We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Queens Head Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valleydene(Yetholm)
View Hotel
The Castle Hotel(Coldstream)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Collingwood Arms Hotel(Cornhill-on-Tweed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
76
60
13
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
60
13
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot stonebattered haddockhomemade chipscobble stonesadults childking prawn starterwould recommend this hotel to anyonestreet parkinglarge bathrooms are clean and comfortablegreat place to eatmy elderly motherlovely hotelbreakfast was includedgreat bathroomstaff were all very friendlybottled water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We could not get into their B&B at Ingleston House so we stayed here for 3 nights while up for a sporting break.The room we stayed in was prefect for a twin occupancy with very comfortable beds and a great bathroom which was spacious with a power shower.The food was excellent with great service from the staff.

Room Tip: When booking try and get one of their 'boutique' style rooms
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salmonfisherChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The picture on their web site of a very smart looking bedroom led us to believe that this is some
sort of 'boutique' hotel. We should have known better, our room was very 'tired', yellowiing paint and holes in the bathroom walls from old fittings. I tried to open the bedroom window but it was painted shut. It's just a tired hotel that is beginning to show wear and tear, with a few touches of 'modernisation'.

Room Tip: Ask for the one on their website. The front can be noisy. No views.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMacEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Comfortable stay. Enjoyed the food. The room was modern & well presented & clean.

Breakfast was enjoyable.

Only downside was the the trek up to the roof for the room. Bit of a climb up steep stairs so would not be good for elderly.

All in all. Did the job for me.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkcanary76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We have relatives who live in Kelso, so we have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years, with both current and previous owners.

We have always found the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast is excellent, when in Scotland I do enjoy Haggis as part of breakfast and was not diappointed. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

During our visits to Kelso we do not always have an evening meal in the restaurant, this time we did, and it was most enjoyable. We simply had Eyemouth haddock, chips and mushy peas, mine with beer batter, my wife's with breadcrumbs, both were well presented and hearty meals.

We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gacoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We liked this hotel. We stayed for 1 night on our way back from the highlands and received a very warm welcome. The hotel is clearly very old and has lots of little corridors up & down stairs so is probably not ideal if you are not too mobile but the room was lovely, very clean & comfortable. We did get a bit of noise from people in the street but there isn't much you can do about that and we could also hear the kitchen ventilation but that went off so didn't didsturb us. Breakfast was fine and we ate in the restaurant in the evening which was also good. It's advisable to book though as it did seem to be busy. Parking is availble at the back of the hotel but this is on a one way street & available to all. There is a free car park just behind the old abby though so we used that & then moved the car to the hotel when the shops had all shut (5-6pm)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mazkNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews