We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 19 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“quality time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

stayed here for one night on 18th july.very nice bb lovely comfortable room. views from christines livingroom amazing. beautiful gardens very friendly host. most welcome tea and cake when we arrived. breakfast very good .its good being able to choose what you want as most of the time at bbs i dont like the things that are on the plate so its a waste.only one thing i would say and this is by no way a critisim just personal choice having tea/coffee facilities in the room.i understand the reason for them not being there.would highly recommend and will definately return

Room Tip: double ensuite overlooking back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tequilas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
22
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Christine cannot do enough for you, she really looks after you. Our room was pristine with what looked like a brand new en-suite. Bed was very comfy, and there was a lovely view across Willie's stunning garden to Kelso, Floors Castle & the Scottish borders countryside beyond. Christine will happily make you a cafetiere of coffee, or pot of tea & biscuits in the lounge at the drop of a hat, nothing is too much to ask. Willie kindly let us store our Motorbikes in his garage during our stay. Christine made a lovely cooked vegetarian breakfast in her sunny breakfast room, with her homemade jam & marmalade on hand. Also yoghurt, cereals etc, if that’s what you would prefer. I have no doubt that she does a great breakfast for meat eaters, as she is a proficient cook.
It is up the hill from Kelso (hence the wonderful views), so if you want to walk, it may not be for the infirm, although I doubt you would have any issues parking in Kelso.
Or you could walk down, and get a taxi up- which is approx £4. I can't recommend this B&B enough & have given cards out to all my friends planning on travelling near Kelso. Thanks for making our stay so memorable. We will be back :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arramattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Beautiful and very friendly B&B. We will definitely stay again! We had a wonderful weekend stay while attending an event at Kelso Showground. Christine was very welcoming and helpful. Everything was spotlessly clean. It was like home from home with the addition of being cooked for. And what wonderful breakfasts! The B&B is in a lovely quiet street and the views of Kelso below across the immaculate garden were amazing. If you are driving, it's easy to find and there is plenty of parking space. There's lots to do and see in the area and Kelso is a lovely town to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Larissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our family group of 3 stayed for one night last week. I have to say that over the years I have stayed in several B&B's in the UK and so I have a reasonably good barometer for rating them. How this lovely spot shows up rated as the 16th of 19 B&B's in Kelso is incomprehensible to me. I just cannot imagine a better B&B experience than what we had with Christine and Willie Redpath at Copper Tree. This is a true B&B with just 2 rooms available for guests unlike some of the larger multi-room facilities which are closer to small hotels. My comments below echo the 12 other sparkling reviews for Copper Tree.

Location - short drive/medium walk to center of town. The impeccably manicured backyard has a great view over the Tweed and over the town of Kelso. Kelso itself seems to be a good central location for exploration of the borders with several good dining/pub options.

Rooms/facility - Terrific. Rooms (double and twin) were spotlessly clean and felt brand new. Extremely comfortable beds. This was the best night's sleep of my trip. The double room had a large, new ensuite bathroom. The twin room had a large, recently remodeled bathroom just a step outside the door. There was a large family room and breakfast area in the house that guests can use as they please. The Redpaths are very meticulous about all of the details of their guests stay and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Wireless internet was also available.

Hosts - Christine and Willie were just wonderful. All of our party felt as if we were staying in our own home - it was that comfortable. We really enjoyed talking with them and learning more about Scotland. We didn't want to leave!

Breakfast - Excellent traditional Scottish breakfast complete with homemade strawberry and rasberry jams from Willie's garden.

Overall a great experience and a trip highlight for us. As for the Scottish borders, the area was somewhat of a revelation. Very few tourists, idyllic small towns, great abbeys and beautiful countryside. Definitely worth a follow-up trip for me!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurotripper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Walking St Cuthbert's Way we stayed one night with the Redpath's. The house was easy to find and immaculate, with beautiful views over the historic town of Kelsoe. Christine greeted us warmly and immediately made us feel at home bringing tea and cakes. They recommended a superb place to eat in the town, a short walk away, and gave us the benefit of their local knowledge. Blissfully comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, spacious accommodation with everything we needed and blisteringly fast Wifi. A superb breakfast prepared us for the next long day's walk. They had offered to pick us up and return us to Morebattle to continue our walk however we caught a bus at the end of their road only to discover when we got to Morebattle, 8 miles away, that we had left our walking sticks behind at Copper Tree. Rather sheepishly we 'phoned the Redpaths, who, without hesitation, drove them out to us. As we were facing an arduous 12 mile walk involving steep climbs and moorland that day we were hugely grateful. Nothing was too much trouble and we highly recommend this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Arrived soaking wet from a cycle trip and greeted with help to dry things and a pot of tea - perfect. Immaculate rooms and proper Scottish breakfast. Beautiful view from the rear of the house and easy access to Kelso. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cessaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Staying at Copper tree for the last two years is like staying with good friends, you are made to feel so welcome.
The rooms, facilities and food are first rate especially Christines home made jam and marmalade.
we booked up straight away for next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vaughan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.5 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
0.5 mi away
Duncan House
Duncan House
#3 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#5 of 19 in Kelso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast

Property: Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Springwood Bank, Kelso TD5 8BA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your day with a traditional Scottish Breakfast of your choice, set in our well situated breakfast room with a selection of home made preserves.While you enjoy breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere where you will find the view breathtaking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copper Tree Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Tree Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing