We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Queens Head Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valleydene(Yetholm)
View Hotel
The Castle Hotel(Coldstream)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Collingwood Arms Hotel(Cornhill-on-Tweed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
76
60
13
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
60
13
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot stonebattered haddockhomemade chipscobble stonesadults childking prawn starterwould recommend this hotel to anyonestreet parkinglarge bathrooms are clean and comfortablegreat place to eatmy elderly motherlovely hotelbreakfast was includedgreat bathroomstaff were all very friendlybottled water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while on a cycling tour of the borders. Most welcome at the reception, was able to leave bikes in the boiler room. Great room at the top with 3 beds and view over main street. Breakfast was very good Scottish fayre including haggis

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hissett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The staff were all delightful, helpful & courteous. We were accommodated after a bit of a mix-up & bookings at our original hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank You All.

Oh, BTW If I need to find accommodation in this area again I would definitely be happy to stay here :)

Room Tip: 2013 Heatwave! The room was a bit hot but I probably could have asked for a fan. The front of the hotel is next to the main road and, because it was 'Civic Week' we were treated to Bagpipes & drums one night at 11.30 pm & one morning at 7.30 am as they marched along the road. A real treat for us but possibly a problem for some.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We decided to go and have a pub meal and the Queens Head was very close. When we went in we were immediately welcomed and shown to our table, it was quiet at that time but it was early and a Monday evening. The food was excellent, we both had steaks and they were delicious with all the added extras it was a big meal, but we managed to eat it all. The barman was chatty and very helpful and I would highly recommend a visit here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JennieM638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

My wife and I stopped here on a borders weekend away with no reservations or plans of where to stay. Though a busy weekend with a Vespa scooter event in the town we managed a room and staff had us checked in within minutes.

The room was very large, well kept with a shower and a bath separate from each other. Bed was huge and cozy and all other room items perfect. The room was a bit warm but windows could be opened which sorted the issue. We liked the tea and coffee inclusion with buiscits from local sources and bottled water, just a nice touch.

Breakfast in the morning was well presented and no real issues. We liked the menu was porridge or French toast, or kippers or Scottish breakfast, all cooked to order so plenty of choice for any type of eater. Along with the laid out breakfast items, it was fine.

Really great find to stumble across and we would stay again if passing through.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gsheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

see above . Dreadful place. Felt sorry for the original bar staff and chef. Let down by a very rude replacement. The hotel over the road is 100 times better. and this is the most infuriated feedback to give. It doesn't take 200 words to say a place is dreadful.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolereenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markhay, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Hi thanks for your response??

Now to be honest I would really normally give this review the credit it deserves and Ignore it,but because of the bbc upgrading there signal in the border region and you missing the news at six you decided nothing was good enough and to have a go at the staff and had the hotel,receprionist in tears>? so much so she called myself at home,
you were aggresive,rude and drunk and no one deserves to be spoken to or treated in the way you decided you would to our staff,hence you were escorted from the premises,please do not return and poss anger management along with some manners may be in order.
If you do not agree with my comments im more than happy to be at your disposal if you wish to meet and discuss your review....people are entitled via this company to leave reviews and yes we arnt perfect I dont say we are bu we do strive to be ,but people like yourselfs infuriate myself and honest hard working people like us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews