We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor pro shop”

Roxburghe Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in over 200 acres of beautiful surroundings on a resort estate, this championship standard course offers a mix of mature woodland and rolling parkland, flanked by the River Teviot.
scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“poor pro shop”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

4 of us traveled down here a few weeks ago for the weekend to play and got a less than enthusiastic reception from the staff in the pro shop in fact bordering on rude ( not sure if it was because we were using Bunkered Vouchers ).

3 of us had Bunkered vouchers with one having to pay, £80 pounds No Please and No Thank you just a statesmen of "£80".

No offer of a course guide or range balls in fact we weren't even to that a range existed then relieved of £30 for an old petrol buggy.

You can play at Gleneagles just now for the same money and you get free range balls a course guide and a commemorative ball marker not to mention a cheery word and a smile.

Poor and wont be back.

The reception the following day at Cardrona was Superb the guys at The Roxburghe could take customer service lessons from the young lady at Cardrona.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Days Golf”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Returned last night from a days golf at The Roxburghe and was so impressed I felt I just had to come on here and tell everyone. I see all the other reviews are also good which I am not at all surprised about. Shame the last reviewer had a poor experience in the shop as we certainly did not receive poor service in fact the opposite was true.I played with 3 friends who were also all very impressed, we are all single figure handicaps and the course provided a true test of golf.

We played using the Bunkered vouchers. The Roxburghe was very hard to get availability to play on as this was our 3rd attempt at trying, the vouchers are very popular which is not surprising!

We arrived to a warm and friendly welcome from the Pro who asked us to fill out a registration form. We did this in the cosy bar next door where we enjoyed a very tasty bacon roll setting us up for our round.

The golf course again was a pleasure to play with lush fairways and the greens were a joy to putt on. They were very quick and undulating so please practice your putting before visiting! Most holes were memorable with my personal favourites the 4th, 7th, 10th, 14th and a great finishing hole. The bunkers were also very large and challenging unfortunately my ball appeared to find every single on of them!

I notice the Roxburghe is not participating in the Bunkered offer next year which is a real shame.
Despite this we will definitely be back next year with wallet in hand! Well done to all at The Roxburghe!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GolferLBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must have caught the Pro Shop Staff on an off day”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Can't disagree with the previous reviews of the course. Fantastic location, condition was magnificent, a pleasure to play and a real challenge to our fourball who ranged from 8-18 handicaps. We met the greens staff on various holes as they were performing stimp meter readings of the greens and even with utilising their local knowledge still had a good laugh as our attempts to conquer/manage the greens failed miserably (they were running at over 10) Our fourball was taking advantage of the "Bunkered" vouchers and from trying to book the tee time through the Pro Shop (we were told there was only one tee time available on this day, only too find we were one of only three parties on the course that afternoon??? ) to the reception (or lack of) we received upon arrival at the shop was ill mannered and postively rude and gave the impression they simply did not want our custom nor for us to be on the course. An example being that we stated we were going to the driving range to warm up, which is a good bit away from the clubhouse, only to discover upon arrival that you needed a token for the ball machine, a return trip to pick up a token would have left us inadequate time to warm up prior to our tee time, so we teed off cold, could you not have informed us before we left the shop? We are all pretty seasoned golf travellers playing many courses each year and not a group to let this spoil either a round of golf or a day out, however it did leave a bad impression and cost both the Pro Shop and the Restaurant revenue in that we usually buy souvenir polo tops with the course logo's etc to mark the day and round the day off with dinner before returning home, for obvious reasons this did not happen. As stated in the title of the review, maybe we did catch the Pro Shop staff on a bad day as previous reviews seem very positive and complimentary, however, come on guys, you are the first point of contact for your customers and the customer face of a simply magnificent course and no matter how bad a day you may be having, the bad manners and rudeness are simply not acceptable. Our party all agreed we will return to the Roxburghe as the course merits another round, i hope there is not a repeat of this lack of customer service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WRCEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Thank you Bunkered Magazine”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

The Roxburghe was the course that we were most looking forward to playing via the Bunkered promotion that we had signed up to last year. We weren't disappointed.

From the reception at the pro shop through the friendliness of the bar man / waiter on to the sheer class of the course and the natural beauty of the surrounding area, we were completely blown away.

A lovely mid September autumnal day was the icing on the cake!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank david8242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The course was in absolutely first class condition, fairways and greens were perfect. Every hole a challenge and great variety which makes for a very interesting and enjoyable round. The iconic viaduct par 5, 14th hole is stunning, but by no means the only such hole on the course. Pro shop was good with helpful staff, bar staff friendly too, didn't sample food but what I saw being served looked great. Definitely on of the best courses in Scotland. A must play.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roxburghe Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Roxburghe Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing