We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivy Neuk

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivy Neuk
Ranked #11 of 19 Kelso B&B and Inns
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Had a brilliant stay at the ivy neuk, so clean and homely. Iain and Georgina were perfect hosts, and ensured that I could find my way around Kelso, they even took my bags up to ednam house for me whilst I was at a wedding- they couldn't be more helpful! The rooms are very clean and quiet, the wifi and television signals were great and the cooked breakfast was fantastic! I would strongly recommend the Ivy Neuk to anyone looking to stay in Kelso :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivyneuk, Manager at Ivy Neuk, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you Karen for taking the time to write a review. I hope you enjoyed the wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

A traveller is lucky to find a B and B like the Ivy Neuk. Georgina and Ian are lovely, kind people who are warm and welcoming. My second stay was as wonderful as the first. The breakfasts are delicious. The was room clean, cozy and well appointed. I wanted for nothing. No detail is overlooked. Plus, Ivy Neuk is located in the prettiest town in the Borders Region. I love being there.

Room Tip: I call the room on the top floor "my nest". It overlooks the beautiful back garden. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivyneuk, Owner at Ivy Neuk, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Jean - how can I thank you enough for your glowing review of Ivy Neuk? Ian & I try to be as friendly and helpful as possible without being too nosy! We really enjoyed your company, but were sorry that Jim, your husband had to stay at home to look after Lucy your doggie, who was poorly.
Hopefully, next time you visit Kelso we will be able to put you both up in "the nest" in the top room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here with my family at very short notice, many thanks for accommodating us in our hour of need. Lovely house with a superb breakfast, especially the home made bread etc. This comes highly recommended, thank you again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivyneuk, Owner at Ivy Neuk, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Ian & I were very happy that we were able to accommodate you and your family at such short notice! Although we don't have a family room, you all managed to squeeze into the Twin Room and have a decent night's sleep. It wasn't ideal, but the best we could do under the circumstances! Thank you very much for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosbrough, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Beautiful. A gorgeous breakfast featuring home made marmalade and bread Tremendous value. Room very comfortable. Our bikes were stored safely and this was a haven after an 80 mile bike ride. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivyneuk, Owner at Ivy Neuk, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Ivy Neuk. I hope by now the legs have recovered!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed in a single room at this B&B for 2 nights on Friday 24th and Saturday 25th May.
Not more than a couple of minutes walk from the main square in Kelso, it was well located. The room cost me £65.00 for the 2 nights and although comfortable and practical was fairly small and you had to share bathroom and toilet facilities. The deficiency was more than made up by Georgina and Ian's kindness and frequent attempts to make you feel welcome. They are a lovely couple, thoughtful, accommodating and eager to put you at ease.
The Bathroom facilities were excellent and you only had to share them with no more than 3 rooms.I quite liked the idea of having a dressing gown in order to wander down the corridor to the bathroom. Not many B&B'S would have one hung up behind the door!
Breakfast was served around a large communal table in a open conservatory style section of the house. Myself I found it quite pleasant eating my Porridge, followed by a full Scottish Breakfast to the sounds of Classic FM in the adjoining Kitchen. The Breakfast room looks out onto a enclosed garden area. I can see that a lot of thought and love has been put into it and it was nice to look out on to it. Breakfast was more than adequate. Good coffee, lots of toast and fresh home made preserves close at hand on a rotating platform.

There is no car parking next to the B&B, but a public carpark no more than 100 metres away.

Kelso is a lovely place to visit and if I stopped again, I would definitely consider Ivy Neuk.

I notice they have a website. www.ivyneuk.com

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivyneuk, Owner at Ivy Neuk, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you Derek for your review of your stay at Ivy Neuk. I am sorry that you found the room very small. It is only a single room, which is the one you requested when you made the enquiry. Despite its size, it is compact, with everything you need, plus a drop down desk which you can sit at to access your computer.

Yes, indeed the bathroom is shared but only with one other room - an en suite would not fit in! I got the feeling that you thought the price was not value for money. Ian & I think that £32.50pn is very reasonable for a B&B in the town centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stayed here for one night on 4th May in the Twin room with a Friend. We were cycling down from Edinburgh on our way to Newcastle. This was a nice welcome stop en-route, having spent a lovely day riding through the Scottish Hills. We recieved a warm welcome on our arrival from Georgina and Ian, who were brilliant hosts, very helpful and accomodating. The room was nicely decorated and spacious. They also had plenty of storage for our bikes. The Breakfast the following morning was also a delight, with everything on offer you could want for a energising day ahead. I would gladly return to stay again, (Although, I might not cycle 70 miles for the pleasure! Lol).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDunn80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivyneuk, Owner at Ivy Neuk, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble in writing your review for Ivy Neuk.

I seem to remember you being 4 hours behind schedule because of the tiring bike ride from Edinburgh! Ian & I always try to give cyclists an extra big warm welcome because they always arrive pretty well exhausted. Also we like to feed them up with a nourishing breakfast before continuing their journey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We spend a night in Ivy Neuk and wish we had booked it for one more night. The B&B was clean and very well organised, and the breakfast was lovely, with home made marmalade and fresh bread from the local bakery. We will visit this place again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivyneuk, Owner at Ivy Neuk, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Ian and I were glad that you spoke English as our Spanish wasn't up to much! Just for the record - the fresh bread was home made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#5 of 19 in Kelso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Guest House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Neuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Neuk

Property: Ivy Neuk
Address: 62 Horsemarket, Kelso TD5 7AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ivy Neuk is a Victorian house, situated a few hundred yards from the Town Square and 75 yards from the Tait Hall. As we are in the town the shops and restaurants are close by. Kelso is a perfect base for all activities and for exploring the Borders. We offer comfortable surroundings and a great breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Neuk Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing