We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This apartment is a hidden gem!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Pickle House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Pickle House
Dining Room/Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The Old Pickle House
Dining Room/Sitting Room
Kitchen
Downstairs Shower Room
Bedroom 1
Bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3 with Adult Size Bunk Beds
Roof Terrace
Roof Terrace  Fantastic Views over Kelso
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kelso, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Audrey C
Kilmun, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“This apartment is a hidden gem!”
Reviewed 3 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Myself and two friends stayed at The Old Pickle House for a weekend and to say the apartment has everything you need is an understatement, every item you have in your home is here, the owners even supply ice for you to get your holiday started!
The apartment is spotlessly clean and they also provide bed linen and towels. Another highlight of the apartment is the central location, its within walking distance of Floors Castle and there are a number of very good restaurants and pubs on your doorstep.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation in great location”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Comfortable and cozy spacious flat with lovely bedding and lots of good quality towels. Kitchen well equipped with everything required.
Great central location and quiet at night which is great.....cannot wait to return to Kelso which is a friendly and good shopping town and would definitely book The Old Pickle House. Cobblers best Sunday lunch ever.....not to be missed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnydays...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have just had the a lovely weekend at The Old Pickle House. Fabulous accommodation, spotlessly clean and very home from home. Facilities great, had everything you could need. We went with friends and my daughter and we all loved it. It was that good we booked while we were there to return in May. The Wagoon restaurant was excellent and worth a visit. Also the Kelso Tandoori for take away. Thank you for a lovely stay. Cannot wait to return in May again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria L
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a great stay at the Old Pickle House and found it exactly as described. It is central in Kelso so you can access shops and pubs, plus Floors castle on foot. Despite the central location, it is on a side street so no traffic noise. We found it really well equipped and well decorated. As a party of 8, we did make use of the pull down bed in the sitting room, and those who slept there commented that it was really comfortable. The only very minor points were poor water pressure in the down stairs shower room, and a slightly odd issue with the fridge - if anything is put on the bottom glass shelf, then the salad drawers become completely inoperable - you just cant open them! I should say these two fairly minor points did not spoil what was a very pleasant stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
Maria,
Thankyou so much for your review. Glad you had a great stay.
The points you raised will be looked into for future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james m
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I wanted to stay longer...”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I recently visited The Old Pickle House with a group of friends. I was delighted with the property's central location: a few steps from the town's beautiful square and a stone's throw from pubs, shops, restaurants and the historic Kelso Abbey.
The property itself is spacious, spotlessly clean, well-equipped and beautifully decorated. Its style is a great balance of traditional, tasteful and quirky. I especially loved the dining area with its "booth style" seating. I had a wonderful time and I hope to visit again very soon.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suziealf
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great weekend”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed the last weekend in September - the accommodation was to a high standard there were lovely wee touches Fresh Flowers on the table and candles throughout the house There were 3 couples and we had plenty of space within the flat. We loved having the large dining table to have breakfast together and Sunday dinner
The house is just off the main square but is quiet - there were lots of lovely pubs, eating places and shops within walking distance
Ideal position for a number of golf courses

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roof terrace
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan H
1 review
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Lovely house in central Kelso, well equipped and very comfortable. Enormous beds in the two large bedrooms (bunk beds in the third bedroom) and a beautiful bathroom. The stairs may be a problem for some - the living accommodation is on the first floor and the three bedrooms and bathroom on the second - but that wasn't an issue for us. No garden but there is a roof terrace accessed by a loft-type ladder. Excellent communication from the owners prior to our stay. Recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge comfortable beds and the lovely bathroom; central location
Liked least: Access to the roof terrace was a bit precarious but that's being picky; no parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing