We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quirky”
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queens Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We liked this hotel. We stayed for 1 night on our way back from the highlands and received a very warm welcome. The hotel is clearly very old and has lots of little corridors up & down stairs so is probably not ideal if you are not too mobile but the room was lovely, very clean & comfortable. We did get a bit of noise from people in the street but there isn't much you can do about that and we could also hear the kitchen ventilation but that went off so didn't didsturb us. Breakfast was fine and we ate in the restaurant in the evening which was also good. It's advisable to book though as it did seem to be busy. Parking is availble at the back of the hotel but this is on a one way street & available to all. There is a free car park just behind the old abby though so we used that & then moved the car to the hotel when the shops had all shut (5-6pm)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mazkNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

The good - Room was fresh, clean, well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was only meal taken but was very tasty, with excellant buffet selection as well as full Scottish.
The bad - At 8pm on a Saturday evening reception was closed and had to fight through a crowded bar to have bar staff deal with us, The bar was very noisy and packed with folk who seaamed to have been there most of the day.
The ugly - Rooms 9 & 10 are attic rooms at the top of a very narrow & steep staircase. Awkward with luggage is being polite. They also have sloped ceilings restricting headroom. The hotel is situated in the centre of town which on my visit was extremely noisy and full of. drunks using every alley and passage as a public convenience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreelBoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markhay, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

Hi thanks for leaving feedback.
I would like to respond.
Im sorry about the reception but as we are a small family hotel and employ 35 staff we do our best to operate as efitiently as we can in the current climate and this Includes the reception closing at 6pm daily and the staff in our bar looking after you .
Unfortunately Kelso had two major events that weekend as we do many weekends and we had an incoming population of over 15000 people for the weekend and its not typical of every weekend.
The hotel is an old listed building and was a former coaching inn,the room you had was indeed at the top of the building and is one of our most favoured rooms as you can sit and watch the world go bye as many guests have mentioned and it does have coombed ceilings which unfortunately we cant do anything about and if we could have we wouldve done it whilst renovating it.
I hope you did enjoy your stay and would be happy to welcome you back and find you a more suitable room and hopefully for you a quieter weekend.

best regards Marko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed over the Easter weekend and were impressed by the friendly helpful staff and the cleanliness of the recently refurbished rooms. The evening meals were well prepared with locally sourced ingredients and served by staff who, whilst very busy, cared about the customer. It is close to the centre of Kelso and we enjoyed the farmers market on the Saturday morning. Would I stay again - yes.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PPOChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Have been staying in the Queens Head for 5 weeks due to work and can honestly say that the rooms are first class ,also the entire staff have made me feel very welcome and have dealt with any of my requests with no problems, as you can imagine with me staying for 5 weeks I have probably now been through the entire menu and have not had a complaint all the food has been freshly prepared and and very tasty and the chef has accomodated any requests I have made, All in all a very good hotel which I would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thistle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We have visited Kelso a few times over the years but have never managed to get booked into The Queens Head Hotel but on our last visit to the Scottish Borders we managed booked this hotel 4 months in advance as we have eaten there and very much enjoyed the great food. The staff we very friendly and attentive.
When we arrived for our first stay we started to relax as soon as we entered the door. The Service is extremely assured and professional. Just give yourself over to them; they know what they're doing. It’s a lovely hotel and a location that can't be faulted.
The rooms were delightful and very clean.
Best Scottish breakfast we have ever had.
The bar gets very lively at weekends, but the locals are very friendly and make you feel welcome.
All in all a very pleasant stay and we have booked for the same time next year.
Cant Wait…

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jhwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

very comfortable good food good choice of wines helpfull freindlay staff my forth visit and hope to be back many more times handy car parking hotel has a lot of charm lots of very good walks good fishing cant wait till my next visit

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Stayed here on our anual trip to the town. Kelso is a fantastic place, have been coming for years, pubs great and locals great.
We decided to leave the tents this year and stay in a hotel. The rooms were not the same as advertised and very poor. The food is microwaved cardboard and should be avoided. The bar is expensive and not popular with the locals.
Summary, Kelso is great but would look at other accomodation, the Queens Head is over priced.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mousecakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markhay, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

Real shame that some reviews are by other buisness owners.
We are fully booked this weekend every year with the same clients and have no rooms available so we know this to be a false review,all rooms are now booked for 2011 by returning guests...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
338 reviews
0 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
382 reviews
3 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
9.7 mi away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
211 reviews
8.6 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Hotel

Address: 24 Bridge Street, Kelso TD5 7JD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range: £78 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queenshead is a small family run hotel.We are continualy upgrading and renovating the hotel.we have lots of repeat loyal customers.We have taken out a membership free of charge to our guests, at the local fitness centre to add to our ongoing improvements for your stay.The Queens head is located just off the main town centre and was a former coaching inn,2 minutes walk from the river Tweed and 5 minutes drive to the local golf courses and Kelso race course. we continue to strive to meet your expectations whilst not perfect we try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Hotel Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing