very attentive although we could have done with a hand up to the top floor with our luggage, and again on the way back down on leaving. I suppose I could have asked.
I believe this hotel is part of a chain and the profits from it go towards covering losses elsewhere.
A shame really because it could do with a few bob spent on maintenance.

Room Tip: Overlook the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubsiesEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had a great Easter weekend in Glencoe walking. Isles of Glencoe was a great place to stay. Rooms large and comfortable, decent pool and sauna to relax in after long days walking.

Great place to relax, wonderful views, open space around the hotel to relax in. Superb location.

The food was good, and the staff were excellent - particular mention to Ian and the lady who runs the restaurant in the evening, sorry I can't remember her name.

This would have been a 5 star rating - however, some elements of the hotel look a rough round the edges. However that did not distract from the great time and stay that we had.

The location was great and the staff went the extra mile. Will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view - you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here as a family of four. The family rooms are well designed with a separate sleeping area for the children in bunk beds and their own TV!! The view from our room was superb. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Evening service in the restaurant is in need of improving as is the menu choice and food! However, the hotel has just been bought by new owners and we understand changes are afoot!
The swimming pool complex was great and a lovely way to spend time as a family after a days skiing!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the loch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Lovely hotel with great scenery lovely food and staff . Ideal for water sports hire centre next to hotel . Village centre 5 mins walk . Spa facilities ideal. A small fee charged if you don't stay at hotel .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SadieM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights to explore the area and for this the hotel was superbly located on Loch Leven, just off the A82.
We had a nice welcome and swift check in to our room on the first floor at the far end of the hotel overlooking the mountains. The room was average size and equipped with everything we needed but with quite a corporate style decor, no homely touches and a small very old CRT TV.
We'd found some restaurants on TA as the hotel menu was limited and quite pricey - see my other reviews. However the breakfast buffet was plentiful with everything well cooked and for once a toasting machine that worked well! Our table both mornings in the conservatory area was well situated for the stunning loch views and we walked round here one morning, taking photos.
The hotel was full, with quite a few families and dogs staying but we slept very well, but didn't use the pool because of the children constantly in it. There is adult only time but at 8-10pm at night, who wants to swim after dinner?!
Overall a nice stay and would recommend for exploring the area, walking or skiing.

Room Tip: Worth paying more for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parrotfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Having read some of the reviews, we were a little apprehensive, we had stayed before many years ago. Yes the hotel is a little tired, however well stocked bar & food was nice ( agree menu could have been better). We were made to feel most welcome & so was our dog, which is a big plus for me. Most of the guests we spoke with were returning ones, so my view..... Go try it !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
2.1 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,227 reviews
2.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
897 reviews
2.0 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
716 reviews
3.6 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre

Address: Near Fort William, Ballachulish PH49 4HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range: £57 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isles Of Glencoe Hotel And Leisure Centre
Isles Of Glencoe Ballachulish
Isle Of Glencoe
Isles Of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre Ballachulish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing