We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
162
119
56
32
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
119
56
32
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews key fob town square fish and chips generous portions reception staff three course meal main course sunday lunch evening meal an overnight stay first class scottish borders nice room wedding venue kelso races the main square stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We regularly visit for a Sunday lunch which has 3 roast meats and a fish dish, roast and boiled spuds and a wide choice of well prepared and cooked vegetables. Good choice of starters and sweets. The staff are very helpful and very pleasant. Nice, relaxing dining room and lounge bar. Good value at just under £18 for 3 courses, just over £15 for 2 courses. I would certainly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

We had an evening meal in the restaurant.
Lovely food fabulous flavours, really good service, in very pleasant surroundings.
The staff were all very friendly too.
Good value for money.
We did have to wait to be seated, but this was not a problem.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank hmb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

After dinning in restaurant with excellent service Very disappointed when having after dinner drinks in the bar a fly was found in our friends cocktail on returning the drink I was flatly refused a replacement It’s not our responsibility said the head bar lady
I do wonder if the same policy exists if the fly had been found in my soup !

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Had a very lovely Sunday lunch with family. Couldn’t fault the carvery loads to eat and all very good. Staff friendly and helpful. Choice of meats to eat and a vegetarian option. We enjoyed it so much we popped back in next day for a lunch from the bar, again food was of a very good standard, most of us had the fish and chips.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Holidays10-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

This is a classic hotel, at the square in Kelso. Good service with friendly staff who was giving excelent service. We had a tastefull three course meal in the lounge area. The room was clean and well equipped with fan to give a relief from the heat.
Beware of the breakfast....it is enormous! Duble of everything. You don't need any lunch after this brekdfast.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Micael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews