We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Westsyde cottage. Sue and Malcolm August 2014.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hendersyde Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Westsyde cottage. Sue and Malcolm August 2014.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

A lovely welcome from Sue cottage fantastic could not ask for more like home from home.. With little extras that mean a lot. Eg rock cake and tea and coffee waiting ..plenty of walks with the dog and views superb. Fantastic beach at Bamburgh castle great for the dog and then on to sea houses for great fish and chips . Would recommend to anyone . Will go again ..

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Southsyde for a week in July and found a real home from home. The kitchen is very well equipped, the sitting room is very cosy and comfortable and the bedrooms very pleasant with extremely comfortable beds. We found a tea tray all laid out on arrival with homemade rock cakes and a welcome present of fresh farm eggs. We were lucky enough to have very good weather so made use of the small but adequate garden. Sue is a delightful and helpful hostess and the cottages very well placed for visiting the Borders and Northumberland coast. We were looking for somewhere to stay in the area and Hendersyde was recommended to me by a friend and I would whole heartedly endorse the recommendation. We hope to come back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a lovely warm welcome from Sue, who had laid the table with the best home-made "scones" - or as we learned later: "Rock Buns" - we ever had in Scotland. The cottage is indeed cosy, tidy and well equipped. The peaceful area invites for walks as well as visiting castles, houses, abbeys and more. We were so excited that we instantly decided to come again next year. Thank you so much, Sue!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Albrecht A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a glorious few days at this very well equipped and charming house next to the farm. We had the added bonus of seeing all the lambs. I had not been to Kelso before and it is a lovely town with lots of nice restaurants, interesting shops and the Abbey. Sue and her family were very welcoming and left rock buns as a treat. I would definitely recommend Hendersyde

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have stayed here a few times now, the location is just stunning, very well maintained, well equipped with all you could wish for, there is lots to do and places to see, it's that good we are going back next year. A big thank you to Sue for all her hard work in keeping the cottage so nice.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topgearone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a fantastic welcome from Sue who had 'set' the table for afternoon tea with home-made rock cakes - what a wonderful start to our Kelso experience.
All the rooms from bedrooms, bathrooms, sitting room, kitchen, were beautiful. Everything was clean, tidy and immaculately decorated.
My family and I would have not hesitation in recommend this to family or friends and in fact we are hoping to return some time in the future.
Thanks Sue for all your hard work in making everything so perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent a month in the Borders researching family history. The Hendersyde cottages were by far the best equipped and most comfortable self-catering accommodation we have used in several trips to Scotland from Australia. We would highly recommend this location and cottages to anyone visiting the area. Beautifully decorated and well-equipped cottage with magnificent views in a perfect environment - what more could you want?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
2.3 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
5.3 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
10.3 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
2.6 mi away
Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendersyde Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendersyde Farm Cottages

Property: Hendersyde Farm Cottages
Address: Kelso | The Scottish Borders., Kelso TD5 7QA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Kelso
Hotel Class:4 star — Hendersyde Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are always welcome at Hendersyde, our family farm, which lies between the River Tweed and Eden Water, downstream from the delightful market town of Kelso, in The Scottish Borders. If you are looking for a blissfully peaceful holiday cottage, surrounded by walks, wildlife & wonderful views, Hendersyde might just be the place for you! Millsyde is special! A single story, level entry, holiday home, tucked away above The Eden Water, the views look over gently rolling farmland to the nearby woods. Sleeps 6. East and West are traditional farm cottages looking over The Tweed Valley to The Cheviot Hills in Northumberland. Sleep 4. Fuel, linen, towels & Wi-Fi are included. There is a couple's discount on all bookings.Well behaved dogs are welcome in West. Book Direct through Hendersyde. If you have any queries I will be happy to help. Sue ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hendersyde Farm Cottages Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing