We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Come here to unwind”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 Stone Cottage

Stone Cottage 1 is the left hand section of the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stone Cottage 1 is the left hand section of the cottage
Halo branded sofa and furniture within the cottage. Living room with loch views to the front.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Stone Cottage 1 is the left hand section of the cottage
Halo branded sofa and furniture within the cottage.
Living room with loch views to the front.
Curl up on the sofa with a good book and enjoy the warmth from the log burning stove
Fully equipped kitchen.  Plenty of crockery, pans and cooking utensils
New worktops, oven, hob and sink installed December 2013
Kitchen with doors to living room and the outside patio area
Main bedroom with king size bed, with views across the loch to the front  and rear garden
Downstairs twin bedroom.  New window installed December 2013
Downstairs twin bedroom
Bathroom with electric shower and bath
Bathroom with electric shower
Entrance hall
Laundry room with washing machine and tumble dryer for guests to use
Garden at rear of property.  Deer can be seen on occasions eating the grass
Area at rear of cottage for parking cars
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballachulish, Glencoe, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Janet1953...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Come here to unwind”
Reviewed 6 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This lovely cottage ticks all the boxes for a tranquil getaway. It looks totally charming, has breathtaking views and is extremely well equipped and furnished.

We booked online and Sue, the owner, was prompt and helpful with answering queries, and the information online is comprehensive. Directions were foolproof and keys easily accessible. The cottage was spotless and welcoming, with the log burner laid ready to welcome us. The sitting room has a deep squashy sofa on which to loll and admire the views across Loch Leven, which is just a step across the road. Kitchen is well equipped, with good appliances, and there is access to a washer in the shared laundry room. The double bedroom is spacious with a comfy bed and good linen. Bathroom is very good, with a vast tub, separate shower and excellent water pressure. The twin room, which we did not use, is on the ground floor, and a good size. No wardrobe in there, but plenty of drawer space.

The central heating gives no trouble, and keeps the cottage cosy in all areas, so that the woodburner is an added attraction on dark evenings. WiFi signal is strong and easy to log onto. Phone signal, too, and plenty of sockets for the inevitable recharging. There is plenty of parking behind the cottage.

The cottage is situated at the end of the village, within easy walking distance of a lovely craft cafe, a pub that serves food and a village shop for essentials. A longer (just over an hour) but not troublesome walk takes you to the Clachaig Inn, where there is good food to be had and entertainment at the weekends. After a walk down for Sunday lunch, we booked a taxi to take us to the open mic session in the evening. £7 each way, friendly and prompt service even on a filthy winter’s night. We left cards in the cottage.

We come to Scotland in November for the welcome rather than the weather. We had the proverbial four seasons in one day, everything from snow flurries as we arrived through driving rain and mountain mist to clear blue skies. Take appropriate clothing and embrace the weather without which the majestic scenery of this area would not exist.

A typical day for us on this kind of holiday would comprise a picturesque but not overly strenuous walk in forest or glen, late hearty lunch at a pub, then home to the cottage delights of books, jigsaws and a box set. Those who want more action, or who come in summer, would not be disappointed as many tourist attractions are within easy reach, and there is a file with leaflets in the cottage. Because this is a world famous tourist area, pubs, hotels and cafes are open even in the winter. The welcome is very warm and the prices reasonable.

All in all, Stone Cottage is a delightful place for a Highland break. We thank Sue for letting such a high quality holiday home and would recommend it warmly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2017
Thank-you for your comprehensive review, and glad you had such an enjoyable stay. We are always striving to improve our cottages to ensure that we make guests stay as comfortable as possible, and glad that you did. Looking forward to welcoming you back again at a later date. Thanks again. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W
1 review
“Clean and comfortable with stunning views.”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stunning views and a very well presented and equipped cottage. Our only problem was with traffic noise, being close to the main road. Most of the time very quiet which meant that when traffic did pass, especially at night (albeit infrequent) it sounded quite loud.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Thank you for your comments. We are hopefully going to upgrade our windows this winter to help reduce sound from the road.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Glad you enjoyed your second stay at the cottage, hopefully you will be back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
I am glad you enjoyed the views - we love them - especially watching the mist rise over the loch!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chen X
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage at a picturesque location”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was a very comfortable stay. Two minutes drive to Glencoe and Ballachulish on either side, it is conveniently located to get all supplies and information. It has two good size bedrooms and a kitchen with quality appliances. Across road to a boat club, we enjoyed beautiful lake view everyday at sunset. Being at a location so close to the Glencoe Valley, it is a perfect base for some fantastic hiking. Sue provided comprehensive and helpful information well before our arrival date. It helped us plan ahead for our time in Glencoe. And the self check-in was just easy. Everything was in place when we arrived. Thank you so much Sue! We hope to return one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
I'm so pleased that you had a fantastic stay and thank-you for your positive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich41153
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay in the cottage was brilliant, it's very clean and in good order. The location is great for local walks and not far from the shop in Ballachulish. I would recommend staying here to my friends and I'm sure we will again the next time we have a break in Scotland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thank- you for your positive comments. The Co-op shop is Ballachulish isn't too far away and with its late night openings etc, many people have commented how handy it is.
I'm glad you found the cottage comfortable, and hopefully you will come back to stay in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eythorne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thank-you for the feedback, its always appreciated as it helps us to keep on improving the cottages.....Its a nice problem to have being too warm! - especially in Scotland. My only suggestion would be to turn the valves down on the actual radiators to help control the heat, but as I'm sure you can appreciate, its hard to get the temperature just right for everyone. We've just recently had a new boiler installed, so its more a case of us getting used to how much better it is at producing heat.
I'll mention to the cleaner re the hoover bags and ask her to ensure its changed.
Glad you had a good time, and hope you come back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing