We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful :-)”
Review of Ardno House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardno House
Ranked #3 of 11 Ballachulish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here for one night as my Dad and I were doing a little road trip around Glencoe, Mallaig etc.

The accommodation is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are spotlessly clean & the beds are so comfy! The views onto the loch in the morning are particularly breathtaking.

The breakfast was delicious! We opted for the full breakfast & this was accompanied with a lovely pot of tea & coffee & toast.

Pat and Alan were wonderful & so helpful. Can't wait to book again :-) thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurabellglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was a gem; a real find! We loved the large bedroom with ensuite bath. Breakfast was great, made to order. Pat and Alan were wonderful hosts, always willing to offer advice on places to see and restaurants nearby. The views over the loch from our bedroom or the second floor sitting area were spectacular, especially the golden red sunsets over the mountains. A true oasis of rest after a day of sightseeing and hiking.

Room Tip: Book early as they fill up quickly and you want to get one of the rooms overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orleans_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Beautiful homely place to stay. Alan was the perfect host and knowledgeable about the area. The room was good with a great view over the loch and the shower was excellent. My wife loved the underfloor heating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A great place to unwind after a day of adventure around Glencoe

Pros:
• Located on a quiet neighborhood outside of Glencoe village
• Spacious room
• Great breakfast
• Lovely hosts -- thanks Pat & Alan!

Cons:
• As a trade-off for its quiet location, there are no shops & restaurants within walking distance -- but they’re all short drive away.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank BlueJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Recently had a one night stay at Ardno House. It has a quiet position overlooking the beautiful Loch Linnhe. Our family room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Alan was a friendly informative host with a detailed knowledge about local history, attractions and where to get a good meal. We had a wonderful breakfast, Alan even cooked a kipper especially for us just to try.
Have to mention the shower too, fantastic, best one on the trip!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Ardno House is a lovely home with very considerate and helpful hosts. Alan and Pat go out their way to welcome you and provide reliable information about wonderful day trips in the region. The house is beautiful with attractive landscaping, plenty of parking, and a great view of the loch. The rooms are large and attractive, the wifi works well, and the beds are very comfortable. The breakfasts are excellent!

On top of all that, the location is perfect for a variety of adventures. It is close to a major roads in the center of a region that includes Glen Coe, Rannoch Moor, Glen Etive, the Ardnamurchan Peninsula, Oban, Inverarary, Fort William, and much more, all within a "day trip" distance. And that's just a sampling. The closest grand adventures are in Glen Coe with its village of Glencoe and the great valley, falls, and massive peaks. That's only about a 15 minute drive away. This is truly a great location. Combined with the quality of the lodging and the hospitality of the hosts, Ardno House is an "Excellent" choice!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce and Lela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed for two nights on our holiday in western Scotland. The room was spacious and comfortable with a beautiful view over the loch. Breakfast was of a very high standard with plenty of choice. Alan and Pat are friendly hosts and we were grateful to Alan for his detailed knowledge of the area, giving us suggestions of places to eat, sights to see and local walks to do.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devizes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
1.1 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
3.4 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
683 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,250 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardno House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardno House

Address: Lettermore | near Glencoe, Ballachulish PH49 4JD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ballachulish
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardno House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ardno House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardno House Ballachulish, Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing