We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Touch of Class”
Millsyde, tucked away in a blissfully peaceful corner of our family farm.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Millsyde, tucked away in a blissfully peaceful corner of our family farm.
Relax on the terrace Millsyde - a warm, welcoming contemporary home - level entry from the terrace into the hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Millsyde, tucked away in a blissfully peaceful corner of our family farm.
Relax on the terrace
Millsyde - a warm, welcoming contemporary home - level entry from the terrace into the hall
Millsyde - the light bright sitting room - with wood burner and central heating.
Millsyde - room to dine in the kitchen
Millsyde - lots of sociable space in the sitting/dining/cooking kitchen!
Millsyde - the spacious, sociable kitchen!
Millsyde - One of the two double / twin bed rooms, looking toward the Eden Water
Millsyde - The family bath room, with a large double ended bath and a soaker of a shower!
Millsyde - The second twin/double bed room - again looks over the fields to the Eden Water
The master bed room has a king-size bed and an ensuite shower room
Master bed room ensuite shower room
Wonderful walks across the farm, between the woods and by the waterside!
Salmon fishing on the world famous River Tweed - two fields from the cottages
The traditional farm cottages, East and West, sleep 4, look over The River Tweed to Northumberland
See for miles over The Tweed Valley.
Wildlife on the doorstep!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kelso, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
475gracek
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Touch of Class”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Millsyde is the best cottage we have ever rented.It is very spacious and flows beautifully from one room to the next. The kitchen is a dream. It is well stocked with quality crockery, cutlery, utensils, glassware and every conceivable item you need for cooking. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated with good beds and spotless linen and good showers. The lounge is very cosy in the evenings , just like home! The cottage is situated in the country and is only is two miles from Kelso, a thriving market town. Our host Sue was amazing, and greeted us with home made rock cakes , a bottle of wine as well as a few basics to start our holiday , not that we needed them as the larder and cupboards were filled to the brim. For a peaceful and a very comfortable holiday I recommend Millsyde.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olivia b
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The perfect holiday home”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Millsyde is a fabulous holiday home. It oozes quality and comfort, from the luxurious duvets and pillows in the well-furnished bedrooms to the very well equipped kitchen and pantry filled with items in case you have forgotten essentials. when we arrived the table was set with teapot, crockery and delicious rock buns, with wine, milk, strawberries, orange juice and eggs waiting to be enjoyed.
Sue Beck, the owner, has created a wonderfully, welcoming home, suitable for all age groups. It is an oasis of calmness surrounded by a well manicured lawn, fields and interesting walks. There is an excellent variety of books and board games, while outdoor games included croquet which was great fun.
We all loved the terrace with honeysuckles clambering up the posts and birds twittering round the feeders. My little grand-daughter spent many a happy hour going round and round the table on her scooter while we enjoyed the sunshine.
Would I return? In a heartbeat.
Would I recommend it? Without a doubt.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanncaro...
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a stunning place!”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is the most stunning holiday home in a beautiful location, and affords the warmest welcome ever. The holiday home is beautifully laid out, modern and spacious. It is extremely well equipped, with everything you could possibily want or need for a stay, and some. It is spotlessly clean, everything is of a very high quality, and the layout means there is plenty of room yet it remains homely. We loved the large open plan kitchen area, the beautiful lounge and the light airy spacious bedrooms. The large utility room, and boot room are an extra bonus. Outside is a large fenced garden, with lovely seating areas and amazing views. It feels like you are a world away from everything, yet you are actually only a few short miles from a wealth of useful amenities such as shops, cafes etc, and for those like us who opted not to cook on the first night, takeaways! Sue is the perfect hostess, who went the extra mile to ensure everything was perfect for our visit. She had the kettle on for our arrival, home baking ready, and milk, orange, wine and strawberries in the fridge - such a thoughful and much appreciated touch. She even managed to arrange for the sun to shine for our whole stay - thanks Sue. There are a wealth of things to do in the area, and Sue has a drawer full of leaflets if you need inspiration during your stay. There are some beautiful walks surrounding the house itself, and Sue provides a great map showing these. This is truly a wonderful place to visit, for short or long stays. We cannot wait to return.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorothyti...
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb cottage, highly recommended”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Excellent service from Sue Beck, what a wonderful lady who has made a luxurious home from home. We wanted for nothing, the cottage welcome was a nice touch Sue had the kettle on ready for our arrival, she had left us some milk, fresh orange, an assortment of fruit, eggs and wine. The extensive pantry was stocked in case we had forgotten the essentials.
The cottage was extremely well laid out all on one level and the kitchen/dining/seating area all in one was an ideal place to sit and chat. The lounge was lovely very cosy and the log burner was a great treat (although I'm sure we really didn't need it on). Bedrooms were lovely the bed, pillows and luxurious duvets enveloped you in comfort.
Location was ideal 5 minutes by car to the centre of Kelso or a 25 minute walk. Ideal location for exploring the Borders or Northumberland. We had trip to Edinburgh, Kelso, Jedburgh, Melrose, William Wallace Monument, Scott's view and Coldstream.

Lovely place ideal for peace and quiet watching the wildlife we saw a woodpecker every day feeding on the terrace plus a deer in the field next to the cottage and buzzards plus a hare.

I would thoroughly recommend a visit and we will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen/sitting area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankengl...
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must whether you like cottages or not”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from another wonderful week's stay at Millsyde Cottage in Kelso, which we enjoyed enormously. Part of the Hendersyde Farm organisation, you have to stay here to appreciate the excellence of appointment and amenity that the owners, Sue and Henry Beck, have created.
Luxurious and comfortable in the extreme, Millsyde gives the individual, couple, family, everything they could possibly need for a memorable holiday stay. Nothing is too much trouble for Sue to provide, to make the stay as comfortable as possible. The 'extra mile' is always part of her armoury, making you realise what she does, in her aim to give the best and most restful holiday, is second to none. The cottage is set amidst the peace and tranquility of fantastic Scottish countryside, and yet is only a good five minutes from a major supermarket and a delightful small town.
We have spent many years holidaying in the best Scottish Cottages have had to offer, but nowhere has ever come close to Millsyde. We will definitely be back later in the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package; from booking to arrival to its end.
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't enjoy about our stay at Millsyde.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca40...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from home, special weekend with family and friends!”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Just back from a special weekend at Millsyde -

The pictures on here and the website do not do this place justice; we were blown away by everything.

It’s like a home from home, we didn’t want to leave the cottage the whole weekend. The cleanliness is outstanding, and there is a wide variety of amenities in the kitchen and around the cottage that make it that extra bit special.

A warm welcome from Sue was very kind and the rockcakes and afternoon tea went down a treat.

We were impressed that you could bring dogs (well behaved of course), our border terrier had an absolute ball and the heated flooring in the utility room was great for him, he even was welcomed with doggy treats!

We were also impressed by Sue’s kindness in letting us stay after check-out until twelve o’clock which was an added bonus.

Highly recommend Millsyde, we can’t thank Sue enough for her hospitality and she should be proud of herself for creating such a magical holiday home.

We already can’t wait to return and have recommended it to friends, family and work colleagues. Go! You won’t be disappointed!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefftort...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect place as a base to explore the beautiful borders region”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Millsyde is a gorgeous, comfortable place to stay with loads of space, everything you can need and great for a family group! The welcome we received form Sue both personal and treat-wise started the week of perfectly and the wealth of nature on the farm and in the surrounding area were really enjoyable on our daily walks!

The surrounding area was full of fun places to go to and for anyone who loves food - there are some fabulous local producers to seek out. Visiting Cragside, Lindisfarne and Berwick are a must... but just wandering the local paths on a lazy day is fun too. Mainstreet Books in St Boswell's is really lovely as is their new Deli!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Like a home away from home but better!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing