We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel with Friendly Staff”
Review of Cross Keys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cross Keys Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here for only one night. Got the Breakfast, dinner and room package. Good value and Staff are very friendly. Good meals with very good service and also good choice for breakfast. Hotel is in need of up dating but nice and clean. Good size rooms.. Free Internet and able to use in room with good easy access. Parking just out the front but only from around 5pm. Do however have to leave early or move car. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RossJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed there whilst doing the Coast and castles cycle route in July, on the weekend of the civic festival. The hotel was rammed but it is a fantastic place. The rooms were lovely, we got a great deal which is exclusive for cyclists, they let us keep our bikes in the basement, and the dinner and breakfast were both of very high standard. There is really not a complaint I could make, we were extremly impressed. Just to cap it off, they also gave us some supplies on leaving, bananas, energy bars, etc.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank NorthernPioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel in August. Hotel is located in the centre of Kelso so parking can be limited after 4pm no problem. Hotel was very comfortable staff very friendly an helpful. Food excellent both breakfast and dinner. Would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights .room was small but functional ..maybe a little tired but using as a base only .TV basic drink facilities hairdryer shower shampoo soap and gel ..no shower caps .comfortable bed and room temperature.
Breakfast was buffet style with very nice choice or could be ordered from menu .only slight disappointment is if you go down just before cut off point ....little choice .
Had an evening meal second night which was a treat .good food and service .
Location is in centre of kelso ..a town which is full of surprises and things to do .
Good for adults ..not really a child place .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahwStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Cross Keys is a well-run hotel that has been in the hands of the Becattelli family since I was young. It combines comfort with excellence, tradition with originality.
They catered my wedding (and my Mum's years ago!) and it was a super event. Since, on our visits to Kelso (my home-from-home), we've been to the Cross Keys for both bar meals, evening meals and special events such as New Year.
The menu never fails to please and the experience is complemented by pleasant service in an ambiance which is both comfortable and smart.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There is a clock in the square. It is turned off at night these days. However, if you really want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We spent a night in this hotel having walked part of the Borders Abbeys Way from Melrose. The staff and the owner were very friendly and created and warm atmosphere in the hotel. We had a very nice evening meal and full Scottish breakfast. Our room offered everything we needed. We would stay here again for sure.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank WMNichol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Four of us had reserved a table last night, and enjoyed a great welcome, chat from all of the staff, great service and delicious food. The young girl who waited on our table is worthy of particular mention - very well trained, smiling all the way and not leaving anything to chance. Slightly more pricey than it needed to be, nontheless, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hassendeanbandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
164 reviews
3.1 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
994 reviews
8.7 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
11.2 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melrose
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Keys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Keys Hotel

Address: 36-37 The Square, Kelso TD5 7HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range: £58 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cross Keys Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross Keys Hotel is superbly situated in the heart of Kelso's picturesque French-style cobbled square. The present hotel was built in 1769, but in other forms a Cross Keys Hotel has occupied this site since the earliest days of Scottish coaching inns. Modernised throughout to the very highest standard, the Cross Keys today provides a warm and friendly welcome to its guests and excellent service from attentive, friendly staff. The hotel is an ideal centre for business or pleasure - situated in a peaceful corner of Scotland, yet still within easy reach of Edinburgh and Newcastle. The Cross Keys is run by the Becattelli family who provide that personal touch that makes all the difference to their guests. We take pride in welcoming and looking after our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cross Keys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Keys Kelso
Cross Keys Hotel Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing