We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Edenbank House

Edenbank House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edenbank House
Ranked #14 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We both have very mixed feelings about our stay at Edenbank. The welcome was great - arriving in a group of Austin Sevens on a long run up to Kelso. The building is in excellent condition and has a comfortable feeling of faded elegance. The location is out of town - completely silent and very dark at night - ideal for a great nights sleep. The bed was comfortable - so why the mixed feelings? And we can't put our finger on it. It maybe that it didn't live up to our expectations from other TripAdvisor reviews or the website - the breakfast certainly wasn't a "a bit of an event" as promised. There is a bit of clutter - teddies etc. which are not to our taste, neither is the 30's furniture but it is all in good condition and "balanced". Some of the reading material and room information is well out of date. But that doesn't explain our reticence to mark this as excellent. We would certainly encourage others to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Jail" - one of the rooms not advertised on the website. Huge room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Lovely stay over weekend with Christina, Belle & Denzil at Edenbank.

Well looked after and made so welcome.
Really glad bathroom had such a lovely big bath to soak the aching limbs after riding on Saturday.

A great trip. Booked up again for next year already.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I really don't know why people want to stay in big hotels when there are places to stay such as Edenbank in Kelso.
It's so quiet, set in acres of gardens and farmland, with no passing traffic, you'll need to take an alarm clock to wake you in the morning?
We were met by Christina who warmly greeted us and showed us to our room. When I say room, it's a suite..... An incredibly large room, beautifully furnished, fantastic views over the gardens and farmland and a well appointed en-suite with soft fluffy towels etc etc.
At breakfast I opted for the "Full Scottish" and I have to say it certainly beat the allegedly top hotels my company put me in when away on business. The coffee (I'm a coffee addict!) was freshly made to order, as was the toast. Christina makes her own marmalade which has a really zingy fresh citrus flavour.
Christina has furnished this house, or should I say home, with the most beautiful antique furniture and pictures. The house is truly magnificent and matched by the hospitality we received throughout our stay.
We felt sad to leave but certainly look forward to our next visit later this or early next year.

Room Tip: Speaking to other guests, one guy who appeared to be a regular, each room is that bit different and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We spent a long weekend here and couldn't recommend it more. Christina the owner was friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely choices for breakfast with freshly made coffee. The house is warm and comfortable, lovingly restored with period pieces and the rooms are all different and the bathrooms are huge! There is a lovely visitors lounge with TV, selection of DVDs, books and games. It is in a beautiful setting surrounded by sheep and farmland, so peaceful and a real get away location. The experience felt more like a hotel than a B&B. I am sure in the summer the gardens would certainly add to the ambience. You certainly won't regret making a booking to stay at Edenbank.

Room Tip: Some rooms are ensuite and some have large bathrooms along the hall. Just ask Christina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevada13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Nothing is toom much trouble. Superb breakfast and huge bedroom with all the necessary extras at hand to make it just like home. The few days I stayed at Edenbank were wet and humid but Christina was always at hand to dry clothes and just make you feel better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Thanks to Christina and little Belle for a wonderful weekend when down in Kelso for Scottish Endurance Riding Club event. Warm welcome and really made to feel at home for the two nights I was staying. Great to have a lovely comfy bed to come home to after a long day. Peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. Looking for an excuse to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

without a doubt,the best country house b&b I have ever stayed at.The house is fascinating & full of genuine character & charm, nothing twee,contrived or artificial.Owned and run by Christina,perfect host,welcoming ,helpful and a producer of superb traditional breakfasts!All the rooms are different,all are spacious, interesting and very comfortable.Ok,not all are en suite but going to the loo at night armed with the" wind up"torch could well become an olympic sport!My fishing friends and I reckon Edenbank House is as good as it gets (and it is very reasonably priced)

Room Tip: en suites are best,double en suite facig back of house is very comfortable but no shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salmoWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
0 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
385 reviews
0 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
162 reviews
0 mi away
Edenmouth Holiday Cottages
0 mi away
Black Swan Hotel
Black Swan Hotel
#15 of 16 in Kelso
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenbank House

Address: Kelso TD5 7SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Edenbank House Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing