We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
183
124
63
31
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
183
124
63
31
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips bit dated first class both nights market square breakfast was excellent saddlers liz sofa castle races
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2019

Stayed here June 2019 for fishing trip to Kelso. Basic but reasonably priced and central to town. Beds were comfortable and service very friendly. However I ate a rib-eye steak (think approx £21 + £3 for a sauce) which was bland and the Diane sauce was awful. I would stay here again but would probably go elsewhere to eat dinner. Other than that it was quite good.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dream03492761201, Guest Relations Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your main course. We are delighted to inform you that we have a new Head Chef in our team, so do hope that next time you stay with us you will give our restaurant another go. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2019

We had a small family wedding at The Cross Keys in April. Manager Liz and her staff could not have been more helpful or attentive during the wedding ceremony, meal or evening celebrations.
Liz made all aspects of the planning and preparation of our special day very straightforward and stress free.
On the day itself the service from staff could not be faulted and everything went smoothly.
We have already booked our first anniversary stay at the hotel in 2020.
Thank you to everyone at The Cross Keys for a lovely memorable wedding day

Room tip: Ask for a room with a room overlooking the square. Hotel also has a room with a walk in shower for those with mobility difficulties
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank simonandlelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2019

Stayed here 1 night in a standard double (£80 per night for 2 people - breakfast not included). The entire building has a fresh and modern feel to it with good quality decor and furnishings. Upon arrival greeted by friendly and very efficient receptionist. My room was on 2nd floor accessible by an elevator. The room was fairly spacious with a good en-suite and views over the town square. A very good nights sleep thanks to a very comfortable bed having a good quality, deep medium firm mattress. I would not hesitate to return to stay here and would recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TerenceAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the Cross Keys Hotel in Kelso as part of a three night dancing break with Helen and Steven Shaw. Booking in was dealt with in a trice and we soon headed up to our room. The room was well appointed with a good sized en suite. The view from our room was over the square to the front of the hotel with views of the Abbey.
Our program was straight forward with dinner at 6pm followed by dancing from 8 to 11. The ballroom was adequate for the 24 couples attending.
Breakfast was between 8 and 10 in morning of weekends with as great choice of cereals, breads, fruit drinks etc and a self serve of cooked breakfast including fried egg, scrambled egg, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, black pudding, and beans. The staff were always at hand to provide tea / coffee toast etc.
The evening meals were selected from a menu provided so that it was chosen prior to that meal and it worked well until someone forgot what they had ordered , the choice was good and the quality was exemplary.
This was a very enjoyable stay and can wholeheartedly recommend. I will be returning.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank L5471YLfredb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2019

My daughter got married here , it’s a beautiful hotel , they were so helpful to us all , couldn’t fault the staff , the marriage went without a hitch . The meal was so nice as well . I would recommend this hotel to anyone ...

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank Betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews