We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Craiglinnhe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballachulish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craiglinnhe House
Ranked #1 of 10 Ballachulish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here between Christmas and new year and had a fantastic time. The house has a lot of charm and the hosts Dave and Beverly are very knowledgable and welcoming. On the day of arrival we had dinner there and it was delicious as was the breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleonore3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    35
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
218
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Craiglinnhe is situated overlooking the water. We sat on the front patio having our afternoon cup of tea while taking in water and mountain views. David and Beverley showed us around and indicated places we might eat. Our room was quite small but had everything provided. Breakfast is served in a room overlooking the water - but tables are allocated so being first doesn’t ensure you get the best view. The cooked meal is prepared to order (placed the evening before). Fresh fruit and a variety of spreads are provided. We found the porridge too salty.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We found this to be a fabulous place to stay! The view from the house was fantastic - right across the very peaceful waters of the Loch. Our bedroom had many personal touches and the lounge (with views) was a comfortable place to relax. Dave and Bev went the extra mile to make sure our stay was top quality and advised us about the local highlights, including the easy walk directly outside the house along the waters' edge - very welcome to the less athletic! Breakfast was absolutely delicious, with home made extras available. I would definitely recommend Craiglinnhe House.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMcR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

The Craiglinnhe House is one of the best b&b's we have stayed. Beverly is an excellent and friendly host and her home is beautiful. We stayed in the twin room which was clean, the beds comfortable and quiet. The only drawback was the small ensuite but everything else made up for this one shortcoming. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Although it was raining for our stay the view was incredible.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MooseTrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had a very comfortable stay in this delightful house with the most lovely view of the Loch. Our hostess was engaging and helpful and the breakfast excellent! The surrounding area is very attractive and there is a large Visitors Centre at Glen Coe where one can walk a circular route. It's not as congested as many of the better known areas and therefore very relaxing but an easy hop to Loch Lomond.
Margie South Africa

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargieC29631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This place is in a great location, right opposite the loch with our room having fantastic views over the water. My friend and I, on a road trip with two others, had a large twin room which was roomy and comfortable, although the shower room was a little snug. Breakfast, chosen the night before, was freshly cooked with good quality ingredients and was delicious. There's a sitting room, with an honesty box for drinks. The accommodation was clean and well cared for and the lady of the house was, as another reviewer said, carefully attentive. There are books and DVDs for use by guests if desired. Ample off-road parking. A suggestion for an even better experience, I'd say that it would be great to be offered a cup of tea on arrival - as we have with most other b&bs on our trip. While the very thorough run through of several eateries was well intentioned, after a long journey and laden down with bags, a cuppa in the sitting room or just a chance to drop everything in our rooms before all the info sharing would have been better.

Room Tip: Can recommend a loch view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was the last stop on our tour of Scotland, but certainly wasn't the least. A bit of a drive from Fort William, this place was beautiful, in, out and about. Breakfast was very nice, and the host was incredibly helpful with planning our outings. She has a few guide books, and would happily photo copy anything we wished to take with us on our trek. The rooms were spacious, very clean, comfortable and decorated in artwork from the hosts own travels - which made for interesting conversation at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
4.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.9 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
1.3 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craiglinnhe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craiglinnhe House

Property: Craiglinnhe House
Address: Lettermore, Ballachulish PH49 4JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ballachulish
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglinnhe is a charming, late-Victorian villa, built in 1885 from local granite. The house sits in attractive gardens by the shore of Loch Linnhe surrounded by spectacular mountain scenery. Our Visit Scotland 4 star grading acknowledges our high standards of comfort and quality. The five bedrooms are furnished with taste and care and are equipped with TV/DVD, IPhone/iPad docking, hospitality tray and hairdryer. Situated 25 minutes drive from Fort William, 40 minutes drive to Oban and only minutes away from Glen Coe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Craiglinnhe House Ballachulish, Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing