We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Perfect holiday cottage”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Cockle Kitty - a sun trap!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cockle Kitty - a sun trap!
Relax and enjoy the wonderful view! Cockle Kitty - a ground level cottage perfect for two or four.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
16 reviews
Front of Cockle Kitty - a sun trap!
Relax and enjoy the wonderful view!
Cockle Kitty - a ground level cottage perfect for two or four.
Dining area beside the hemmel arch window
Cockle Kitty
South facing bedroom adjacent to the bathroom.
Sun flowers growing beside the cottage
A tennis court with a view. Coaching available.
A beautiful avenue of beech trees near the cottages.
A misty morning
sunflowers beside Cockle Kitty.
Enjoy the view!
Cockle Kitty sun trap perfect for BBQ!
We all enjoy the River Eden! So pretty.
Cockle Kitty Cottage  - perfect for 2 or 4
King size bed
King size bed
Log burner
Comfortable dining area by the french window
Sunny kitchen with door out to the patio with sun loungers
A perfect location for touring Northumberland and Scottish borders
Warm bedroom
Twin bed room
Bathroom with shower above bath
The River Eden meanders through our organic farm.
Plums from Plum Braes Barn  organic orchard
River walks all around the Scottish Borders
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kelso, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rockchic9...
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Just spent a few days here 5-8 July 2013. absolutely perfect. Location, very secluded and peaceful, the cottage is just outside Kelso which I a lovely market town.
The cottage itself has everything you would need, two bedrooms, one bathroom and a fabulous lounge with wood burner, we didn't need this as the weather was fantastic when we stayed, and a fully equipped kitchen. Outside is a table and chairs, and two sun loungers, the view is spectacular.
The owners Maggie and Archie who we met a few times over our stay couldn't be more friendly or helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
We would definitely return to this place and highly recommend to anyone wishing to stay in the borders. we also visited Floors Castle and the town of Melrose, and spent a day at the seaside town of Berwick upon Tweed. All worth a visit.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and views
Liked least: the beds were a little hard
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Cottage run by exceptional people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We arrived fairly late due to school pick ups of the children we took, but the cottage was very welcoming with a nice bottle of red wine, lovely biscuits and a heartwarming message from the owners Archie & Maggie!
The cottage is well proportioned and well stocked with all household necessities...fresh towels too! Even the kitchen cupboards contained stock items, tea, coffee, olive oil, salt, sugar etc,etc! The south facing decking area has a commanding view over a quiet, verdant valley with loungers and a barbeque....which lamentably did not get used due to the surprisingly bad weather in Scotland!! ;-)
My wife and I were worried that the kids would be bored but they enjoyed messing around in the spacious rooms and watching Sky TV! We had a nice trip into the lovely little town of Kelso in between showers and just had to take refuge in The Cobbles Inn just off the town square......what a little gem of a place....typical log fire burning bar, filled with chatty locals and a well stocked bar with local brewery beer specials......one of which was 10%!!!! I tried to test it but the wife gave me the evil and I settled for a 6% tasty porter!! Would definitely go back to that pub!!
The Sunday morning greeted us with low cloud/fog such that we could not see the other side of the valley!! Again we tried to think of something we could do, when the lovely Archie came to chat to us....what a lovely fella, very warm and genuine. I asked him if the kids could go down to the farm and have a look at the animals, he said they would be more than welcome.

I took the girls down and they petted the horses in the field when Maggie came out to chat and she said to go into the chicken coup and take any eggs we could find. Just at that Kenzie her young helper came down to harness the horses and asked if the girls would like to help groom the horses? I was delighted as were the girls. Kenzie was apparently very chatty and nice to them and they really enjoyed a good couple of hours helping her. When my wife and I went to collect them, out came Maggie to chat .......what a genuinely lovely warm person this lady is! It was like talking to a long lost friend. Maggie kindly asked if we would like to take a look around her lovely gardens which were very nice.....they are very lucky to have what appears to be an idyllic lifestyle.
After another lovely hour had passed we collected the girls and promised to write a review for Maggie......if any family deserve a good one it these lovely people! However, it puts us on the horns of a dilemma........if we put out a great review, we may never get booked again!!!
Well done Maggie, Archie and Kenzie you made a grey weekend into a lovely, memorable stay!

We will definitely be going back!

Peter,Denise, Olivia and her BFF Emily xxxx

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location, the very warm, friendly owners and relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Glasgow, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Ideal location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
knoydartc...
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabby!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I booked this cottage a wee bit last minute and I found the owners to be so helpful and charming.
We were looking for a cottage with no stairs as my daughter has mobility issues and this was just perfect.
My only comment would be that there was no washing machine, but that is by no way a critism mearly an observation.
It has a lovely wood burning stove which we had on every night, not that the house needed any additional warmth but just because it was crying out to be lit!!
The surrounding countryside is very pretty and Kelso is such a beautiful wee village/town and it has a great positioning for day trips here and there.

I would recommend this to anyone who has wee children or couples who are looking for a chill out break.

Many thanks also to Maggie for returning my sons wee cars which he so carefully hid under his pillow!

Thanks so much for a great stay x

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: The fact we did not have longer to stay!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing