We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Creag Mhor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Creag Mhor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 10 Ballachulish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights recently, and had a nice visit.
Check in is at 4. Don't arrive at 3:00 in the rain thinking you are getting in. Drive on up to the Glencoe Visitor center or to the grocery store in Ballachullish and kill an hour.
After the door is unlocked at 4, check-in is quick and pleasant. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. The bathrooms have been nicely refurbished, although (in room 6 at least) the water pressure was barely enough to rinse the shampoo out of ones hair. Views of the loch and mountains were lovely.
The Inn is on the main highway, so there is a bit of traffic noise in the loch-facing rooms during the day, but it wasn't a bother and was not noticeable at all at night. The room did get a little stuffy during the day, however, and opening a window wasn't really a solution as that would let midges in.
Breakfast is from 8-9, and has a decent selection of fruits, breads, pastries, as well as a hot breakfast available. The food is good as is the service.
The hotel does not serve evening meals, so be prepared. Fort William is about a 20 minute drive up the busy highway and has the most selections of restaurants. The Loch Leven Inn is about a mile further down the road and can be walked to (although along the busy highway). It has a decent restaurant and bar. There is a nice new grocery store in Ballachulish about 10 minutes away.
The downstairs lounge is cozy with an evening fire, and the desk clerk on duty will also tend the bar if you want a wee dram to further warm your bones.
It is not the most convenient place to stay, if you're like me and like to walk to and from your meals, but for the money and service, it is hard to fault.

Room Tip: Views from the loch-facing rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    89
    26
    4
    11
See reviews for
72
238
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for one night, 2 comfortable bedrooms (weak pillows though, very flat). Toiletries are very basic. Wonderful lounge with log fire, books, magazines, and very comfortable seating.
Had dinner at a fabulous seafood restaurant 10 minutes drive away, along the Loch.
Breakfast is good but most of it is not homemade, the pastries you can get in any supermarket.
What really makes a difference is the house itself, a beautiful old home very nicely restored, grandeur and quiet charm abound.
Staff is nice. Overall a pleasant stay, though lacking a "je ne sais quoi".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlantic333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stopped on the off chance of a room and they had a twin available. We really enjoyed our overnight stay. Room was excellent lovely views comfortable beds and a large clean bathroom. Breakfast was excellent. All the staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longnor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A reasonable hotel in a good location beside the main road north. No evening food available though so you will need to go out to eat or bring a picnic. Rooms nice and big with great bathrooms and showers. Would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get around the back away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipsandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

As with other reviews - nothing wrong with the place - but nothing special either - having stayed in the area many times we take the beautiful views as a given, it is one of the reasons you go there.
Do not arrive before 4pm and do not expect a lie in - breakfast is 8am-9am. This is not clear on the website and when you're on a break it is nice to have the option of a later breakfast.
Our room was clean enough but no valance on the bed, which, surprisingly for a 'superior' room was only a double with a pretty poor mattress.
Breakfast was fine but a clear message on the menu not to embarrass the staff by asking for anything that isn't on the menu - so you can have your eggs fried... or fried. Nicely prepped fresh fruit but pretty average prepacked continental items.
All staff and owners very friendly and helpful and if you're looking for a base to explore Glencoe / Fort William areas is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed last week and had a lovely night - Mrs Ironmonger (fabulous name) was courteous, helpful and made us feel very welcome. Nice room, good beds and delicious breakfast - much better than our subsequent £300+ per night hotel. We would most likely stay again. A lodge of character with open log fires. LOVELY

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARGEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a birthday surprise but have to say left surprised by the shoddy customer service! On arrival were greeted by an older lady who treated us like we were naughty schoolchildren (I hasten to add we are 33). Our room was clean and comfortable enough but when I returned to query the heating in the room the same woman who checked us in was dealing with another couple and I at the same time. I was made to feel that I was wasting time in querying the heating situation, recalling moments in school when a Teacher would rap you on the knuckles! Overall breakfast and room were nice (not outstanding), no one at reception desk on checkout, customer service abysmal!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzyt25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochside1234, Owner at Creag Mhor Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased that you felt your room was clean and comfortable. The main source of heating in the guest rooms is centrally controlled, however we respect that each guests has differing requirements. We therefore provide every room with it's own heater so that guests can top up the heating as required. Separately, we also provide blankets for each room as we appreciate that not all guests prefer heat generated through central heating/individual heaters.

I am sorry that you feel that your questions were wasting our time. We feel we spend a significant amount of time answering questions on all sorts of topics from places to eat, places of interest, appropriate travel routes, ferry information and so on, often resulting in us making dinner and ferry reservations etc.

I am unable to comment on why you would feel we had "rapped your knuckles", other than to say that we would only speak with a guest for the benefit of our other guests or owing to legislation that we adhere too in our line of business.

You have commented that no-one was at the desk on your departure for check out. We take this comment on board and are assessing our staffing numbers during the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
1.0 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,186 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
686 reviews
2.7 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.6 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creag Mhor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creag Mhor Lodge

Property: Creag Mhor Lodge
Address: Creag Mhor Lodge North Ballachulish, Ballachulish PH33 6RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Creag Mhor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Creag Mhor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creag Mhor Hotel Ballachulish
Creag Mhor Lodge Ballachulish, Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing