We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas in The Borders”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hendersyde Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Christmas in The Borders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We had another lovely stay at West Cottage over Christmas. The cottage was immaculately clean and so comfortable. The cottage makes a fantastic base for walks around the surrounding farmland and the Scottish Borders.
Sue is a fantastic host and is welcoming and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at Hendersyde. We shall certainly be visiting again soon.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alanpartridge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
148 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent a lovely relaxing Christmas at Millsyde. This cottage is all that you could wish for - beautifully furnished and decorated with many extra special touches, including a Christmas tree - it felt like home as soon as we walked into the hallway. It is very well equipped with everything you could think of, especially in the kitchen, ideal for the serious chef. The beds were extremely comfortable, bathrooms modern and clean, everything was 1st class. The owner Sue, warmly welcomed us on arrival - lots of Christmas goodies (including rock buns with a festive touch). Very well situated to visit lots of places in the Borders, North Northumberland and the coast, although this visit was spent mostly in and around Kelso - with evenings spent in front of the cosy log burner.

We would certainly recommend this fantastic 5 star cottage to anyone looking for that "extra special touch".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Had a fabulous stay at Millsyde for New Year. The property is stunning, very spacious, furnished to a high standard and the best equipped self catering accommodation we have been too (and we have been to a few!) Sue has though of everything you could need, over and above what other properties provide. The extra goodies were very much appreciated including the homemade rock cakes! Lovely quiet location but close to Kelso for shopping, eating out etc. We can definitely recommend a stay in Millsyde and anyone staying there should definitely check out all drawers/cupboards etc as there really is everything you could need. Fantastic selection of board games in the cupboard in the livingroom, plentiful supply of tea lights, baking supplies etc. Hopefully we can return in better weather to get to explore outside and enjoy the scenery a bit more!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Friendly and relaxed environment and very helpful host. Spacious accommodation with good quality fittings, room to cook and spread out a bit, and I imagine in summer the garden would be a lovely place to relax. Sue really went the extra mile to look after us with helpful suggestions and practical assistance. Looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a very short stay here with deep regret that it wasn't longer. On a cold blistery afternoon when we arrived our greeting was warm, welcoming and the homemade mince pies went down a treat. An abundance of information on local attractions mixed with the offer to take the farm dog for a walk around the farm itself (which we unfortunately didn't have time to do) provided us plenty of options. Located only minutes from Kelso town by car or great walk in summer, the cottage has amazing views over the nearby fields. The cottage would be ideal for a romantic getaway but is also ideally set up for families.
HIGHLY recommend and hope that we ourselves can get back there.

Room Tip: There are three cottages available and although we didn't see the others we assume that they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playwithsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

The best holiday cottage we have stayed in by a country mile.

Spotlessly clean, beautifully appointed and furnished throughout.

My wife walked in the door and said this was her ideal home!!

I wholeheartedly agree.

You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had a fabulous half term week in this stunning property. The house is amazing, with lots of spaces to rest and play, beautifully and thoughtfully decorated. On arrival, I told my party that I had "found my forever home", it has everything you could wish for and more; we have never stayed in such a well equipped, homely house and we are devout self caterers!
There is lots to do in the area and on the door step, we had a lovely riverside walk from the house and watched deer, pheasants and birds of prey from the kitchen window. Sue and her family are really friendly and go the extra mile to make your stay relaxing and special. If you enjoy being outdoors but like 5 star accommodation, this is for you, complete with table tennis, boot room, secure bike storage and a warm home baked Borders welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
2.3 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
5.3 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
10.3 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
2.6 mi away
Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendersyde Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendersyde Farm Cottages

Property: Hendersyde Farm Cottages
Address: Kelso | The Scottish Borders., Kelso TD5 7QA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Kelso
Hotel Class:4 star — Hendersyde Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are always welcome at Hendersyde, our family farm, which lies between the River Tweed and Eden Water, downstream from the delightful market town of Kelso, in The Scottish Borders. If you are looking for a blissfully peaceful holiday cottage, surrounded by walks, wildlife & wonderful views, Hendersyde might just be the place for you! Millsyde is special! A single story, level entry, holiday home, tucked away above The Eden Water, the views look over gently rolling farmland to the nearby woods. Sleeps 6. East and West are traditional farm cottages looking over The Tweed Valley to The Cheviot Hills in Northumberland. Sleep 4. Fuel, linen, towels & Wi-Fi are included. There is a couple's discount on all bookings.Well behaved dogs are welcome in West. Book Direct through Hendersyde. If you have any queries I will be happy to help. Sue ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hendersyde Farm Cottages Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing