We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Joy of a Cottage.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hendersyde Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hendersyde Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Joy of a Cottage.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a beautifully appointed and situated cottage run by the friendliest and most helpful couple.

The fact that the cottage is in such a delightful area with easy access to the Borders Northumberland etc. makes it very difficult to leave this wonderfully comfortable property.

There is such a multitude of great walks, places of historical and natural interest and superb places to eat all within easy distance from Millsyde that we will not hesitate to return and to recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovingfoodScone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was our second stay at Millsyde as a family of six and what a superb find it is ! The accommodation is spacious and so comfortable. Every attention to details has been thought through. Rock buns on arrival, a wood burner for cold nights, luxurious bedding and mattress toppers, a kitchen so well equipped you are short of nothing - you will not want to leave. We are already looking forward to our next visit !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sd3599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Great place to stay, not just the area, the accommodation was superb. I have visited the borders since i was a child and i must say this is one of the best accommodations i have stayed in, if not THE best.Sue is very welcoming and the rock cakes are delicious. I visited with my husband and two sons,ages 20 and 16 and they enjoyed their stay as well and not forgetting the dog, he loved his holiday.Plenty of places to visit, my boys were not bored and the table tennis was an added bonus. You will not be disappointed, house beautiful and has everything you would need. Im sorry Sue, its taken this long to write a review but better late than never.Looking forward to our stay this year again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed in East Cottage over the New Year - just a short stay but perfect in every way, from the warm welcome by Sue, to the tea, cake and mince pies left out ready for us, to the lovely open fire (which got a lot of use!), large warm living room, comfy bedroom and excellent kitchen, pantry and bathroom.

Really cannot recommend this place enough - the location is great for Kelso and Coldstream (both worth a visit and with some great views, food and pubs - try Cobbles in Kelso for their own range of Tempest Brewing Co. beers.

The cottage is warm, spacious (it was bigger than we expected from the picture), immaculately kept and cleaned, well stocked, and ideal for one or two couples or a group of friends. Definitely worth a return visit to explore the area properly - but it's hard to drag yourself away from the cosy comfort!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vecvox77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We had another lovely stay at West Cottage over Christmas. The cottage was immaculately clean and so comfortable. The cottage makes a fantastic base for walks around the surrounding farmland and the Scottish Borders.
Sue is a fantastic host and is welcoming and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at Hendersyde. We shall certainly be visiting again soon.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alanpartridge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
148 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent a lovely relaxing Christmas at Millsyde. This cottage is all that you could wish for - beautifully furnished and decorated with many extra special touches, including a Christmas tree - it felt like home as soon as we walked into the hallway. It is very well equipped with everything you could think of, especially in the kitchen, ideal for the serious chef. The beds were extremely comfortable, bathrooms modern and clean, everything was 1st class. The owner Sue, warmly welcomed us on arrival - lots of Christmas goodies (including rock buns with a festive touch). Very well situated to visit lots of places in the Borders, North Northumberland and the coast, although this visit was spent mostly in and around Kelso - with evenings spent in front of the cosy log burner.

We would certainly recommend this fantastic 5 star cottage to anyone looking for that "extra special touch".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Had a fabulous stay at Millsyde for New Year. The property is stunning, very spacious, furnished to a high standard and the best equipped self catering accommodation we have been too (and we have been to a few!) Sue has though of everything you could need, over and above what other properties provide. The extra goodies were very much appreciated including the homemade rock cakes! Lovely quiet location but close to Kelso for shopping, eating out etc. We can definitely recommend a stay in Millsyde and anyone staying there should definitely check out all drawers/cupboards etc as there really is everything you could need. Fantastic selection of board games in the cupboard in the livingroom, plentiful supply of tea lights, baking supplies etc. Hopefully we can return in better weather to get to explore outside and enjoy the scenery a bit more!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
0.0 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
10.3 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
10.4 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
2.2 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendersyde Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendersyde Farm Cottages

Property: Hendersyde Farm Cottages
Address: Kelso | The Scottish Borders., Kelso TD5 7QA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Kelso
Hotel Class:4 star — Hendersyde Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hendersyde Farm Cottages Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing