We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tara Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
50
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
2
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The hosts Janet and Bruce went above and beyond to ensure as lovely a stay as possible.The rooms were spotless,brightly decorated and very comfortable.The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and tasted yummy.Unfortunately we only had time to stay for one night.We would not hesitate to return for another visit and would highly recommend a stay to friends and family alike.A super stay with super hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bjtaylor123, Owner at Tara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay as we try to ensure that your visit is an enjoyable experience. We look forward to hopefully welcome you again in the hope that you'll stay longer with us and view the area which has lots to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We only stayed one night on our way to Newcastle but I would recommend you stay longer if possible as there is lots to see and do in the area. Although, the B & B is a little out of town, this is part of it's attraction and it is a nice walk in and out of town. The room was small but beautifully decorated and more than adequate for our needs. The breakfast was great and Janet and Bruce were most helpful and very friendly. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: If staying longer perhaps request the bigger room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Thanks for your positive feedback. We do prefer to be on the edge of town with views of open land, with the garden in the country, although respect that some visitors may want to be in the town centre. We are only 20 minutes walk, less than 3 minutes by car but will assist with transport if needed. We do have security of parking, garage and other facilities that are not available for a town centre location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We were going to Mellerstain House for a friends wedding, we got the name of the B&B from the bride because it was near to the venue. We were driving down from Glasgow on the morning of the wedding, and made good time but it meant that we were earlier than our estimated arrival time. We were welcomed in and made to feel at home straight away and our room was ready for us to go straight into, there was no mention of us being earlier than planned. This can be a problem in some B&B's or hotels.
The room was lovely, big and nicely decorated. The bed was SO comfy and the en suit was also a good size and well decorated.
Janet and Bruce were so friendly and helpful, they went above and beyond to make us feel welcome in their home.
Breakfast the next morning was so good, just what we needed after being out partying! The option of when you would like breakfast was perfect.
Kelso is a beautiful place and would recommend anyone that looking to stay somewhere while they visit should definitely stay at Tara Bed and Breakfast!

Thank you for letting us stay. :)

Roisin and Shona Mackinven

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roisin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thank you for the kind words, we always try to please. Mellerstain House is a very good wedding venue, we've had many people stay with us who have been to events at Mellerstain. There are many stately homes that now do weddings in the Borders, but if not coming to special occasions are well worth a visit. The Borders and especially Kelso is a fantastic base for visiting stately homes, castles, abbeys and other sites of historic interest. You could easily spend a week touring around this area however at least come for a few days away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

third year here and have already booked for 2013 no more to be said ,simply the best atmosphere,cleanlyness,value for money and hospitality you will find !!!!! Dave.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Great to have you again, glad to see you enjoy your stays and hopefully look forward to many more years. Not difficult to recognise the scooter guys, not old though!! See you next year, if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Janet & Bruce have a stunning home which is impeccable. They are so friendly and provide advise on the best places to visit and eat. We had lovely weather and it was so lovely to be able to sit in their beautiful garden overlooking the fields beyond. The breakfast every morning was superb and nothing was too much trouble. The room was outstanding, bed very comfortable and the shower amazing. I would recommend Tara Wooden Mill to all my friends, family and will definitely stop there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bjtaylor123, Owner at Tara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

We are glad to have another satisfied customer, who also reviewed other establishments in this area, highlighting there is so much to offer in the Scottish Borders and North Northumberland. We have had better weather than most parts of the UK to date and lets hope we'll get a summer to enjoy the garden.
Look forward to your early return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews