We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent spacious barn”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Smithy Kelso, All Ground floor accommodation ideal for the disabled, no stairs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Smithy Kelso, All Ground floor accommodation ideal for the disabled, no stairs
The Old Smithy 3 Bedroomed Detached Cottage Nr Kelso with private off road parking Beautiful views from The Old Smithy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The Old Smithy Kelso, All Ground floor accommodation ideal for the disabled, no stairs
The Old Smithy 3 Bedroomed Detached Cottage Nr Kelso with private off road parking
Beautiful views from The Old Smithy
The Old Smithy Kelso, detached 3 Bedroom Cottage with Wi-Fi, private parking, en suite facilities
Entrance to The Old Smithy Cottage now with Ramp, parking close to the door for disabled persons
A variety of teas, coffee, hot chocolate, sugar and milk awaits your arrival at The Old Smithy
A Little Surprise Chocolate on your bed
The Old Smithy, a place to relax and have fun
Holiday Cottage 'Just for You'
River Ednam The Stone Bridge at the end of the Garden
River Eden at the bottom of the garden,  lovely countryside views
Floors Castle only a few minutes away and well worth a visit
The War Memorial at the side of the cottages in Ednam, Kelso
Scottish Borders Countryside
Scottish Borders Countryside
Cattle in the Scottish Borders Countryside
A view of The Old Smithy
Each bedroom has a wardrobe with hangers
A place to sit and have breakfast and watch the world go by
View from the window
A view across the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kelso, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SNCS
Northampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent spacious barn”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic week at the old smithy barn with our 7 month old baby. Great to have a travel cot and high chair available and the layout was overdetermined with 3 bedrooms on one side and large open plan kitchen/diner/living room.

Kitchen well stocked. Bed in ensure room was v comfy.

Location great for exploring the area - 2 miles from Kelso and we also visited Bamburgh castle and Holy island.

A big thank you for a fabulous stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and spaciousness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, and we are pleased that you found the beds and accommodation very comfy and spacious. Hope you visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackem W
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

i travelled with a group of 14 and we stayed in the old smithy and the house next door (river cottage), both places were amazing, really clean and had all amenities, they're much larger than you expect when you first pull up, there's private parking right outside the properties, everyone who went had an absolutely brilliant time, only a 2 minute ride into the village of Ednam too, which has a few pubs and restaurants, i would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of booking this property, i met the owner and her husband when i first got there and they were both really lovely people.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind review, we are very pleased you all had a great time and enjoyed the cottages and facilities provided. Hope to see you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil G
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb quality cottage”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife and I stayed at the Old Smithy with my elderly parents, for a 'nostalgia trip' for them, having spent many holidays in the Borders in their younger years. It is the perfect base, in the lovely small village of Ednam, just 5 minutes drive away from Kelso; and well placed for visiting all Borders attractions. The cottage itself is of exceptional quality, newly furnished throughout and very spacious and comfortable. Ideal for limited-mobility visitors - there is private parking right outside the door; all rooms on ground floor level; and wide doorways and access between rooms for easy movement with a wheelchair or walking frame. The lounge has doors/windows opening onto the large garden leading down to the river - well populated with a wide variety of local birdlife. You could easily spend a week just sitting, relaxing and enjoying the cottage facilities rather than touring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2015
Thank you for your kind response and we are please that you found the cottage to be very comfortable, and that you had a great stay in the Borders, we hope you will come back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie J
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and setting”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed for a family wedding and had a really good stay. The house is beautiful and well equipped. It is very clean and spacious. The garden is large which the children enjoyed. The local town of Kelso is very friendly and the Cobbles is a must to eat. Will definitely be back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are very pleased you liked our properties and that you had a great time. Make all our efforts worth while when they are appreciated. We hope you will come back for your anniversary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, and we hope to see you back again soon, kind regards, Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Derbyshire
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased that you loved our cottage and it lived up to your expectations in our luxury accommodation, we look forward to your return.

Thank you, Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality, living area, location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 May 2014
Hi thank you for taking the time to review our cottages and we are please you enjoyed your stay and that you found that they were well equipped. We look forward to your return. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing