We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished We Could Have Stayed a Week!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our family group of 3 stayed for one night last week. I have to say that over the years I have stayed in several B&B's in the UK and so I have a reasonably good barometer for rating them. How this lovely spot shows up rated as the 16th of 19 B&B's in Kelso is incomprehensible to me. I just cannot imagine a better B&B experience than what we had with Christine and Willie Redpath at Copper Tree. This is a true B&B with just 2 rooms available for guests unlike some of the larger multi-room facilities which are closer to small hotels. My comments below echo the 12 other sparkling reviews for Copper Tree.

Location - short drive/medium walk to center of town. The impeccably manicured backyard has a great view over the Tweed and over the town of Kelso. Kelso itself seems to be a good central location for exploration of the borders with several good dining/pub options.

Rooms/facility - Terrific. Rooms (double and twin) were spotlessly clean and felt brand new. Extremely comfortable beds. This was the best night's sleep of my trip. The double room had a large, new ensuite bathroom. The twin room had a large, recently remodeled bathroom just a step outside the door. There was a large family room and breakfast area in the house that guests can use as they please. The Redpaths are very meticulous about all of the details of their guests stay and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Wireless internet was also available.

Hosts - Christine and Willie were just wonderful. All of our party felt as if we were staying in our own home - it was that comfortable. We really enjoyed talking with them and learning more about Scotland. We didn't want to leave!

Breakfast - Excellent traditional Scottish breakfast complete with homemade strawberry and rasberry jams from Willie's garden.

Overall a great experience and a trip highlight for us. As for the Scottish borders, the area was somewhat of a revelation. Very few tourists, idyllic small towns, great abbeys and beautiful countryside. Definitely worth a follow-up trip for me!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurotripper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Walking St Cuthbert's Way we stayed one night with the Redpath's. The house was easy to find and immaculate, with beautiful views over the historic town of Kelsoe. Christine greeted us warmly and immediately made us feel at home bringing tea and cakes. They recommended a superb place to eat in the town, a short walk away, and gave us the benefit of their local knowledge. Blissfully comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, spacious accommodation with everything we needed and blisteringly fast Wifi. A superb breakfast prepared us for the next long day's walk. They had offered to pick us up and return us to Morebattle to continue our walk however we caught a bus at the end of their road only to discover when we got to Morebattle, 8 miles away, that we had left our walking sticks behind at Copper Tree. Rather sheepishly we 'phoned the Redpaths, who, without hesitation, drove them out to us. As we were facing an arduous 12 mile walk involving steep climbs and moorland that day we were hugely grateful. Nothing was too much trouble and we highly recommend this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Arrived soaking wet from a cycle trip and greeted with help to dry things and a pot of tea - perfect. Immaculate rooms and proper Scottish breakfast. Beautiful view from the rear of the house and easy access to Kelso. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cessaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Staying at Copper tree for the last two years is like staying with good friends, you are made to feel so welcome.
The rooms, facilities and food are first rate especially Christines home made jam and marmalade.
we booked up straight away for next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vaughan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed one night, just myself - after completing a section of the St Cuthbert Way. Made to feel very welcome and at home. The house was immaculate. The view from the back garden overlooking Kelso is one of the best views from a B&B in Scotland. A hearty cooked breakfast was enjoyed before setting of to catch my bus back to Edinburgh.

Douglas Black

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a really great weekend here. After a very long journey it was great to be greeted with a nice cup of tea and biscuits. Our room was warm,clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was very nice with a good variety on offer. The hosts could not do enough for you, nothing was too much trouble, they let us treat their home as ours. The views were very pretty there are some nice restaurants and pubs close by just a 10 mins walk into the town. We would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Just a short stay over night but lovely room, beautiful views over Kelso and very, very friendly and charming hosts. It is really close to the Kelso Showground which was very useful for me as I was at an event there.The stay really rounded off a great day will happily stay there again if I am through in future for some events.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveyP1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
2.6 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
0.5 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 16 in Kelso
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Duncan House
Duncan House
#5 of 16 in Kelso
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#4 of 16 in Kelso
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pemberley Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 Springwood Bank, Kelso TD5 8BA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range: £80 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your day with a traditional Scottish Breakfast of your choice, set in our well situated breakfast room with a selection of home made preserves.While you enjoy breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere where you will find the view breathtaking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Tree Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing